We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariposa Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$142
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$135
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
$64
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$182
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
11
16
12
7
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
16
12
7
14
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 60 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I would advice anyone who visit Negril not to stay at the Mariposa Hideaway.You will have no beach to lay in the sand.The owner and the young lady at the front desk is rude to the guest.The food at the resaurant is terrible the price high.I stayed there for 10 days i saw only 3 people having dinner.We tried to leave but because we had to pay for the full trip up front and there are no refund we had to stay.The house keepers were very friendly but afraid they would be fired by the owner for no reason if they spoke to us.Take my advice do not stay at the Mariposa.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rupert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I had dinner there while we were on our annual vacation last year(2011). The food is overpriced. It took a long time to get our meal. We had local snapper which costs us over $20 US. The server was very unpleasant and acts as if she didn't want to be there.

Room Tip: Try not to eat at the restaurant. There are cheaper restaurants around with nice Jamaican foods.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank marion p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else.
I had a 10 day booking that we had to pay full price for up front, after 4 days of arguing with the mangement... i cut my losses and flew home without any compensation.
the amenties and photos advertised on the site were not accurate.
wi fi access was limited to approx 15 feet surrounding the front office.
continental breakfast consisted of a bowl of ceral.
most importantly the staff and owners were extremly rude and unaccomodating.
I understand that issues will arise at any hotel, but it's how the company addresses the concerns that makes the difference. this experience has really turned me off one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.
with tourism as important as it is to the island, it's shocking that these folks don't appear to be concerned with repeat business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Errol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed at the Mariposa hide-away February 23rd to march 5th. We were not allowed visitors on the property, since we have family in Jamaica this was a "showstopper", they refused to refund our money and have us leave the hotel since we were not informed of this policy at booking. The photos on the site are misleading there is a very big cement wall where the beach should be, you are forced to use the beach at another property. The hotel padlocks the front gate at night, which is a safety and a fire hazard since the entire property is fenced. Continental breakfast is a bowl of cereal. There is NO WI-FI unless you are at the front office which is a long way from the rooms. There is not a location to sit and use Wi-Fi near the front, in the evenings you are standing next to main road surfing the internet. Cleaning staff and security are very friendly, the staff at the front desk and management are very rude.

Room Tip: No rooms are on the beach
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much that we cancelled the other hotel (after one night) and returned to the Mariposa. It is the only hotel with a wall (just painted while we were there) separating the water from the property (which is only 2 feet). This keeps the vendors off the property and allows you to retreat to solitude. The restaurant is no great shakes but the service is polite, friendly and professional. My wife felt safe, appreciated and welcomed as a guest there. Many of the other hotel visitors were repeat customers and raved about the property. It is located pretty much in the middle of the beach and the toughest decision you have to make when going for a walk is to the right or the left. It is not all-inclusive and it has a bit of a "regular" feel to it. It is clean, well priced and worth a visit. We stayed there for 6 out of our 7 nights in Negril. We wish it was seven. We will go back for sure. My daughter is visiting this summer and she will be staying there--very safe indeed. Enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews