We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Jamaican jewel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Ocho Rios B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden Jamaican jewel!”
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We just returned from five nights at The Blue House in Ocho Rios. From the moment we arrived at this charming, luxury B&B ( past midnight due to a three hour flight delay), we were made to feel like old friends or family. We stayed in The Upper Room, a large deep periwinkle-colored refuge with an adjoining large bathroom featuring a rain-forest shower. Fresh flowers adorned the room, towels folded in decorative shapes with floral petals appeared on our kingsize bed, and wraparound windows faced luxuriant foliage and the pool.

We chose the breakfast-dinner plan and were thrilled with the food. Darryl, the "barefoot chef" has gifted hands! He prepared food according to our personal dietary choices ( we don't eat seafood or pork) and was able to wow us with typical Jamaican delights, even with our dietary restrictions. Breakfast was served alfresco on the upstairs balcony ( lovely!) Dinners were served in the lovely dining area facing the mountains. Elise, our hostess has a tremendous gift of hospitality. We were blessed by her presence at our meals, and learned much about her native Jamaica, and about her heart for the poor among her people.

Elise accompanied us to her neighbor Betty's yard where we encountered an "orchid paradise". Betty is president of the Orchid Society and has a yard filled with perhaps 10,000 orchids of all colors and varieties. I have perhaps 10 orchid plants in my backyard here in Ft. Lauderdale, but never in my life have I seen anything like this! To top it all off, Betty welcomes guests of The Blue House to take a dip in the White River that runs behind her house: a crystal clear cool ( but not cold) pool that was truly heavenly!

Elise personally took us to Reggae Beach, extended hospitality to some friends who stopped by to see us, and asked her brother to take us to The Blue Hole - an out of the way, local swimming hole that again seemed like the Garden of Eden with its beautiful waterfall and natural "jacuzzis". One of the local boys asked if we would like to see another waterfall. Darryl went with us as we trecked through the forest for about 25 minutes until we came upon a hidden waterfall and another heavenly blue pool. We jumped in and the refreshing was phenomenal.

Darryl personally escorted us to a local supermarket to buy Blue Mountain coffee ( very smooth and delicious), and to a local place to try their Jamaican beef and chicken patties. Does this sound like individual attention?? We have traveled all over the world, and have seldom experienced such unique, giving hosts!!!

Elise goes out of her way to "customize" the stay of her guests. We are so glad that we stayed at The Blue House when we did, because when word gets out about this place, there will be a huge waiting list for a room ( there are only five - each one very charming and unique.)

One more treat: When you lie in the lovely blue hammock near the pool, hummingbirds of all colors and varieties come to visit you and partake of the sugar-solution provided for them.

  • Liked — the personalized service and general excellence
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellLady4god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
87
153
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbus
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

The Blue House in Ocho Rios was nothing short of sublime! The owners (Yap family) were very gracious and hospitable. The food was 5 star, and the accomodations were stunning! I checked numerous web sites in the search for a suitable place to stay; from Mo Bay, Negril, And Ochi, this was the only place I saw where every reviewer gave it positive marks. It deserved them.

  • Liked — The rooms were luxurious!
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank naysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We had an excellent time at the Blue House! The rooms are georgeous, the house beautifully decorated, pool is great and much care and attention is obviously paid to the landscaping with abundant flowers and hummingbirds.

This bed and breakfast offers incredible breakfasts and dinners - absolutely exquisite food! Either traditional Jamaican or Chinese. Rum punch is great too!

Elise is wonderful host and you will learn a lot about Jamaica during afternoon and after dinner chats. The personalized, culturally oriented tours she offers also make the stay special. One day we visited a park on the west side of town (forgot the name) and hiked up to headwaters of the river where you can swim in a 12 foot deep pool. Unlike the popular and crowded Dunn's falls, we had the entire paradise to ourselves ... We then went to Scotchies for the best of Jerk.

Reggae beach, just minutes from The Blue House was the most beautiful beach we visited on our entire trip (from Port Antonio to and Ochos area).

We stayed two nights of our honeymoon at the Blue House and loved every peaceful moment.

(Recommended reading while travelling in Jamaica - "The True History of Paradise" by Margaret Cezair-Thompson. This jewel of a novel really gives you an understanding of the history and a taste of the country's unusual cultural legacy.)

One more note - we just booked hotels as we went, moving every 2-3 nights. Another hotel booked our stay at Blue House for us but we later learned this hotel takes a very large percent as finder fee. Alise and her family deserve every cent - book yourself instead of through a third party.

  • Liked — Food, great conversation, exquisite atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shambu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

The Blue House is a mile or two out of Ochos Rios in St Mary's parish. It run by the Yapp family - manager and hostess Elise - who is great value and her brother Darryl - who is one talented chef.

Not used to staying in B&B's we were a little wary - in the past the expereince has been a little invasive, we're not usually fond of forced socialisation. But the Blue House is different - Elise is a great intuitive hostess and gives you all the advice and help you can need and knows how to make your stay comfortable. And she makes interaction with the other guests very easy and relaxed.

She is such a generous hostess that you do worry about feeling too indebted to her. Which can make leaving, taking up and turning down the offer of services a bit awkward.

Her brother Darryl put together some of the best meals imaginable and they were only too willing to drive you up to Reggae Beach or to town.

It's great too, to stay with locals - you get to find out a lot about the place.

Darryl's cooking...sigh! He is a genius!

  • Liked — Darryl's cooking and Elise's hostessing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onthegoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2008

My husband and I decided to go to Jamaica for our 2nd anniversary vacation. We were not interested in the big hotels or all-inclusives, but we wanted somewhere that was 'up to standard'. We were at the brink of choosing another island entirely, when we came across The Blue House here on tripadvisor. Let me just say that all the reviews were true...this place was like home away from home.

We stayed in the cottage, which was behind the main house, and that suited us just fine because we tend to be reclusive. However, having breakfast and dinner with our gracious hostess, Elise, and the other couple staying there at the time, was far from intrusive. Elise made us feel very comfortable....it was as if she was family. And Darryl's cooking was truly Jamaican. It was the best food we had on the island!

We rented a car for our time there, and were able to drive to Montego Bay (the roads were quite wide and easy to navigate). We also drove to the nearby Reggae Beach, Coyoba Gardens, and a little further off to Green Grotto Caves.

Jamaica was great, and we hope to return soon, and we definitely know where we'll be staying! Don't ask any more questions...you have to experience the Blue House for yourself!!!

Joanne and Gary, April 26-30, 2008

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gjdurrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Great hospitality. If you need any help, or any advice – just ask Elise. She never forgets about your requirement. Elise is always ready to recommend you your private holyday.
Love you diving? – no problem, go there
Love you riding a horse? – no problem, go there
Love you a nature? – no problem, go there
Love you fun and games? – no problem, go there
Love you great food? – no problem, go there. Daryl is the best cook
Love you beach and sun – no problem, go there

Simply the best...

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2008

The Blue House in Ocho Rios...

It was cold and dreary in New York and it had been a long year with lifes ups and downs...so..a dear friend of mine and I decide we should go to Jamaica together for the first time. I had my reasons and she had hers...

So I searched on the internet for something different than a hotel (normally, that wouldve scared me but...) I was led to the Blue House in Ocho Rios and I thought...interesting...a peaceful house with a personal touch...Something about the pictures beckoned to me and when I spoke with Elise (the owner of this little piece of paradise) I knew this could be the place...

She was kind and I could feel her warmth right through the phone, and her care about our dietary needs were so detailed. Ms Elise went out of her way to make this stay memorable and she answered all and any questions I had about where to go, things to see and do, massages and so on...

I cant swim but i felt safe in the pool and looked up at the sky.. on my back no less (Im a water chicken at heart..) and the sounds of this place...its no less than hypnotic. Its as though the earth and all its little creatures were singing to me with a mixture of local music and soft laughter...Its hard to describe...You have to experience it for yourself...

I got some of the best sleep there. The little humming birds greet you in the morning along with the smell of a lovely breakfast prepared by Daryl...(hey... if he's missing, you'll find him chained to my stove in NYC) All the meals were prepared with love and so full of island flavor...I wanted to wrap it up and take it with me on the plane ride home...

I would say more but its best discovering this little diamond for yourself...If you dont want the feeling of a large hotel, but you want great food, pool and personable touch in a home setting, then you may want to check this place out...Im glad I did...sincerely, Lisa

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Cherokeepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
240 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,196 reviews
6.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: White River Estates, Ocho Rios Caribbean, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue House Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Ocho Rios Jamaica offers all the intimacy and charm of a small boutique hotel at an affordable cost. Here's your chance to experience REAL JAMAICA in a cozy, elegant guest house with mouth-watering cuisine and genial, hospitable hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Hotel Ocho Rios
The Blue House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing