We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Judy House Cottages and Rooms
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful garden, Sue is a fantastic hostess with loads of Negril and JA knowledge and a proper British sense of humour. Good budget option with a communal living hostel style vibe, which can be rare in Jamaica.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a companion and have just a little more, the cottages are really nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philclarkehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for the review & taking the time to write it. It was brilliant to meet you - cycling around Jamaica ! Amazing ! Thanks for the intro to the Jamaican 'Meet the people programme' and to its manager, you gave me lots of ideas. Good to have a 'brit' in the yaad now and again too. I know I will see you back here one day. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Sue runs a wonderful hostel. It's like an enchanted garden with small cottages. She and her staff have the place in great shape and were very helpful with transportations arrangements. Sue also gave me tips and the ins&outs of Negril. I say you roll with The hostess when she's going out on the town. You won't want to miss the fun & the true local experience...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiatravelswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

The 'enchanted garden' sends love and I hope to see you back here soon. Thanks for the review so fast after your return. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

i dont know where to start. Its just awesome:) the hostel ist soooo beautiful, you just have to walk 20 min to the beach( but its nice walking there, cause you really get to know Negril) and Sue was just awesome. I enjoyed every minute of my stay there. I think iv fallen in love with this cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank buket93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks so much for your review, your cottage awaits your return! One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spend our honey moon at Judy and Kim cottages and it was wonderful. The two cozy cottages are located in a clean and beautiful garden covered with radiant sunshine. The rooms are well equiped with just about everything you need to make your stay more comfortable; you can even make breakfast! :). The other guests were warm and friendly too, see at Sue's place its a garden of love...
Wow! The hammock, I realy liked the hammock, after we come in from the beach we would relax in the hammock. Sue along with her staff is kind, helful and friendly...they help to make our stay even more memorable. I felt secure the entire time I was there ;there is a nice security guard. I like it that the cottages are close to the beaches, cool restaurants and town.
My husband and I were looking for that homely setting and we found the perfect match at Kim and Judy cottages. Thank you Sue and staff for helping to make our stay a memorable one.
Lots of love from Lotoya and Philip

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotoya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

So lovely to have both bride & groom write about their honeymoon experiences here. If you were here I would give you both the biggest hug right now xx You also christened my 'wheel rim bar b que' roasting breadfruit & cooking up your husband a real Jamaican storm of ackee, breadfruit etc. Lucky man to marry such a beautiful, smart talented Jamaican ooman! Ten Love to both of you & thanks for the review. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had the wonderful bounty to stay at Judy House 2 times, once when traveling around the island staying in hostels (that time I stayed in a backpackers room) and the most recent time when my wife and I chose Judy house to stay for our honeymoon (that time we stayed in both cottages- we planned first to stay just a few days and then go to Portland, but we knew there would be nothing else there to compare so we decided to spend the whole honeymoon there and Sue had to put us up in the next cottage). We hope to stay at judy house many more times in the future!!!

The thoughtful ambiance, decor, vibes, beauty, and lovely spirit of the other world travelers at Judy house come together to simply create a piece of paradise. The garden around the place is beautiful, humming birds come to your veranda to say hello in the morning while you eat your breakfast. In the cottages, as well as in the communal kitchen for backpackers, Sue has thought of even providing spices (thyme, salt, sugar, cinnamon, coffee, seasoning), a french press, and even containers for storing your food, all the amenities of your home kitchen- except it's in Negril, in a beautiful garden, with a humming bird, and lovely new friends from around the world. There are 2 places for tanning, a place for outdoor barbecuing- with coal and/or wood provided, the cottages have a veranda, and on the side a beautiful table and benches, on the veranda are hammocks too. In the backpackers room and cottages are safes, and information pamphlets for all the tourist attractions- Sue can help you get there and figure out which ones are for you, in the cottages there is cable tv- but hopefully you don't use it too much.

Bless up and One love from

Philip and Lotoya

Room Tip: The Value for the cabins are excellent, but the backpacker rooms won't let you feel tight or cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you soooo much for taking the time to write such a wonderful descriptive review. All I can say is with tears in my eyes remembering the love between you here that I am so honored that you chose here to have your honey moon. I know I will see you two again and hope you will always stay as happy as you were during the week you spent in both the Judy House & Kim's Place Cottages. Ten Love !!!! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

well priced and worth every penny. Beautifully set with lush gardens. Attracts good people and sue will ensure you have and enjoyable stay. Don t really want to write a book about so my advice and to fill the min 200 character quoata. Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go Go

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

So funny, thanks for the review and the encouragement for people to gogogogogogog! Glad you enjoyed your time here so much and big thanks for taking the time to write your review,. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here on short notice and was very nervous about that, that fear was very quickly overcome with a generous helping of island hospitality from Sue and the staff members.
As some posters have stated there is a chain and lock that DOES lock on the front gate that you have a key to and may come and go as you please.
As for someone "sneaking" in to a Cottage, while you are asleep in the middle of the night and you didn't hear a thing, PLEASE!
As ANYONE that has ever stayed in a "rustic setting" you already know the wood floors squeak slightly. As for my personal property, NO PROBLEMS in 7 days. Contents! Backpack of clothes, $2,000 camera, laptop, ipad, (2) Iphones, and way more then enough money!
no problems, and most of the time my door was unlocked!
Bottom line! If you want to sit on the community patio and be sociable any time, there is a wonderful view of the ocean from atop the hill and apx. a 7 min walk down to the ocean and 5 min. ride to plenty of night life to keep even the latest night owls entertained!
If you don't like bugs and nature, go stay in a little ritzy Carlton, if you like nature and love the outdoors you will love Sue's place. BTW Sue, the heart and soul you have put into your place shows. From tile work to Gardens I can't wait to come back to see my ISLAND FAMILY, going to aim for May or Nov. please tell Garth HI! THANK YOU SUE. Will

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fireWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you 'body guard' for letting everyone know what is what! Unbelievable that you only had a days notice to come to Jamaica and it felt like you had been here forever! Garth, Miss H, Martell, Browning and I are expecting to see you very soon. One Love x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
860 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judy House Cottages and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judy House Cottages and Rooms

Address: Westland Mountain Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range: $28 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Judy House Cottages and Rooms 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Judy House Cottages property began life in December 2008 and finished construction in 2012. At the front of property 2 pretty, cosy, private, self-catering cottages are surrounded by the most beautiful tropical garden, with flowers, fruits & vegetables in abundance. The cosy, wooden cottages have verandas, private patios, hammocks, safes, cable TV, wifi, kitchen equipment and everything you should need to make your cottage your home whilst in Jamaica! Property is kept in pristine condition, including the communal patio, dip pool, bar-b-que, sun deck, rock garden, outdoor baths & shower. Nestling at the back of the secure property is my Backpacker Hostel, 8 bed, 5 basic rooms sharing kitchens, bathrooms & communal areas for world travelers and cottage guests alike. Added recently is a double private room with ensuite and private garden, plus 2 hammock cabanas where you can rent hammocks to sleep in. There is free WiFi for all too. A small, well stocked 'Honesty' bar/shop is provided for guests 24/7's to enjoy drinks & snacks for when you just want to hang out on property which has lots spaces designed for just that. Set in a real local, friendly community giving you the chance to experience the real Jamaica, with shops & bar close by and Mary's Bay Beach on the One Love Drive right at the end of my road. Quiet, with a real country feel, but with all the beach, restaurants, bars and other tourist facilities just a walk away. Sue can also organize airport shuttles, tours, scooter rentals and is a very valuable tourist information resource herself too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Judy House Cottages and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judy House Cottages Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing