We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed March 2, 2007

My husband and I , along with friends from the Edmonton area met at the Riu Ocho Rios for a annual winter escape from the cold Canadian winter. We stayed there from February 11-25th , and as far as we were concerned, it was a totally wonderful vacation. We arrived in the evening , so the 2hr drive was in the dark , had two stops along the way , the drive is part of the adventure. Peter our driver was very informative re Jamaica and Jamaican history, and we were lucky to have him on the return to the airport , but in the light this time. Getting into Jamaica through Sangster Airport was quick , but our return to Toronto was long, drawn out and very confusing. Have sent a letter to Sunquest Vacations/Skyservice through our travel agent to help deal with this problem. The Jamaican flight service deal with departures, and appeared overwhelmed with five Canadian departures in about a three hour time span! We were greeted with Rum Punch in the lobby , our friends had arrived about 30 minutes before us, so they were there too. Both check in with key cards, towel cards and safe lock and key went quickly, as well as the check out. We had jr suites side by side as requested, suites 1331 & 1332, they are on the 4th floor and are dead center of the suite building overlooking the infinety pool and swim up bar, their balconies were larger than most. The beach was beautiful and the seaweed was cleaned off daily. You will see topless women on the beach , no problem mon , be happy ! The pool on the suite side was lovely too, didn't use the other pool. We prefered to swim in to ocean and the snorkelling was amazing just in front of the hotel, never even used fins. We did go on a snorkelling adventure with Scuba Carib, it was just the 4 of us, the captain Michael and the guide Danish. It was $15 USD each, in a glass bottomed boat , it was over an hour. Scuba Carib is near the Jerk Chicken shack, on the beach near the Plantaion Restaurant. The Jerk chicken, pork and suasages were very tasty, but the hot sauce was too much for me, although I really enjoyed the mild one. The buffet was amazing, imagine Lobster Tails, King Crab Legs, shrimp every day as well , on a buffet. The selection for all meals was varied, try the Jamaican patties, callilo, rice & beans , conch soup, etc too !
There was certainly enough variety to find something you would like, even for picky eaters. We stayed for two weeks as I said earlier and none of us had any problems, if you're not sure, take a little of something to try first. The reservations for the a'll carte could be made by phone, 09-12, and 13-17 hrs, for a few days at a time, wait till mid morning or mid afternoon , and the lines weren't busy. We didn't eat at the Tushima and Sir Richards, those didn't appeal to everyone, but we ate at the others. We went for the 1900 hr sitting and never felt rushed, as there were tables set for the 2100 hr sitting. The entertainment as well as the ice breakers were very good. We saw the Michael Jackson show for our 4th time, the previous three times had been other years in Mexico at another Riu resort, and still enjoyed it . We saw on cockroach on the beach, their natural habitat, some beetles, very large grasshoppers and ants. The hallways are open so don't be surprised to see them and the resort does spray. The rooms were cleaned daily, had some towel animals , but not everyday , although had fresh flowers instead. We didn't use the room bar , although had an occassional soda from our bar frig , it was stocked with beer, soda and tonic water, diet and reg pepsi and orange pop. Try the Ting in the machines, its grapefruit based and very refreshing. The hotel sent us a bottle of Champagne, two flutes, a small bottle of Rum, and a gift for our anniversary on the 14th. They will do something special like this for birthdays as well, had Champagne and a fruit tray in Mexico . The staff were friendly , professional and tried to please everyone . We did leave tips everyday for the maid, the servers at breakfast and dinner , as well as the bar we frequented . Take a cab from the resort and go to Dunn's River Falls, it was an awsome climb, from the ocean , up 1000 feet. Just beware of vendors at Dunn's , they are very pushy , shop in Ocho Rios , you can really bargain. Take USD and you will get USD back for change , never had a problem with leaving money, jewellery, cameras etc in our room safe. All in all we had a wonderful time , spending it with very close friends and a little piece of paradise. This was our fourth trip to a Riu Resort in four years and it was definetley up to our expectations!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank HotMamaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,621 - 7,627 of 8,856 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2007

My girlfriend and I took a getaway to Jamaica and stayed at the Riu Ocho Rios. It was beautiful and the entire stay was top-notch! The rooms were great, the staff was great, the food was more than plentiful, the alcohol is readily-available, and overall it was worth going back to. Here's some tips or things to expect that will make your trip better.

Know the exchange rate and have a cell phone or something with which you can compute it before you pay for anything off the grounds. Also, be aware that there is a significant difference between your buy and sell rate in USD-JA dollars.

Keep ones and fives available for tipping. The people are friendly and wanting for money, which will also provide you the ability and almost the expectation fron them to negotiate.

The bus ride from Montego Bay is awful. Be ready for it. It's not the people and its not the minibusses. It's the roads. Enjoy the view and don't get too fussy. Your destination is well worth the wait. Especially when you look at the condition of the places you pass on the way there. You will let out a great sigh of relief when you pull through the Riu's gate!

Excursions: You will be allocated an excursions rep who will have a table on-site. We worked with Nadine, who was SOOO nice to us! We ended up ruling out the excursions, but later, in realizing we WOULD like to see something of the culture outside the grounds, we went back to Nadine later in the day and just swallowed our pride and were completely candid about how we really wanted to go see some of Jamaica, but really didn't want to be locked into a mass bus tour with set times for everything and a high price. Nadeine got on the phone and called Dwight, a really REALLY nice bus driver who knows the area and knows the roads. Tell Nadine that Ryan and Nichole from Wisconsin sent you to ask specifically for he and Nadeine because he did such a great job when he took us around the island. He'll know who you mean. (He even helped bring us to dinner in town the night before.) (By the way, Dwight is Nadeine's husband!!) For $100 TOTAL, he took us - JUST US - for a day to Bob Marley's home in the hills, the Fern Gully, shopping, and to the Falls! Tip him well, he deserves it, especially considering the fact that each one of those excursions is that price alone!

The shows at night are a good time. Go to them. It breaks up the stay.

Expect postcards sent from the lobby mailbox to take about a month to get to their recipient.

Reserve your ala-carte dinner right away when the desk opens in front of each. You will not get in if you don't and the restaurants are small.

The beach is large and pretty. It is kept secure 24 hours /day and the Riu is the hotel that most of the locals aspire to work at, so enjoy being in one of the best.

The bars close fairly early, (8 or 9pm) so if cocktails are your desire, start earlier thatn you would in the states. The pools also close at that time.

Enjoy your trip and disregard the small minority of folks that didn't like their stay!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank Festy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

well we just got back to NYC a week ago and we miss it terribly :-)

Let me start off by saying we are a family of 4~ 2 adults, a 4yr old and an 8 yr old.
We travel quite a bit and are I guess you could call us somewhat picky in general.

KIDS CLUB~We really wanted an extensive kids club and even though we did our research and even called the resort itself before booking we were told there was an organized kids club, there really wasn't... there is a kids club but no real enticing activities or plans to get the kids to want to be there. My 8 yr old who usually cannot be talked into leaving a kids camp when we go away did not want to go at all. and my 4 yr old would go for maybe an hour a few times and then was way too bored. The staff was patient, sweet & kind with them but they didn't have anything planned and no fun activities going on (they painted rocks almost everyday as the activity of the day :-) Not stimulating at all and actually most kids staying there never even showed up to the kids club at all (there would be like 2-3 kids there at any given time). But that is basically our only complaint of the entire stay. So if you don't have young kids then this place is perfect!!! :-)

FOOD~We are "foody's" we enjoy only good quality food and dine out in NYC at fine / gourmet restaurants quite often (we really do admit that we are food snobs and are picky :-). But we loved the food at the Riu (especially the authentic Jamaican dishes (I am not Jamaican but my God parents are Jamaica as was my step dad so I know Jamican food quite well). It was great!!! The quality was wonderful and there was always something for everyone in our family to choose from. So thumbs up for the Food. :-)

Also, I don't know what all the fuss is about...we had no problem making reservations. And dining out in the restaurants was fun but we didn't think the quality of food was any different it was just fun to get dressed up and get served our dinner in a "fine" restaurant instead of eating a buffet meal. But the food was good everywhere.


THE HOTEL - The ride form the airport is pretty bad but it is worth it (when you get the the Riu it makes it all worth the long bumpy ride). This check-in was fine. Room was lovely (we didn't like the mattresses~they were not comfortable but not horrible either) & we got 2 full beds instead of a king but nothing major. Our room 1224 was facing the adult pool and ocean and it was nice and quiet and not too far from the main pool. It was in the perfect location for us. It is large (and usually we like a bit smaller resorts) but after a couple of days it feels homey.

BEACH & POOL - The beach is gorgeous. There were plenty of chairs and it was glorious. The pool was also amazing (we stayed at the main pool most days since we have the kids and most kids were there but there is a quieter pool if you want a more relaxing swim). We do not get up early (usually left the room at about 9am and went to eat breakfast and got the the pool at about 10am and always found seats (we had to drag a single seat to where we wanted to be a few times but we always found seats~no problems at all)!

THE STAFF - truly some of the hardest working people we have come across on our travels. They are all young and energetic and seem to truly love and appreciate their jobs. I never caught them making fun, looking annoyed or being unfriendly to any of the guests. They were kind and patient and never did anything with a tip in mind (because even though we tipped they had no way of knowing what if anything we were going to give them). They were all so wonderful (BOOM BOOM in the kids club was so sweet and Nya was also special). They were all great!


ENTERTAINMENT - The shows give you something to do. They are not Broadway to say the least but they try very hard and they were entertaining. The kids loved them and were the highlight of their days. The casino also lacked but it was also something to do (no atlantic city or vagas but it was fun for a little while).

feel free to e-mail me if you have any questions :-) notsara@aol.com

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank sariavalaipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

We stayed at the Riu Ocho Rios from Feb 19-25, 2007. Originally we had booked a Sunquest vacation out of Halifax to the new Bahia Principe but because it is not really ready for guests, we were moved to the Riu for our holiday. One of the charter airlines that Sunquest uses is Canjet and we will not be booking anymore vacations when they are the carrier. They started out being 4 hours late for departure (with two excuses) and 2 hours late when we left Jamaica. Add to that the fact that you have to PAY to get a DVD player to watch a small assortment of movies or canned TV sitcoms ($10.00 EACH), we will definitely be avoiding them in the future.

So instead of arriving at our resort at a decent hour like 8 PM, we didn't get to our room until 1 AM! I was not looking forward to the long bus ride to our resort after reading the reviews of how bad the roads were but I really couldn't understand what all the complaints were about. My biggest problem was with the extra guy on the bus who immediately asked if anyone wanted a beer! It was midnight and we had just spent 5 hours at the airport and another 5 hours on the plane! I just wanted to go to bed. Of course SOMEONE had to have a beer so our trip was delayed by another 10 minutes while we stopped at an ESSO station and stocked up. These beer were being sold for $3.00 US each. Anyway, the road IS under construction but only about 20 minutes of the 1 1/2 hour drive was on unpaved road. Basically they were driving on the side of the road which was dirt and gravel so it certainly wasn't THAT bumpy.

The bus driver also asked for a tip before we even got on the bus! Anyway, we arrived at the resort and the check in was very fast and efficient. They were all waiting for us with a cold glass of fruit punch and we had our keys, etc within about 5 minutes and then were whisked off to our rooms with a bellboy leading the way.

Now on to the resort highlights.

BEACH - Just lovely, cleaned of seaweed every morning and lots of shade from palm trees and other trees. Unfortunately there are no palappas on the beach or umbrellas. This resort only has umbrellas for shade and they are only around the pool area. There were very few rocks although there was one area out by the buoys where there was a small coral outcrop and lots of colourful fish.

ROOMS - We had the regular room with two beds and it was quite nice, nothing special. There were a liquor dispensor with four different types of hard liquor which was refilled every two days and the fridge had water, beer, diet and regular pop. There was no coffee machine but that was not a problem for us.
The beds were very hard but I find that the norm with most Caribbean resorts. The place was spotless and the maid service excellent. The air conditioning was very good and stayed on even when you left the room.

POOL: The pool was very clean but it was a bit on the cool side for the first few days (colder than the ocean) but I think that was due to the fact that we had cloudy weather. It was much warmer at the end of the week. Most of the pool is taken up with built in seating or lounging seats and really not meant for serious swimmers. The pool bar was very nice.

POOL AREA: It was hard to find a spot where the music was not annoyingly loud when they were doing aerobics, etc. but that is often the case. A lot of the sun umbrellas had lost the metal key to put them up and there were a lot of "stands" with no umbrellas at all. We usually got to the pool early to make sure we got a good spot and working umbrella.

FOOD: Well, I guess everything can't be great. The food was a disappointment. No imagination when it came to selection. The pork chops were about 1/4 inch thick, overcooked and half fat. Mostly I lived on fruits and french fries. The best item was the leg of lamb they had one night. My husband lived on the omelettes and freshly cooked pasta for the whole trip. I thought I would be safe with hard boiled eggs but the second day my eggs (when cracked) turned out to be practically raw. We didn't try any of the specialty restaurants but I did hear complaints about the service at one.

We didn't bother going into town to shop because I had heard that the vendors are very pushy, etc. and we had several shops at our resort. We were warned NOT to accept any offers of walking tours around Ocho Rios because there are no such thing and you could be mugged, robbed or worse.

We took an excursion to Dunns River Falls and it was lots of fun although the reef snorkeling was a rip off. The "reef" is about 20 feet off the shore from the falls and has been so overused that there are few fish to see plus it is a "tour" so you have to follow the leader rather than do your own thing.

We don't plan to return to Jamaica but I would say that this resort is very nice for anyone going to the area.

Chris Duchesne, Nova Scotia

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris Duc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

My hhubby and I just returned on Feb 12th from this hotel and it was wonderful. We arrived on the 5th late in the evening and we're escorted to our bus ride(which was the worst part of our trip, but quickly forgotten once at the hotel). The ride was long(2 hours) and the roads are all under repair, and the driver was scary. Once at the hotel, we were greeted with drinks and smiles and a quick efficient check in.
Rooms: We were ungraded very easily(with a prior email requesting this) to a JR. suite. The room was clean, spacious and no funny smells. I loved the shower/bathtub, which gave a great shower and jacuzzi bath. Lots of towels( but did need some more fabric softener, but that was OK, just a minor suggestion). The maid always gave extra towels if asked and very helpful and friendly.The fridge was always stocked but we didn't really use the mini bar, but was available.
Pool area: We didn't spend much time at the pool except for one day, but did swim in the infinite pool once and the other pool(near the Plantation resturant )due to a sunburn. We figure if you're going to go that far why spend time at a pool that you could spend at home. Pool's are clean, and water is refreshing. Lots of chairs but sometimes difficult to find one. Get there early.
Hotel: the hotel is very grand in scale. The whole hotel/foyer/ halls are open with no windows. The ceilings are high, and everyhting is always clean;someone is always cleaning.
Resturant: The food is OK according to me(but I am picky). I mean I could always find something to eat, and there was always a large selection. I enjoyed breakfast the most;it had my favorite fodds-eggs, tomatoesbrolied with cheese, bacon, lots of fruit. Mammee bay was a good place for breakfast-not as busy as St Ann's. The gourmet Sir Richard's did leave something to be desired. My hubby had no problem finding foods to eat, and the selection was large.Sometimes difficult to get staff to get drinks other times fine.
Drinks: Lots to choose from, and Edmund at bar on the beach was the best. I can hear him singing right now. Everyone is so friendly, but Edmund always happy and helpful. All the alcohol you want, you want more rum added, No Problem. Each bartender has there own specialty. Its good.
Beach; Beautiful and peaceful. I just loved lying on my lounge chair. The beach was clean and the snorkelling was good . We snorkelled almost eveyday. The best was early in the morning because as time went on the seadoos came and other water sports and less opportunity to see things. But we still saw lots of interesting things. The beach was long(not like the sandals beach next store-tiny). Water sports were OK except for rental deposits. It was annoying to get to sports rental place and then find out you needed a $25 deposit each to rent scuba gear, but other then that, the equipment was OK and the kayaks were fine.
We took a sea-doo out(not part of hotel) and it was $35 for 30 mimnutes. The security on the beach is relaxed to strict; but we never really got bothered by vendors.
Services/Extras- The stores are overpriced, and lack variety. The internet in the store near St Ann's was reasonable, and its helps with keeping in touch with home. Get a massage next door to hotel, its $40 instead of $90.
Tips-Take US $1 with you for tips(which everyone excepts) as you won't be able to get them easily at store/etc. We took $50 in 1's and use all over the week. We took cash with us (US) and it helped-unsure of traveller check useage. Visa/MC can be used.
Took insulated mugs with us for drinks and helps keeps drinks cold on beach. We booked our trip to Dunn's Riveer with resort and it was good and we enjoyed it and it was half the price of Cool Runnings. Our trip included snorkeling also. Take water shoes with you if you plan on doing Dunn's River Falls. if you are not able to climb or aren't steady on your feet, skip Dunn's River.
I think that's it. I would definitely go back to this resort. We enjoyed our vacation, and it was relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank ElectricRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We have just arrived home to a snow storm, the ROR was an beautiful place. The Resort is very large and very pretty, we had a standard connecting rooms for my wife and our two teenage kids 14/16. Although we had requested a King bed for us and two double fo the kis we ended up with rooms both with two doubles, aftering being reasuured it was the way we requested. They offered to upgrade us the next day but we decided to stay in our room and waste any time moving.

The only two things I can say about this is that they had no iron in the room and the daily cleaning was OK , clean but little thing where left out (hand towels, put TP on the holder). Other than very minor things I could have no complaints about the rooms at all.

The food it self was what I expected for the buffets, they are very large and you can always find something the will please you. My kids loved the burgers, pizza, fries. I know, go to a foriegn country and eat the same as at home. As for my wife and I we ussually do not do buffets and we where OK with these.

The reservatrion system at the other resturants is not that bad at all. The day we arrived I called at 2pm or so and set up our first three nights at the Plantation, Mamme Bay and the Asian. We also the made reservation the next two nights at Sir Johns, and another at the Plantation, these had to be done on the day of and although you do have to keep redialing I was through in no more than 11 mins.

Sir Johns was the best by far, the only thing I could suggest is they need a wine list that you can make seperate purchase of wine for you meal as the house white is undrinkable and the red is just palatable. We ended up purchasing Champagne from the resort for our on the beach evening drinks. Over all the buffets are good, not great, but Sir Johns is very good.

The Jamaicain people are some of the friendliest people we have ever met, they are very respectful and althought they have no issues to ask you if you want buy anything, all it take is a polite no and they do not ask again. If you treat them with respect you will be treatted the same. My kids where on the beach every night and never once had a problem, we always felt safe.

I would suggest to any one going that the call Norma Villers at Lees Taxi and Tours, her and her staff will take fantastic care of you. I booked them instead of using our tour opperator to get to the resort and Richard was there to meet us and gave a guided tour to the resort telling us many unique fact about the various sites and the culture along the way.

We then used them for a full day to go to Nine Mile, Fern Gully, Ocho Rios and Dunns River Falls. Richacrd again gave us a fantastic insite into the area and culture. We felt safe at Nine Mile and he made sure no one bothered us as we were not interested in the local products being sold. Fren Gully is beautiful and Dunns River is a great time.

I would have no isues in recomending this resort!! If you wish to do any tours email Norma Villers at Lees Taxi and Tours. Norma's service is exceptional and absolutly second to none.

Overall Jamaica is a beautiful place and the people are absolutly wonderful.

Stayed: February 2007
17  Thank GHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Just got back last night after a 1 week stay at the Riu Ocho Rios.
I've stayed at all inclusive resorts before. This one ranks highly...mainly because of the staff and of the a-la-carte restaurants.
I'll break down areas for you:

SUNQUEST - The tour operator we used. The flight (Skyservice)was late leaving Toronto...so we were late arriving at the resort. The flight home was late leaving Ocho Rios....by a substantial time frame. Our on-site rep (Sunquest) was busy doing new orientations, which required stand-ins from individuals who were not familiar with how to even use a credit card machine. It took an exceedingly long time to book a simple pre-arranged excursion. My biggest complaint about Sunquest was that the hotel requires ALL GUESTS check out of their room by noon.....and our flight home wasn't until 10:00pm.....yet no one from Sunquest thought we should know this..until our Orientation at the hotel.

We booked the Dunn's River Falls excursion through our Sunquest rep.....and were told to be in the lobby for 10:00am...which we were....as well as several other people. The bus company (Tropical Tours) did not send a big enough bus for everyone...so some (us included) had to wait for a 2nd bus...which still couldn't fit everyone on it. The rep. for Tropical Tours (Carol) was great and stepped in and took our group of 4 to the falls in her car. Surprising service and greatly appreciated.

I read another review that said it would be better to hire a cab and get there before the crowds...and if I went back, I would go this route. The falls themselves take about 15 minutes to climb...but because of the enormous crowds...what could be a quick climb takes about and hour and a half. It is NOT strenusous at all...but be prepared to get wet !!!

THE HOTEL - This resort has check-ins down pat. They were well prepared and all rooms were preassigned...it was just a matter of standing in line (while they serve you rum laced drinks) to get your key, towel cards and locks. We upgraded to the Junior Suite.....great room...spacious and well laid out. I've read complaints about noise levels but I never heard noises once in the room. The "resort" is not one of the typical spreadout kinds that are popular..this one is pretty compact...and the layout makes sense. 2 separate areas...the "upgraded" section is clearly the quieter side.

FOOD - Nothing to write home about, standard fare for a resort. What elevated this hotel were the a-la-cartes. The Japanese is by far the best...followed closely by Sir Richards. The Chinese restaurant didn't have enough food on the buffet...and they were in no hurry to replenish empty serving trays...but the food wasn't that great anyways. Mammee Bay (the steakhouse) was outstanding!

Only complaint about the buffets wasn't about the food...it's about morons who do not understand the concept of waiting in a line. Most meals are buffets....yet some people do not think that they have to stand in line with everyone else...and can just barge in and take what they want. Another pet peeve...is people who touch the food with their hands then don't take it!!! Observed this on several occassions.

Also, I don't know what all the fuss is about...we had no problem making reservations.

BEACH - The beach is no where as expansive as in Negril. You can walk the resorts beach in about 10 minutes from end to end. On our first day there was a heavy windstorm and the following day the staff were on the beach trying to clear it of seaweed.....but by the end of the week...it still wasn't clean.

There were no problems finding a place to lay on the beach...there were plenty of chairs. Finding a place by the pool wasn't as easy as there people who put their towels on a chair and wander off for bkfst..and come back and hour or two later.(they're probably the idiots who also cut in line at the buffets).

THE STAFF - Great...always smiling and very friendly. They really couldn't do enough to make your stay more peasurable (other than giving a late check-out...LOL)

ENTERTAINMENT - Cheesy to say the least...but children seemed to like it. We left after a short tiem frame.

The beach party on Friday nights is great !!!

All in all, I was pleased with the resort and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jimbo1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,336 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,508 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,275 reviews
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 80 in Negril
5,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $221 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing