We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,371)
Filter reviews
10,371 results
Traveler rating
3,692
3,566
1,751
787
575
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,692
3,566
1,751
787
575
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jerk hut deluxe side sir richards sports bar plantation restaurant jerk chicken mammee bay junior suite main buffet specialty restaurants dunns river every other day gourmet restaurant safe key cool runnings musty smell towel cards
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 10,371 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel was recently renovated I’m told. New and clean however challenges...one was with toilet. Couldn’t flush as tank was empty. Middle of night it filled up loudly. Others had issues with A/C, toilets, etc. Maintenance takes 3 or more days, Most of the staff were okay however... The morning of January 12 we went to gift shop. Our treatment by these young girls was appalling. I have never NEVER been treated so rudely by anyone! They should not be employed to deal with the public! Disgusting behaviour in which those girls alone would stop me from ever returning... They were so rude and asked what I didn’t understand English or Spanish. Snotty and awful! Buses were always an hour or more late to go to excursions. Buffet get old fast not much variety.

Room tip: Pay extra for a room with ocean view but don’t get one! If you want one king bed or 2 queen beds maybe sure before you go it’s correct.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear travelbug0888,

Thank you for your time,

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your overall experience during your stay at our Hotel Riu Ocho Rios! We would like to clarify that even though these shops are inside of our hotels they are not part of our business and we can only apologize on their behalf! We hope that you come once again to one of our worldwide hotels in the future to provide you a much greater experience!

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

Greetings,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel was amazing!
There were watersides, pools and kids area. The entertainment was excellent! Entertainment for kids, teens and adults!The beaches were beautiful! The staff were accommodating and very friendly! Lots of places to sit and visit. The gift shop was full of great souvenirs and essentials you may need.
This place was perfect and would visit again!!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
1  Thank mark01957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mark,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time at our hotel!

We hope that you will come and visit us again for another positive experience! Wish you all the best in meanwhile!

Kind regards,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel even although it has some very minor issues to sort out.

The refurb which was recently completed is fantastic and its now such a modern hotel with fantastic public spaces and rooms.

We had an easy and quick check in and even got 2 rooms next to one another thanks to Shadee on reception. Once everything was explained we were off to our rooms.

Rooms are great, very modern and clean. Housekeeping do a great job here.

Air con works a treat and the bathroom has a great shower in it.

Robes and slippers would be a nice. bottles of water every 2nd day.

The buffet had some of the best food that I have experienced at an inclusive resort, so much so that I didnt try any of the speciality restaurants as I was happy in the main restaurant. There was plenty of choice and not much repetition. The staff were friendly and efficient. Raquele was great who was our server every night. Thanks.

The Dunns bar staff looked bored and served you as if you were an afterthought through the day but were fine and friendly at night.

Most of the beach bar staff were great however one had a terrible attitude. Desroy was fantastic.

The entertainment area is half inside and half outside. Very well done and plenty of entertainment on at night however when it rains at night it doesnt work well.

Just a watch out if it rains - the floors in the room corridors become quite slippy after any showers.

Public toilets had no soap in them for most of our stay. Bit worrying when even the hotel staff use them.

Beach had no umbrellas on them and the palm trees were sparse so if you like shade, you might struggle. The beach was nice but lots of debris and plastics in it.

The hotel has smoking areas but a lot of people just lit up anywhere. No one from the hotel challenged this and there was often a smell of marijuana floating about.

On the whole a great hotel and would recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Marsden72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marsden72,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback!

It was our pleasure to take care of you and we are looking forward to seeing you again in some of our worldwide hotels.

Best regards,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Loved loved loved this hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed here for 11 days and had an amazing time. Our room was big and had a great view of the stay. It was cleaned every day to a high standard, and the bed was comfy with a good shower. My favourite part of the room were the unlimited drinks as we have never had this before!! We had partial sea view from our balcony and it was lovely sitting there in the evenings.

The food was really tasty with great options and some themed nights. The waiters and waitresses worked really hard and were always welcoming.

The pools were a bit cold but we preferred to swim in the sea anyway.

All in all was a great stay, would return for sure.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank saskiawicks95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Saskia,

Thank you so much for the great five star review on TripAdvisor!

Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are very proud of the experience you had.

We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again very soon.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

My wife and I are in our mid 50s and travel a lot to the Caribbean. This was our first time back to Jamaica since our honeymoon 33 years ago.
The following is our opinion and it is only that. I will start by saying I do recommend this resort.
Pros:
Very clean. Staff are up before sun rise cleaning everywhere.

Extremely friendly staff. 99% of the staff go out of their way to give you a smile. I wouldn’t expect 100% as we all have bad days.

Maids were prompts. Our room was cleaned everyday between 11:00 and 1:00.

Balconies have glass railings. The railing allow you to experience great views without having to stand up. We had an ocean view and could watch the cruise ships arriving in Ocho Rios in the mornings.

Designated smoking areas. The beach has a designated smoking area as well as the main entertainment area and the “noisy pool” area. It was nice not having to sit beside smokers everywhere. And my wife is a smoker.

Great food. We have been to many other islands and would rate the food here as one of our best experience with selection and flavour.

Lots of seating. Beach and pool lounger were plenty. Never required securing a place. It was almost comical looking off our balcony before 7:00 and seeing someone had secured 4 lounges by the pool when there were another few hundred still available.

Open air lobby and bar area. When you first arrive and enter the lobby you can see and feel the ocean breeze. Every restaurant has a view of the ocean. You can eat breakfast while feeling the open air and watching the ocean and pool. Also watch more idiots placing their towels on chairs.

Jerk chicken hut. The jerk chicken is a must try. It is served daily in the afternoon as a lunch option. Beware there are no cutlery options and you eat it with your fingers..yummy.

Cons: Keep in mind our age and this is only two people’s opinion.

Too large. There are over 900 rooms. Having traveled as much as we have, we found we prefer the smaller resorts as they seem more intimate. The resort wasn’t too spread out as there were 5 floors in each building.

No service. Don’t expect to be served drinks while lounging by the pool, on the beach or even watching the entertainment in the evening. If you want a drink you need to go to the bar. This may not be a bad thing as you tend to drink less. Also the bartenders are very quick.

Mediocre liquor selection. There are no premium liquor options. The best you are going to get is Appleton special rum, Smirnoff vodka, Gordon gin, Jonnie walker and a Tequila I never heard of. If you want a good liquor to sip on, buy it at the duty free on the way there.

Towel cards. Just sayin, I hate them.

People not using the designated smoking areas. You get them everywhere. People who think no one cares if they stand at the bottom of the stairs leading to the beach and smoke. Cigar smokers doing the same thing at the top of the stairs. One morning we were up early and we saw that some people had used a table top in the main lobby as an ash tray. I am sure the cleaning staff were happy about cleaning that up.

Toiletries. They practically don’t exist. All in one body soap and shampoo in the shower. Two very tiny bars of soap for the sinks. And one shower cap.

Bed. Very large but also way too hard. Only three pillows. A king bed should have 4.

Beach. Beach was ok but not great. It was the windy season when we were there. January 11th to the 18th. Water was rough which made snorkeling useless as the sand was being turned up. The trees along the beach are in the water when at high tide which makes for an adventurous walk. Beach is also very short.

Noisy pool. I am sure the younger crowd might have enjoyed this. The one side of the resort has two pools and is designated as the lively pool. They have two speakers that blast out repetitive beat music. The only time they are turned down is when the entertainment staff are talking through the microphone at the other pool. I feel you don’t need the music blasting that loud. Everyone in the pool were yelling to be heard. The pools on the other side also had music but it was reggae and at a comfortable level. Unfortunately there was no entertainment or food options over there.

Distance from the airport. Expect to be traveling for 1-1/2 hours if you are going directly there. If you are stopping at other resorts expect a 2 hr trip.

Bottom line: nice, clean and friendly resort. Suited for the younger generation.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank 263kevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 263kevino,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the travel community!

We are happy to learn that overall you had a good time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Ocho Rios! We appreciate your kind words and compliments towards most of our products and services. However, we lament that you found some inconveniences that made your stay less enjoyable which we apologize for! We have taken notes of these concerns and suggestions and will share them with our Management team so that they can take them into consideration!

It was our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon in one of our worldwide hotels!

King regards,

Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews