We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a hard time finding any lobster in their lobster meal”

Floyd's Pelican Bar
Book In Advance
More Info
$234.00*
and up
Private South Coast Adventure Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #2 of 20 Nightlife in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Had a hard time finding any lobster in their lobster meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Expensive, car, boat ride for a lobster (about 4 tiny pieces) stew. No where to sit and eat, no bathroom. Just be prepared if you do go. Personally I would pass.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank deenamccauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    103
    25
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Most Unique Place Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went to Floyd's Pelican Bar with 5 other couples, safely transported by Captain Dennis (Captain Dennis Adventures) who picked us up on the beach just outside Sandals Whitehouse.

I found it a little difficult to climb up the ladder to the bar due to knee issues, but with help from the people with us, made it!

Be sure to bring along some cash for beer/water/juice and for any pre-ordered lunches. Also to tip the guy who will carve your name in the wood. Bring along a marker too, to make your mark.

We hung out and had a few beers purchased at the bar, signed our names in several places, and just enjoyed the total specialness of the place!

This is one of the most unique places we've ever been. Would definitely visit Floyds again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpair55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT VISIT TO FLOYDE'S”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Floyde's Pelican Bar on Jan 31, and again on Feb 6/2-13. As usual, we had a wonderful time visiting with Floyde and the gang. I took him the new "Floyd's Pelican Bar" sign I made for him, as well as a couple of photo albums, and 12 "Special Edition" t-shirts. We are looking forward to going back again in 2015. I highly recommend a visit to "The Coolest Bar On The Planet" to anyone wanting to see something special and unique while visiting Jamaica!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnepeopleOneblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip. . I took 16 of my friends and had such a good time at Floyds. Highly recommend going to this bar. Just note its about 2 hours from Negril, Jamaica.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ok. It's a long way to go for a beer and some lunch... but it's worth it. The experience is unmatched! We went as part of a tour with Sephy's, but our driver was able to find us someone to take us by boat to Floyd's and back very easy. It's about a 15 minute trip each way, but it's beautiful, and nice to get out on the ocean. Then it appears. You think to yourself... is that little shack really it? REALLY? Yep, it is. Climb on up the stairs and you are in for a treat. You feel like a refugee, and a very smiley one at that! It's super fun here. You've got a mix of locals, tourists, and just your run of the mill Jamaican crowd! We called ahead and ordered the lobster which was nice, but I don't think we came here for the food! It was so fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floyd's Pelican Bar also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Floyd's Pelican Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing