We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Palms, It Calms”
Review of Negril Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Negril Palms Hotel
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The Palms, It Calms”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Beautiful room, partial ocean view at a great nightly rate, wonderfully kind and attentive staff, from the front desk to the housekeeping, and everyone in between.

I "chauffeur" from Mo Bay airport to the Palms, and back was Leon Spense, who's been in service to tourists for 26 years <http://taxinegril.com>.

Room Tip: Really fine piña coladas at the bar but I don't know about the restaurant, I opted for street fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    172
    94
    51
    38
See reviews for
58
247
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Been to The Palms before and it has deteriorated greatly in a very short time. Word is that it has recently been repossessed by the bank. They were consistently running out of basic supplies, no bread at the restaurant, no mint for mojitios etc.(which is funny as the bar is called Mojitos and has a long list of different mojitios on their bar menu!). Security on the beach/property is pretty much non-exsistent and the Jamaican "beachcombers" come right on to the property selling their wares. When Ramsey, the former security guard, was there this would never have happened. In fact the whole vibe of this property has changed since prior visits. Agree with others about entry doors to rooms look like they had been broken into and could have been easily opened by anyone. Website shows a nice pool and on prior visits it was in full use, this trip it was in total disrepair with a garden hose running to it to replace water. It was closed most of our visit. No one to help put out beachchairs and we watched guests struggle to get a chair off top of a huge stack. You now have to request beachtowels from the kitchen/breakfast wait staff who "appear" to be way too busy to help with that. The restuarant was pretty much empty our whole visit and so we ate at other spots on the beach. We had no hot water for most of our stay and any water pressure from shower was little more than a cold dribble. On one day we had NO water at all! We talked to other guests that were having the same issues with the water. None of the staff appeared to be happy to be there, with the exception of Max and Delores at the bar who consistently gave great service. The beach in front of the property has pretty much eroded leaving barely a strip of sand, apparently after the November storms. Do feel bad writing such a negative review as we are very easy going travelers but want to prepare others for the demise of this property. We were disappointed with our stay here,this time around even though we had a great overall time in Jamaica. Will probably not return to The Palms for awhile. Might try Seawind Resort next door next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gypsydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We chose The Palms because it was on the beach at the right price. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rest of Negril was not so pleasant. If you must go to Negril, this is a good option for travelers looking to spend around $100 and be beachside.

Security was the issue here. About a third of the walls are made up of windows and doors that are made of wooden slates. They open rather easy and the wooden peg holding them closed doesn't do much to make you feel safe. There are lots of shady people roaming the streets and beaches in Negril.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room because they are safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekBosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel. There is a loud bar next door which has something on every night. We went to the reception desk many times and asked for another room at the other side of the hotel but they claimed to be fully booked and to only have two twin rooms (I was with a friend) and therefore "unfortunately" unable to help. But they didn't do anything else to help either, like for example come up to us and apologize and find another suitable solution. Just no customer service at all.
The whole stay we did not have any hot water, and from the shower hardly any water came out. I had to wash my hair in the sink to make sure shampoo was removed.

The room was more like a beach hut, all the windows and doors were just wooden shutters. The aircon and the generator were placed on the back of the room and made an incredible amount of noise.

The restaurant food is nice and I like the wooden decor of the restaurant and the bar and some of the staff were friendly. Other staff members had a real attitude and were very disorganized and kept on "forgetting" to bring orders.

I would find another hotel for your stay and pay a couple of dollars more for a normal hotel room with a normal shower and hot running water and less noisy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Palms Resort is located in a prime location - in the middle of the famous seven mile beach. There is a lot to see and do or just relax. This was my second trip to Negril and wanted to stay at a smaller and non-inclusive resort to really experience the local Jamaican flavors. I stayed at Beaches Negril previously and felt robbed of that experience. Overall the resort was good. Rooms definitely need updating. The staff made up for the less than desirable rooms. They were friendly and accommodating. I got a fantastic massage from Evelyn for half the price of what I paid at Beaches. I had left my diamond necklace at the spa and she delivered it to my room immediately.
Food and drinks were fantastic!!! Excellent local flavors and fresh seafood and fish! I would return to this resort again. I hope the new owners will read my review and update the rooms…even just a touch of paint or new tiles would make a big difference.
I would return to this resort again for the location, food, drinks and price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a more updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tangerine_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I love negril. I visit a few times each year. Booked the palms two nights just to try something new. I visited the websites and wavered on my decision to book and finally a last minute deal of $60 a night hooked me. I worried that that price would put me in the worse room but the room was as one the rooms pictured on the website. Let me just say this hotel lacks the basic necessities. No phone in room, broken locks and safes, poor lighting, hard cheap beds and old dingy sheets and towels. The beach was nice but small and the pool was closed. Dont pay for an ocean view. I had the closest room to the beach and there is no view except for garden from any room. The local food next door at pilot's cafe was cheaper and better. In the fact that was the best part of the trip! Oh and forget about sleeping because they turn the speakers up full blast at 8pm for their nightly parties. The restaurant was empty and my order was wrong twice and lipstick was on my glass. I couldn't have done more than two nights. I didnt feel safe sleeping there with the broken locks. The bartender was kind but there are much better hotels on the beach. Sadly I am sure I had the ocean deluxe room they they advertise and had I paid the $150 a night rate I would have been fuming mad! I will not be returning to the palms. They couldn't pay me to do that again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Booked for 1 week, stayed for 3 nights!
Warning- Read the small print! They charge you up front for your whole stay and if it is substandard and you want to leave, you do not get the unused part refunded!!
Room presented well, but basic (no fridge, coffee making facilities, chair etc)
The toilet remained broken throughout our stay, despite 3 separate claims that it had "now been fixed".
Breakfast included was meagre. You could order just one item (i.e. 1 egg on toast), anything else you had to pay for on top and it wasn't cheap. They couldn't supply any orange juice. Milk for the coffee came in a plastic vending cup.
No protection from continuous persistant peddlers on the beach.
Nice beach side bar, but drinks werevery expensive.
Overall - far too expensive for the facilities and service provided.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#44 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#47 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Palms Hotel

Property: Negril Palms Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly The Palms Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Negril Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Negril Palms Hotel is an intimate, tropical hideaway perfect for couples, families and singles, and centrally located on the world famous 7 mile beach in Negril. Negril Palms is just a short walking distance from all of Negril's well known beach attractions and entertainment hot-spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Negril Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Negril
Palms Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing