We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cousin's Destination Wedding”
Review of Moon Dance Cliffs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moon Dance Cliffs
Ranked #49 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife's cousin had their wedding at the resort and our family had rented all the rooms at the resort. I had my family of 4 there - daughter 14 and son 12. The resort is really geared to couples. It was a little boring for the kids. But if you are looking to chill out, jump off a cliff for a swim in the sea, or wade in the pool - this is a great spot. The people are friendly, the rooms are specious and clean, and the food was excellent. Food service takes a little time, but you are in Jamaica - no worries mon.
Our bus driver who drove us to the beach and airport was great - drove at a nice pace and safely. We came to Jamaica for our honeymoon 16 years ago and we thought we were going to die on the roads, so we were relieved to have such a nice comfortable ride. Only downside is it take @2 hours to get to resort from airport - but there was plenty of beer in the bus - so again no worries mon.
Down side in the rooms - the shower water pressure was weak.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 295 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just got back from our friends destination wedding and could not be happier with their decision. The staff there was absolutely wonderful, the property and our villa was clean. The pool is wonderful. Seafood was delish. This was by far one of the best resorts we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlliCan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This year marks our 4th annual visit to Moon Dance Cliffs and it never fails to impress! The property itself is beautiful and the staff will make you feel as though you're their most important guest. It's hard for me to say staff as they are more like family.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Richard Gordan, Assistant Hotel Manager. We had looked forward to seeing him all year and his smiling face welcomed us home to Moon Dance Cliffs. He made sure we were comfortable and had everything we wanted.

Tiffany and Nicole looked after our room and each day, surprised us with a new animal, fashioned out of towels, at the foot of our bed.

We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each day at Annie's, served by Tracy. There's no better way to enjoy a cup of Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee than sitting near the edge of the cliffs, watching the fisherman cast their nets in the ocean. If you watch closely, you'll most likely spot a dolphin or two.

Hassen and Johnny Walker kept us entertained at the pool bar. We spent our afternoons basking in the warm sun and forgetting about the freezing weather back in Chicago. Hopeton, Gladstone and Tamara made sure our lunch and dinner were perfect. We especially love the lobster bisque but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Bacon wrapped shrimp, rasta pasta, rice and peas......

I highly recommend treating yourself to a massage. I always do this on my first full day to get rid of travel pains and stress. Claudette and Courtney are amazing.

If you want to go off property to enjoy some live reggae, Alfreds is the place to be on a Friday night. Oh....and they have great fish and chips. No worries for your safety...... Jermaine will make sure you get to and from Moon Dance Cliffs.

We are already looking forward to our 2014 trip.
Thank you, everyone at Moon Dance Cliffs, for giving us the perfect vacation.

Room Tip: We always stay in 212. It's a corner suite with a great view of the property and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz R, Manager at Moon Dance Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for the kind words Karen! I'm so glad you enjoyed your return visit to Moon Dance Cliffs. It's our pleasure to make your yearly vacation perfect. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Liz Ryan
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My now husband and I stayed at Moon Dance Cliffs for our wedding this past October and it was WONDERFUL! Not only were my husband and I attended to to like king and queen of all the lands but so were our families and friends. The area and rooms are beautiful, clean and well maintained. They even upgraded us for free to a one bed room villa that was "decked out" extra special on the big night. The staff is on spot, professional and willing to do just about anything to ensure the guests good time. The spa is sensational! Calm, dark, soothing (best massage I ever had.) It rained on the big day so we had to go to plan B. The staff pulled it together like it was plan A. No bumps, no drama the entire day. Friends and family who were unable to attend the wedding saw our wedding pictures and had no idea it was not our initial plan. (we took a gamble with the weather getting married Oct. 1st) and even though it rained we would not have changed a thing.
The food and drink menu is extensive and delicious. They offer games, activities and a gym if you feel like "working it off".
If you are looking for relaxation, breathtaking views, amazing sunsets, around the clock pampering for your vacation or a special event we HIGHLY recommend Moon Dance Cliffs!
The Talanos!

Room Tip: Villas are the best, but all the rooms had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaDana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just returned from our wedding at MDC and cannot say enough. I was a little nervous about being so hands off with all the details and having never been before, I didn't know what to expect. The place just blew us away. The staff, the food, oh, the food was amazing, the views, the service, the everything. It was amazing. We have received several emails from our friends and family that attended saying it was the best wedding they have ever been to and everything was amazing. Kerry, the wedding coordinator was incredible. Everything was perfect. Kerry Ann was our butler and she was the best! She was so sweet and helpful and really just took us under her wing. Everytime we turned around she was there making sure we didn't need anything. The bartenders were very nice and accommodating and they knew all our names! I highly recommend this resort - top notch, first class! Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent five days at Moon Dance Cliffs for the wedding of a friend's son. First rate property in every way! Beautiful cliff-side location, all open-air venues, very accommodating staff. It is a smaller property that specializes in weddings and it shows! We were pampered and spoiled from the time we arrived until the time we departed. We never had any problem arranging an outing or making any special request. The food options were varied and our party enjoyed trying different foods during our meals. We felt safe at all times and never worried about our belongings (An in-room safe is provided as an extra precaution.) We experienced many appreciated small touches like the free cell phone for calling home, having the staff call you by name, and the feeling that our needs were always a priority. We would definitely recommend Moon Dance Cliffs if you are looking for a change from the mega-resort scene.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was almost 2 years ago, when my wife and I were on Trip Advisor looking for places in Jamaica to get married. During that search we happened to come across reviews and pictures of Moon Dance Cliffs resort. We pretty much decided right then, at that moment, that we were getting married there. The pictures of the resort were beautiful and all the reviews we read about the place were positive; so we figured we'd take a shot with MDC. We called and set our wedding date for Thanksgiving weekend 2012 without having even visited; we were that confident!

In Jan of 2012, we finally were able to take a break and visit MDC for a couple of days and nothing could've prepared us for our visit. The best pictures that have been taken on and of the resort couldn't possibly capture the beauty of Moon Dance. The views from every room
on the resort are just breathtaking. Every room and villa is clean and very well kept. The pool is big and the perfect place to be during the day time. Most importantly the staff is by far the most friendly and accommodating staff we've EVER encountered. From that initial visit we knew we had made the right decision.

We decided to have the whole resort for our wedding because we knew that our wedding party would be fairly large and we wanted everyone to be together in a central location. Rosemarie (in the business office) & Kerry (the on-site wedding coordinator), over the course of the year were kind enough to help us coordinate and organize every aspect of our wedding weekend experience for our guests. Guests were able to call and setup payment options and the Moon Dance managerial staff provided us with monthly updates on room reservations. They also kept a stand-by list of people to contact should a room open up. They were completely organized and on top of every detail. Kerry was especially attentive and responsive to every single one of my wife's weekly and/or daily emails, which helped to ease her anxiety tremendously...you can imagine, planning a wedding from almost 2000 miles will make a bride-to-be a tad anxious!

During our wedding week, the staff took care of all of our guests needs. In fact, most guests described the experience as "living like royalty"! The rooms were kept clean, the bars were kept stocked and ALL service was provided with a smile. Not one staff member would walk past without smiling or saying hello. The butlers for the villas, the bartenders, the staff that work in the salon and gift shop, and the servers ALL became our family for the weekend.
Over the course of the week, the MDC staff went above and beyond to make sure our guests were happy. The food was AMAZING, all weekend long, the recommended vendors were EXCELLENT and the overall experience was UNFORGETTABLE. I can't say enough about how well MDC treated us, and they are a big part of what made our wedding week so special.

Not only do we plan on coming back ASAP, but some of our guests have already started planning a anniversary trip to Moon Dance Cliffs...with or without us!!! It is truly a gem.

A Special "Thank You" to the MDC staff:

Managers
Richard Gordon
Richard Warren

Staff
Johnny Walker
Hasan
Doug E Fresh
Mighty O
Titanya
Kerri
Clyde
Alicia
Nicole
Christine

Planners
Kerry
Miriam Roe-McDonald

Room Tip: All four villa's are IMPECCABLE...take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaciandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
2.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 80 in Negril
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#27 of 80 in Negril
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#4 of 80 in Negril
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Dance Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Dance Cliffs

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Negril
#20 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $280 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. Moon Dance Cliffs has 2 restaurants, 3 bars, the world class Kamala spa, a 5,000+ square foot pool complex, and a plethora of other activities. Our friendly staff is available to you throughout your stay; from the concierge and the manager to the lifeguards and bartenders. With a 1:2 staff to guest ratio, the service at Moon Dance Cliffs is unmatched.Situated on the dramatic cliffs of Negril, Jamaica Moon Dance Cliffs is a luxury boutique resort and spa. Room choices include Caribbean View Hotel Rooms, Deluxe Jacuzzi Rooms, Executive One-Bedroom Suites, Prime Minister Two-Bedroom Suites, and 4 Royal Villas. All rooms are air-conditioned, with verandahs, spectacular views of the Caribbean and many have private, outdoor Jacuzzis. The Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs are located throughout the grounds of the resort. Ranging from one to five bedrooms, all the villas offer dramatic views of the Caribbean Sea from atop the cliffs. Each villa has the option of being staffed with a butler, who acts as a personal concierge. With full access to all the resort has to offer, the Royal Villas at Moon Dance Cliffs offer an unbeatable experience. With two restaurants and three bars to choose from, Moon Dance Cliffs offers dining options for whatever you’re in the mood for. Annie’s Restaurant is fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere; an open air restaurant set at the very edge of the ocean, the sunset view from Annie’s is unmatched. A menu of fresh seafood, traditional Jamaican dishes, pastas, steaks, and homemade desserts is complimented by an extensive array of fine wines and cocktails. The Sports Bar offers casual dining with a full menu and an exciting array of cocktails and beverages. With satellite TVs, darts, a pool table, Nintendo Wii®, and other games, The Sports Bar will entertain you day or night. The Pool Bar offers snacks, our signature Moon Dance cocktails, and other beverages whether you’re in the pool or just lounging by it. With beautiful views wherever you look and the friendliest staff in the Caribbean, Moon Dance Cliffs offers a relaxing, indulgent getaway. All-Inclusive and Accommodations Only rates are both available. Please inquire for nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moon Dance Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Dance Cliffs Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing