We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Yellow Bird
Nearby Hotels
$270
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$133
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$182
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$262
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$149
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
$64
$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
$703
$639
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$484
$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
39
30
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
30
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirty bananaseven mile beachgreat hostsbeach barhome away from homemoment you arrivestay there againbeautiful beachchecking outperfect locationjulietcottagesecuritypropertyvacationjamaicaaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 78 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at The Yellow Bird....we go back at the same time each year and are really like family. Bonus this year is the return of Marva and Juliet who are professional and attentive to their guests. The family feeling is what continues to draw up back year after year. David, Lorraine, Daphne, Ioni, Carlene.....and the rest have become our family at our home away from home! Lucky enough to be going back in April!

Room Tip: Cottage 1 sits back away from the beach but is very roomy with a sitting area on each end and the kitchen table in the middle. Very quiet and love this cottage.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerriC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Yellow Bird S, Director of Sales at The Yellow Bird, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

It's been such a honor for us to know that you've always been returning to, 19 years and still loving it.
Thank you for highlighting the staff, it's always been our pleasure doing our best to let your stay be the most pleasant & memorable one.
We look forward to having you time after time
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Located right in the middle of everything you will want to experience on seven mile beach. Perfect location, best beach spot, beautiful and spacious, extrodinary staff, I can go on and on.. just got home from our trip, and i am already counting down the days till we can return.

After walking the beach and checking out all the hotels that there are i will definately be going back to the Yellow Bird!

Room Tip: We had a sleeping room with just two beds, it was perfect for what we needed. Joel was the name of the room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonCarly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Yellow Bird S, Director of Sales at The Yellow Bird, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We do appreciate your review
we look forward to having you back to enjoy our beautiful and spacious yard, nice beach and extraordinary staff.
Thank you for having The Yellow Bird as your "home away from home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have stayed at the Yellow Bird 5 or 6 times over the years, will be going back in March, quaint place, nothing special , good location and nice people. 15 minute walk to Alfreds and other points of interest.

Room Tip: I like the "motel rooms", have stayed in the "sleeping rooms" and may do that again on my solo return.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90hotrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We went to Yellow Bird in November 2011 and have held off making this review because even though the beginning of our stay was very negative things improved. Now I am writing this because the prices have more than doubled and the place just isn't worth it. When we arrived we were very tired after 12 hours traveling, got to our room and there were no sheets on the bed, plus the lamp on the bedside table was filthy and ripped, window screening was ripped down (no one ever fixed this), kitchenette pots were not in useable condition generally the room was shabby. We did go to the office to get help with the situation but the receptionist wasn't helpful, we were really putting her out with our request. The lamp was changed with one only slightly better when we discovered our unmade bed we were so tired that we couldn't face another interaction at the office so we just slept on the unmade bed. The next morning the manager arranged for a change in room staff to look after us and she cleaned things up and put sheets on the bed. During our vacation (2 weeks) every time we had to make a request of the receptionist we were not treated in a welcoming manner we stayed because our room staff assigned to us was a very special, caring lady who treated us royally. Also, the room is right on the beach we just had to step out onto our own private spot, this said, alot would have to change here for us to consider coming back with the increased rates.

Room Tip: If you do want to book here look at the room first and only book if they are willing and happy to correct any issues.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

For those who want to feel like they are in Jamaica, this is a great place to stay! It is not necessarily an all inclusive, which is the point so you can get out and enjoy the island and it's people like you should in another country. I like how everyone who works here is very friendly and makes you feel like at home. I enjoyed not having A.C. and waking up to the sound of the ocean waves instead. I like the pace here...at your own pace, no schedule for meals, freedom to do things when you want. It's apparently not meant for those who DON'T want to experience the island and all its culture. I enjoyed it here and recommend others to let go of usual everyday amenities and live a little!

Room Tip: Choose a room by the beach, it's the best waking up to the sounds of the waves.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews