We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peat Taylor Tours

Peat Taylor Tours
Ranked #3 of 20 Nature & Parks in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peat Taylor is Jamaica's First Independent Tour Operator, been in the Tour business since the age of 21. He has Toiled to be the first Operator on the Island to have an Internet fanbase. He has maintained a highly reputable name for the 28 years in Jamaica's Tourism industry as the most spoken of Jamaican guide on the internet. And he keeps a very strong operation which is Family based(Son & other Relatives). Without a doubt they remain #1 in customer satisfaction for adventure or sight-seeing tours and ground transport islandwide, Jamaica. Try Peat Taylor Tours for the Best authentic Jamaican experience. You will for sure get a real Jamaican tour guide to safely show you Jamaica like a local would see it, in clean air-conditioned vehicles. Enjoy Jamaica's lovely reggae music, get to know the local culture, have a blast at Jamaica's fun-filled attractions like Dunn's River Falls, Cool Blue Hole (a.k.a Irie Blue Hole or Secret Waterfalls), Beach Horseback Ride n'Swim and river tubing on the White River or go for a swim as agitated water around you glow in the Luminous Lagoon just to say a few of their customary island experiences. You will also get a chance to learn a little of their local Jamaican Patois(Pronounced Patwa) dialect.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Zebulon, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just returned from our cruise on the Carnival Freedom and a Peat Taylor tour in Ocho Rios. We had a great time! We were taken to Dunn River Falls and the Irie Blue Hole. The Blue Hole is something you don't want to miss in Ocho Rios. Between Dunn River and the Blue Hole Peat took us to some shops in Ocho Rios where we were able to purchase rum and coffee and then he stopped and got us some lunch at a local place before we headed to the Blue Hole. We had a great time and will do this again the next time we are in Ocho Risos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank taragp306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    42
    14
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wv
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Private Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just returned from a cruise where we stopped in Ocho Rios Jamaica. We had booked a private tour with Peat Taylor Tours and it was awesome! We didnt have enough time to do everything but (Re)Peat gave us a wonderful tour! We felt safe and the van was super clean. Thanks Peat and son for showing us your home and making our visit extra special! Oh, and thank you so much for finding me some Diet Pepsi to take back on the ship!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank janelcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BOOK PEAT TAYLOR!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Carnival wanted to charge $130pp for a Horseback Ride/Dunn's River Falls excursion. My husband & I decided to book with Mr.Taylor for about half the cost! We ended up with time to spare & a driver to ourselves who took us to The Ocho Rios Jerk Centre for an authentic taste of Jamaica & to a free Jamaican rum sampling before he dropped us off a Margaritaville. Everyone was awesome, upbeat & professional. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! (BTW they will customize your tour time permitting)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank uh60dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked Peat Taylor, Ocho Rios was one of our ports of call on our cruise. When we arrived we went to one of the "officals" and they asked who we were looking for, we told them Peat Taylor. They called him and let him in the gate to pick us up. We went to Dunns river falls and got there before there was anyone even there, then after that we went on a scary ride in their van up to the river to go white river tubing. Everything was fun, but the roads are very narrow, so it was a little scary, but we enjoyed everything that day and never had any issues with the tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanW159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Awesome Day with Oneil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our family of 5 recently returned from Jamaica and used Peat Taylor Tours for our excursion to Ocho Rios. We were picked up from our resort in Montego Bay and made the 90 minute trek to Ocho Rios. We climbed Dunns River Falls, went River Tubing on the White River and explored the Irie Blue Hole—simply amazing! We had Peat's eldest son, Oneil as our private guide for the day. Oneil was absolutely awesome! Not only was he very professional and helpful, he was also friendly, informative, entertaining and humorous too. We loved hearing his “goat” calls, spotting the “rum faces” and seeing the places he liked to play as a child.

During the drive from Montego Bay to Ocho Rios, Oneil bought a bunch of juicy, fresh Quenepa’s for us to sample. Even though he showed us the correct way to eat this, he still had a good laugh watching us get the fruit off the stone.

Oneil really looked after us and we felt very safe with him. He escorted us to all the places we visited and paid the admission fees for us too. We ended our day at Scotchies. Oneil recommended what to order and even placed our order for us. We really appreciated his helpfulness and expertise.

I know there are a lot of choices among tour operators, but we are so glad we booked our Ocho Rios excursion through Peat Taylor Tours. If we ever have the chance to come back to Jamaica, we would absolutely book with Peat Taylor Tours again . . . and next time, would love to have Oneil join us in the Irie Blue Hole!

Our day with Oneil was definitely the highlight of our Jamaican vacation. Thanks Oneil and Peat Taylor Tours for an awesome and memorable day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peat Taylor Tours also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Peat Taylor Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing