We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
353
22
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
22
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb breggae beachbarefoot chefcassavawhite riverhumming birdsother guestsbreakfast and dinnerlocal beachespumpkin ricethe main househome away from homeamazing hospitalitymeals preparedauthentic jamaican experiencelikes and dislikesmajor attractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 379 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2009

My wife and I just returned from an unforgettable 8-night vacation at The Blue House B&B in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. My wife is 6 months pregnant and we were looking for one last relaxing getaway before the baby arrives. From the moment we arrived, I knew we made the perfect choice.

The grounds of The Blue House were immaculate and everything about our stay there was top notch. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and the owner, Elise, treated us like family. Elise's brother Darryl is the house chef and his cooking made us never want to eat anywhere else. Between breakfast and dinner, every bite we ate was spectacular. Elise and Darryl knew we wanted to try all of the local cuisine and we were presented with a fantastic meal at every sitting. Darryl went out of his way to make sure that each meal suited our tastes and everything was DELICIOUS! Oh, how I miss his cooking :)

When we wanted to relax we relaxed, and when we wanted to explore the town we were always able to thanks to Lesa. She had a great amount of knowledge about the area and made sure that we saw everything we had asked about. We checked out some of the local beaches, had lunch at Scotchie's and the Ranch, shopped for local spices and sauces at the supermarket, and did so much more. From going to Reggae Beach almost every day to our awesome day-trip to Kingston and the Blue Mountains, Lesa made sure everything was perfect. She is an excellent guide and now a great friend as well.

Elise knew we wanted to visit the Blue Hole and we went on our first full day. The natural splendor of this secluded area made it the one of the most stunning places I have ever been. Milky turquoise water, lush forest, and levels of waterfalls and natural pools...I could've spent all day there. It's the kind of place that I hope stays a secret and a trip the Blue Hole is an absolute must!

Elise and the staff at The Blue House provided us with so much more than just a place to stay. We met some terrific people, had great conversations, and were shown a side of Jamaica that few people get to see. I would like to publicly thank Elise for providing us with a phenomenal experience that was so much more than we could've ever expected....Thanks Elise :)

Not only do my wife and I plan to return one day, but we are sending my parents there for their 60th birthdays later this year. I cannot recommend The Blue House enough and I hope you enjoy your time there as much as we did.

Josh and Michele (Philadelphia, PA)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kubrick215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

If your idea of an ideal vacation is staying in the gorgeous tropical home of an old friend who cooks delicious, locally inspired meals, shares great conversation, helps you choose the sights to see, but mostly leaves you to your own devices, then the Blue House will be perfect. My boyfriend and I were desperate to relax, and we were delighted that The Blue House lived up to the TripAdvisor reviews and was a great place to do just that. We both enjoyed the best vacation we have ever had, which had much to do with the hospitality of the Blue House.

Both of us have experienced B & B horrors, however, there was none to be found here. Elise Yap, the resident owner, and her incredible staff, keep a beautifully furnished, very clean, very well-kept home. Elise upgraded us to the Upper Room when we arrived, which brought tears to our eyes as we surveyed the large, well-appointed, tasteful, and very comfortable bed and bath. It was a lovely, unexpected gift for first-time visitors. Every day, the room was cleaned to a sparkling degree, even after sandy trips to the beach left a bit of debris here and there. The walk in closet easily held all of our things, so that we could enjoy the room’s décor uncluttered.

The public areas of the house are very comfortable, with beautiful views of the mountains. My boyfriend and I enjoyed grabbing a couple of Red Stripes from the honor bar and playing a little guitar in the living room as the sun went down. Outside, there is a beautifully designed garden filled with tropical flowers, birds, and a swimming pool. We sat in the hammock one afternoon and enjoyed watching the hummingbirds taste the many flowers above us.

The food at the Blue House is completely incredible. There was not a single meal that was a clunker during our entire stay. Before we arrived, Elise asked us what sort of foods we like and don’t like, and we found that our wishes were met each day with a stunning amount of (successful) creativity. Local favorites with a twist are prepared with fresh ingredients each day. Darryl, Elise’s brother, is the talented chef, and a really nice guy. He leaves no detail to chance. Even the breakfasts are spectacular. The fresh fruit is to die for!

One of the best things about staying at the Blue House is that Elise is extremely knowledgeable about the island and the many sights to see, and she has a knack for helping people find what they are looking for. We had a whole list of things we wanted to experience while we were there, from swimming with dolphins to visiting Dunn’s River Falls and going to the beach. Elise gave us terrific advice about where and when to go and how to get there, providing us with car rides and reservations. She just seemed to take care of things, effortlessly, and we were so grateful to her for relieving us of the burden of having to figure it all out ourselves each day.

In the evenings at dinner, we loved the family style meal punctuated by Elise’s intelligent, unpretentious conversation. She has enjoyed a full life, and it was really fun to hear her stories and share ideas with her. Even though our fellow travelers did not have a lot in common, I think we all enjoyed sitting down to meals together, not in small part due to Elise’s ability to bring people together.

The Blue House was truly delightful. We can’t wait to return, which hopefully won’t be before too long. We started to miss it as soon as we stepped off of the property!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

My husband and I do not care for the "plastic feel" of the all-inclusive resort, so whenever we travel we most often stay with friends, family or at B&Bs. The Blue House started out as a B&B adventure and ended up feeling a bit like the other two! Elise Yapp is an excellent hostess, who runs a quality business in a lovely, clean, light and well-kept home. The grounds of the home are filled with the beauty of God's creation, a myriad of colours and sounds. We especially enjoyed watching the hummingbirds at several different feeders Elise has placed around the property. The so-called "Doctor Bird" with his long braided tail and reddest of red beaks was our favourite. Elise's staff are all very friendly, helpful, polite and kind. To say that Elise's brother Daryl, is a phenomenal chef is an understatement. His meals were thoughtfully prepared, using the freshest ingredients, with great variety, beautifully presented and deserts were always a thrill. Our only complaint about the food is that our stomachs couldn't ever hold enough! We had only to express a wish and Elise or one of the family would help to fulfill it. We particularly enjoyed the last day of our stay when Elise's niece, Lesa took us around a bit, to drink coconuts, eat sugar cane and local food. All in all, I have to give "The Blue House" a mega "WOW!!!!", which was Lesa's son's Adam favourite word :-). If you are considering a trip to Ocho Rios, you simply can't go wrong with a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the2babus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Our stay at the blue house was most enjoable. we stayed intehprivate cottage, it was cozy and cute. To watchthe hummingbirds at all times was unique. It is very quite with loud frogs and crickets to put you to sleep, and the flora and fauna is amazing. Darryl the chef made the most fantastic food out there, we looked forwrad to dinner every single night!!! For breakfast he also made us try the jamaican cuisine, which was different but tasty. Elise is a very relaxed and comforting friendly hostess. I definately would stay at the Blue house again, and I have travelled to many hotels and B& B's. It's like you were a giant family.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaRandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Excellent! Our stay at the Blue House exceeded our expectations!

If you love wonderful accommodations (the web site speaks for itself), beautiful, natural surroundings, gourmet food, great conversation, laughter and lots of fun . . . then the Blue House is for you. Whether you want to sit quietly by the pool or venture out to Raggae Beach & Scotchies, or one of the many tourist attractions Ocho Rios has to offer; you can have the Blue House as your home away from home.

The proprieter, Elise, and her brother Daryl, the Chef go above and beyond to ensure you have a perfect holiday. Do yourself a favor and include the supper in your package. Daryl's food is the best on the island. Enjoy your breakfast outside on the patio watching the hummingbirds fly back and forth. What a view! Elise made sure that we saw everything we wanted during our vacation including a trip to the waterfalls - absolutely gorgeous - a little piece of paradise. Our fellow guests (you know who you are) were "the icing on the cake". What a great time we had!

Home away from home. Elise you are great! Thank you seems hardly enough. Our vacation was more than we could have wished for. We are looking forward to our return. We will be back!

Deb & Brian
New Brunswick, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Traveldestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews