We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect spot for the budget traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Judy House Cottages and Rooms
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Sue is the perfect hostess and the location is ideal for anyone who wants to get away from the noise of the beach. Set in a well tended garden this spot was an ideal introduction to Jamaica.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks so much for this review so long ago. Sorry I did not reply sooner. I had not got much experience of Trip Advisor in the early days and did not know that I could respond to you. Thought I should do that now, so thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review and hope to see you back again here one day. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

The most beautiful grounds I have seen at any resort or home in Jamaica. I got the impression this was her hobby to make the yard beautiful. Sue was also good at answering questions on where to shop or change money or whatever about the local area. I was surprised at how well known and respected she was in the area. We had an enjoyable stay at the Judy house. We were lucky when we picked this place on the internet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl_dos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks so much for this review so long ago. Sorry I did not reply sooner. I had not got much experience of Trip Advisor in the early days and did not know that I could respond to you. Thought I should do that now, so thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review and hope to see you back again here one day. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

MY Father and I stayed at the Zoe and Judy House the end of February and beginning of March,It was the most relaxing peaceful experience we have ever had in Jamaica and I've been coming to Jamaica since 1994.Sue's Mountain setting is surrounded by beautiful gardens that are well groomed,it's just a short walk to a small grocery store very convenient,and another short walk to the Canoe Bar at the end of the road right on the Ocean with a beautiful sand beach. Sue's yard is fenced and up a long drive so that we weren't bothered by the beggars ,like the people who stay on the beach ARE. I've stayed on the beach many times and I never will again.There is no privacy on the beach,constant beggars and sellers bothering us all the time. SUE'S COTTAGES ARE THE PLACE FOR ME. She has added garden Baths that are surrounded by beautiful foliage and flowers. From her sunbathing loungers you can see the Ocean.Peaceful and Tranquil. The cottages are very clean and supplied with every thing you need for cooking.Ms Hyacinth( the lady that cleans) is very thorough,polishes the floors and even gets under the beds. As for Sue she is a DELIGHT, she took us to some of her favorite spots around the island on scooters, what a BLAST!!! I'M COMING BACK IN MAY, CAN'T WAIT. Father and Daughter from Minnesota

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks so much for this review so long ago. Sorry I did not reply sooner. I had not got much experience of Trip Advisor in the early days and did not know that I could respond to you. Thought I should do that now, so thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review and hope to see you back again here one day. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Great place in Negril! Very clean, safe and good location, away from the crazy seven miles, but still walk distance from there. Sue, the owner was very helpful and she is a very nice person!!! I strongly recommend The Judy House!!! Had a great time there, thank you!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danimpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks so much for this review so long ago. Sorry I did not reply sooner. I had not got much experience of Trip Advisor in the early days and did not know that I could respond to you. Thought I should do that now, so thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review and hope to see you back again here one day. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I travelled around jamaica for 4 months and this was by far THE BEST place i stayed island wide. Sue is brilliant! great for a chat and a fountain of local knowledge and what to get up to during your stay! the staff are also fantastic and very friendly! Great location, beach at the end of the road great for snorkelling and chilling out with a cold red stripe! the garden pub literally a stones throw from the property is great for a hangout, a quiet drink and local chat and any groceries! The accommodation itself was extremely well kept and really comfortable! beautiful gardens and views also allow for some great on property recreation! I would recomend this to all of my friends and family as the place to stay in negril! I was travelling over christmas and sue even invited me to spend christmas day with her and her friends (as she knew i was a solo traveller) which really shows the owners great hospitality and kindness and we had a great day!!! many memories of good times that will never be forgotten, thank you sue!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maredford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks so much for this review so long ago. Sorry I did not reply sooner. I had not got much experience of Trip Advisor in the early days and did not know that I could respond to you. Thought I should do that now, so thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review and hope to see you back again here one day. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Sue is a fabulous host that goes above & beyond to ensure a great stay. The cabins are nicely decorated with all the comforts of home. Miss Hyacinth will be happy to do a load of laundry for you. Delroy has the grocery/convenient store 2 minutes away & is always up for good conversation. You are truely living in a Jamacian neighbourhood & everyone is very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvantorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thanks so much for this review so long ago. Sorry I did not reply sooner. I had not got much experience of Trip Advisor in the early days and did not know that I could respond to you. Thought I should do that now, so thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review and hope to see you back again here one day. One Love !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Host does know a lot about negril and the room was clean. She runs it on a tight budget and believes in not flushing toilets to save on water bill. My room did not provide complete privacy because of an open gap at ceiling. Drug dealer came to property gate twice to complete a deal with one of guests who made a deal with him the day before but owner chased him away. Somehow when all went out the night before he figured out where we were staying. I was approached by men several times while walking at night on the road asking for mone;y. Road is dimly lit. I was unpleased with kitchen arrangements, it didn't look all that clean. Although a computer is on property I was not able to access it as need. Bring your own computer. Owner has pets but doesn't want anyone to pet them. Roosters next door will wake you up at sunrise. Owner says its not a hostel but I don't know why. It is listed on hostels.com

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazy027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyhousesue, Owner at Judy House Cottages and Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Both me & my guests were very unhappy with this guests behaviour, her comments do not reflect the very attentive service she received here. She caused a lot of trouble on property & spend her last night in Negril Police Sation, say no more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
860 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judy House Cottages and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judy House Cottages and Rooms

Address: Westland Mountain Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range: $29 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Judy House Cottages and Rooms 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Judy House Cottages property began life in December 2008 and finished construction in 2012. At the front of property 2 pretty, cosy, private, self-catering cottages are surrounded by the most beautiful tropical garden, with flowers, fruits & vegetables in abundance. The cosy, wooden cottages have verandas, private patios, hammocks, safes, cable TV, wifi, kitchen equipment and everything you should need to make your cottage your home whilst in Jamaica! Property is kept in pristine condition, including the communal patio, dip pool, bar-b-que, sun deck, rock garden, outdoor baths & shower. Nestling at the back of the secure property is my Backpacker Hostel, 8 bed, 5 basic rooms sharing kitchens, bathrooms & communal areas for world travelers and cottage guests alike. Added recently is a double private room with ensuite and private garden, plus 2 hammock cabanas where you can rent hammocks to sleep in. There is free WiFi for all too. A small, well stocked 'Honesty' bar/shop is provided for guests 24/7's to enjoy drinks & snacks for when you just want to hang out on property which has lots spaces designed for just that. Set in a real local, friendly community giving you the chance to experience the real Jamaica, with shops & bar close by and Mary's Bay Beach on the One Love Drive right at the end of my road. Quiet, with a real country feel, but with all the beach, restaurants, bars and other tourist facilities just a walk away. Sue can also organize airport shuttles, tours, scooter rentals and is a very valuable tourist information resource herself too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Judy House Cottages and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judy House Cottages Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing