We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Negril Palms Hotel
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel was clean and relatively safe, the staff could have been friendlier and the food at the restaurant was sub pare. The price was good, and that's a plus. The location is great but didn't like the amount of vendors that seem to lounge about on the hotels beach chairs selling things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    150
    91
    48
    36
See reviews for
51
224
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Clean and polynesian style rooms. Sometimes a loss of shower water pressure, but no big deal. Short walk to beach, pool and bar area.

Great location, because next door is a cool pool hall on one side, and "Annies Thrill Corner" on the other side.

Hotel employees very gracious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveyVane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room was basic and comfortable. The restaurant food was good and average priced for the area and the service staff there were very nice. Our bartenders were personable and for island standards they did things at a faster pace than most. This is not a luxury hotel so if you want golden faucets and down comforters, this is not the place. But if you want a nice beachfront hotel for an affordable rate, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlewis1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

the rooms were very basic no chairs in room but two chairs on balcony we stayed in room 101 very noisy would not stay there again. bathroom did not even have a hook to put robe on etc. it was aslo extemely noisy at day and night. you could here all the traffic and noise from local bar that was open until about 3.00am or later could not get a good night sleep there. we booked until the thursday but moved out the tuesday. no refund through so read small print.

Room Tip: make sure you bring own shower gel not supplied just soap available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank june282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Unfortunately this seems to have gone down hill since we stayed there three years ago when we had treated ourselves to a night of luxury. This time round however it was a real let down was overpriced and our room was very moldy. We stayed here over Valentines and felt let down as it is no way of a standard equivalent to its star rating.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

warsaw in
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel was average by Negril standards, pretty much like most of the others of this size.We had room 303. It was cleaned daily, and we always had fresh towels, but the water wasnt hot unless you waited till about 10 at night for your shower. The sink never did anything but dribble water out. The room needed a few things. We had a closet but no hangers, and there was no dresser at all in the room, only a desk that the TV sat on, so there was nowhere to put things. No ceiling fan, but the air worked fine after maintenence worked on it. The bed lacked any blankets or comforter. only white sheets. We were provided with blankets after asking for them.
The room really needed some color!. Everything was white!. No decor in the room at all.
The staff, however, was wonderful. Mr Smith, take care of them! Everyone from the bartenders, to the waitresses, the cleaning service, everyone did everything they could to accomodate us in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaurchin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I think tripadvisor should take away its 3.5 stars, this hotel is in no standard qualifying for 3.5 stars category, in my opinion, it's 2.5 stars the most! The professional photos are deceiving, except outside of rooms. I am not high maintenance traveler, i just want the room to be clean, if they can't keep the bathroom and towels clean, then it's a problem to me! I don't even know where to start, we were given a first floor garden room 103, after i went into the bathroom and saw wooden shower floor were stained and disgusted, i immediately went back and requested for a different room, i was initially told that it's all booked but eventually able to get a different room on the second floor. unfortunately, it was no better than the first one, I don't mind there's no tub, but a shower w white paint and no marble/tiles is simply inadequate in long run, of course there's stains on the shower floor w that white paint, and of course paint bubbles and flaky paints formed, sink was not flowing freely, i had to stop faucet at least 3-4 times to just wash my face, towels are like they're from a motel that hasn't been bleach in ages, 3.5 stars hotels should never have this issues. in addition, we had to wait about an hour for beach towel at 11am, i could understand if i asked for it early morning and it was still not ready! shower head pressure was minimal, my overall bathroom experience is just awful! moving to the room, the TV remote control was not working, the room does not have any sound proof at all, it simply uses wooden door/window and blind combined so there's no actual window glass/door sealing the space, we had some loud Russians neighbors who had too many drinks and kept us up all night long. Couple of positive things included that it's beachfront property, its restaurant is right by the beach w the pool right under the table. the water comes pretty high so in high tides we can't really sit on the beach chair by the sand. I had to ask a staff to move a beach chair to the sand when the tide is low, but her response is:"can u ask one of the guys?" at the same time when she was busy texting! The restaurant features breakfast, lunch and dinner, typical american menu w decent prices, but we opt for local foods instead, the one right across from the hotel main entrance. Overall, the room is a night mare but the beachfront property uplifts my experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karrylistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
1.3 mi away
Legends Resort
Legends Resort
#42 of 88 in Negril
3.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
2.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#17 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#33 of 88 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#15 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Palms Hotel

Property: Negril Palms Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Negril Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Negril Palms Hotel is an intimate, tropical hideaway perfect for couples, families and singles, and centrally located on the world famous 7 mile beach in Negril. Negril Palms is just a short walking distance from all of Negril's well known beach attractions and entertainment hot-spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Negril Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Negril
Palms Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing