We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreaming of dirty bananas!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yellow Bird

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yellow Bird
Ranked #11 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dreaming of dirty bananas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed down the beach at a different resort and, even though we were all-inclusive, had to wander down the beach to the Yellow Bird for "two-for-one" dirty bananas - last year AND this year! We just had to come back! I haven't tried anything else here, but they the service is good and the dirty bananas are the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koral K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Yellow Bird S, General Manager at The Yellow Bird, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
So happy to know that you had a chance to wander away to the YB for your dirty bananas and enjoy it.
we hope that on your next trip you'll be able to try another of our mixed drink
It will also be our pleasure to have you staying here with us.
Thanks for stopping by
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went here almost everyday for happy hour, or is that hours!!! It is a little square palappa with seats all the way around. They make the best "dirty bananas" in Negril. Yvonne is the best ! She is always so happy and pleasant. We looked forward to seeing her everyday. Happy Hour is from 9 in the morning until 6 at night. They have 2 for one drinks on drinks like the dirty banana. 2 for 5 dollars! cannot be beat and cannot be better! Can't wait until next time. Yummy!!! Best deal in Negril!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGARET0560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

To one and all. This year will be my 28th year consecutive coming to The Yellowbird for
Christmas/New Year's.

From the days of Irene and Roy to current management, the family atmosphere highlighted with
Juliet, Marva, David, Daphne, Ionie, Carlene, Lorraine.... the entire team makes one feel at home.
I have been staying these many years in one of the one bedroom rooms and it is very
comfortable and clean and very safe... no worries when you are at The Yellowbird.

With all the changes taking place in Negril these days (5 star all inclusives), it is refreshing that
a traditional "old style" facility is available to which I would recommend to one and all.

Looking forward to our return this Christmas

Douglas

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We love the Yellow Bird. The accommodations are not 5 star -- some of the appliances in the cottages are older and need some work -- but the positives far outweigh the negatives. When we go to Jamaica, we always stay here because the staff treats you like family and the resort feels like home rather than a hotel. You can walk across the lawn to get coffee and chat with the staff in your pajamas. There is plenty of room for our kids (2 and 4) to run and play. There are community get-togethers regularly, like cookouts. There is a community atmosphere among the people who stay at the cottages. The staff is very accommodating.

We don't want a resort atmosphere -- my husband is a Jamaican -- so we like that the Yellow Bird feels as if you are living with the locals. If you want a "real" laid-back, relaxing Jamaican experience, stay at the Yellow Bird. If you are an uptight tourist who expects Jamaica to be the same as America, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bashanandlaurablake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at The Yellow Bird last March. Mr Facey picked us up at the airport, stopped at a grocery store with us and safely delivered us to The Yellow Bird. Arranging transportation with him in advance was a great idea. The accommodations were basic, not fancy, but they were clean and we had everything we needed. The friendly staff made our stay very comfortable and even went out of their way to do special things for us.
We relaxed on the beach for a good part of each day, reading, sunbathing, swimming, people watching, playing frisbee, walking the beach. Gem, the fruit lady, brought fresh fruit to us on the beach each day. Each evening we walked up or down the beach to dine out. We ate at a different restaurant every night and always had fabulous meals.
The Last Mango Bar on-site was a great place to meet locals and fellow travelers. We went on a wonderful excursion with Rasta Mikey and sons with other Yellow Bird guests, it was a very memorable day.
We would definitely go back to The Yellow Bird and hope to bring other family members with us. It was the most relaxing vacation I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Yellow Bird S, Director of Sales at The Yellow Bird, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are indeed pleased to know that you had such a wonderful stay here and enjoyed every moment of it.
having the driver from the airport with a safe ride, the fruit lady, that wonderful excursion, a walk on the beach to dine at different places, those are some very good choice, and most of all being here.
We do appreciate you for having here as your vacation spot
Looking forward to having you back to enjoy our beautiful seven miles of white sand beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fariaz14
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have visited this property several times, two years or so ago management had changed, this property went down the hill, we visited again few days ago, the previous staff is back and what a change in cleanliness and staff morale. the beach area is clean and well maintained. Juliet and the staff have high spirits, always welcoming. keep up the great work. "To the owners you have an asset." we really had fun and enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the beach room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fariaz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Yellow Bird S, Director of Sales at The Yellow Bird, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We Thank you for your review
We're very pleased to know you had a fun time and enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to having you back with us it was our pleasure having you.

Best Regards
Yellow Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Upon arrival the property set up was really not that pretty and the office is not the first thing you see. However, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. I loved the location of the rooms which are right off the beach. The beach bar has an awesome 2 4 1 specials on Dutty Bananas. They only experience that I didn't like was that the lady that sells the beach towels is too pushy. Even after I bought something the next day she expected me to buy something else. I was suppose to return w/ a friend but we decided against because we just wanted to enjoy the beach w/o all the pressure from the towel lady.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nubbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Yellow Bird S, Director of Sales at The Yellow Bird, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your review
We do hope that upon your next visit the property set up will be made more attractive.
Thanks for the kind compliments to the staff and also to the bar tenders who've always been so happy to serve your 2 4 1 specials.
We must apologize for that bad experience you had with the vendor, we've highlighted the situation and can assure you and others that this will never happen again.
Looking forward to having you back
It was our pleasure accommodating you and we do hope that you had a very pleasant stay
We Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#24 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#34 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow Bird

Property: The Yellow Bird
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Yellow Bird 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amenities: When it comes to fun, you won't find anything better than The Yellow Bird! From our one-of-a-kind, beautiful beach with it's calm waters and warm sand to the coldest beers in Jamaica, we have something for everyone! •Take a glass bottom boat ride with Mikey the Rasta-man and his son Pogo. • Enjoy the beauty of the sea with snorkeling by the reef. •Visit the island for a delicious lobster lunch. •Tap into your adventurous side and go diving off the cliffs at Rick's cafe! •Take a beautiful tour up and down the coast. • Spend time deep sea fishing. • Try your hand at parasailing, jet skiing or water skiing! You can't visit The Yellow Bird without relaxing at the always popular Last Mango Bar where you will find the largest selection of cold beer and mixed drinks. This is a great way to relax at the end of the day, meet other guests, or just spend time enjoying the wonderful Jamaican nights. Ask the bartenders for a Mango Margarita or Dirty Banana, and be sure to take advantage of the two-for-one daily specials. * To satisfy your sweet tooth, Marcia the Cake Lady sets up outside the bar with an assortment of cakes and desserts! * Also watch for Jem the Fruit Lady and her assortment of fresh mangos, avocados, bananas, oranges, papayas, star fruit, june plums, grapes and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Yellow Bird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow Bird Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing