We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Great Food and a nice beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I went to the Riu with my girlfriend and we had a great time. Listed below are my Pros and Cons;

Pros:
Clean Rooms
Clean Hotel
Great Staff
We always could find a chair on the beach (Could be the season, less people?)
A reef really close off the beach (Bring mask and snorkel)
Great food
Drinks aren't watered down
Pool was really nice with a swim-up bar

Cons
Entertainment was lacking: I'm not that young but the soft slow mellow sounds of the 70's after dinner, just put me to sleep. However on one night they had a beach party and that was really great.

Tips
-Bring US dollars to tip staff. It helps get you better service and honestly the people there deserve it.
a) I tipped the person who made me Omlettes every morning
b) Tipped the servers at all meals
c) Tipped the bartenders
d) Tipped Taxi and Bus drivers

-Check out the Reef by the Adult Beach (Bring mask and snorkel)
-Do take some trips away from the hotel. Use the Taxi drivers, it's better than the tour, because you don't have to wait for everyone to get on the bus.
-Bring your own insulated drink cups.

Room Tip: -Pay extra for the Adult Wing...much quieter if you don't have kids ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary_Francois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,317 - 3,323 of 8,812 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Me and my family stayed at riu ocho rios from 4th April-15th April and i would like to say this was an amazing holiday. From Montego Bay airport the bus journey is about 1hour 15 mins approx (depends on the traffic). when you reach to the resort they give you an cool refreshing drink, the check in is nice and quick and they offer you to take your bags up to your room they do expect a tip.The room is huge and very clean, they give you a white sheet with all the television you are able to watch. The cleaners do an excellent job with keeping the room clean and restocking the bar. The food was fab loads to chose from and very and i mean very tasty.
The pool is massive with an nice view of the beach, on the left is a swim up pool bar with some tables and 2 Jacuzzi's, the bartenders are really friendly and are really quick to make your drinks. There are plenty of sunbeds but if you want a good spot to sunbath i recommended to go before you eat breakfast, the sunbeds on the pool deck are much more comfy than the sunbeds in the beach. The entertainment crew where AMAZING! (minime, george, kelly, keston and more) they are so talented. They do activities o the beach like volley ball, horse shoe throwing etc. and at 12 oclock Keston does water aerobics for everyone to join in and have fun. At 3oclock all the entertainment crew do an on deck show where they get people with red bands to plays games like beer drinking competitions, dancing competitions, arm wrestling etc they are really funny and enjoyable to watch. They so shows also on the stage like africa dancing, dancers from Cuba and let people from the resort to join in a do games. They have a kids club for your children which my younger brother and others really enjoyed. The beach is very clean and there are men who give you coconuts to drink. Next to the pool is a large restaurant which give you a lunch buffet, you can also go to the Italian restaurant which is delicious! Also on the beach is a jerk chicken hut which with you bbq jerk chicken with rice and peas. The hotel staff are extremely friendly. i would recommend this hotel to anyone. I would also recommend going dunns river and dolphin cove where you swim with dolphins also horse riding in the sea they are such amazing experiences. Love this hotel and will return again soon! Will miss the entertainment crew so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mccole99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The world is better with a smile on your face!
I travelled to Riu Ochio Rios with my best friend for her 25th bday. Just 2 ladies! April 3- 10 2014

Traveling- The bus is a long ride from the airport your in for a long ride. If you're travelling from Toronto expect to get to the hotel for around 6:30pm. Check in was fast and easy. NO PROBLEM MON

Weather- Beautiful breeze so your not scorching hot, it rained once for 20 mins. 29-30 degrees everyday and its not cold at night.

People- Jamaicans are wonderful people. They are caring and accommodating and respectful. They want all tourists to have the best time in Jamaica because its their number one money maker. They go out of their way to help you with anything. LEAVE THE RESORT and experience the country. You are completely safe (my friend and I are both young females and we had no issues). We found out that if a traveler has a problem with a local the min penalty is 3 months in jail. There is NO PROBLEM MON! Jamaican's are polite and peaceful people who live by a "love is love" and "no problem" live style.

Hotel- The hotel is beautiful its a medium sized hotel compared to the huge hotels in Cuba or Dominican. Everything is central. Lots of Bars, restaurants, shops and the pools are beautiful. I wouldn't personally pay for the more expensive side unless you want complete privacy. The main pool was just the right amount of busy. The Wifi is available in the loby for a free hour anytime. Once you log on you have an hour. Or you can buy a package and pay more.

Room- The double room is two beds pushed together. There is a alcohol and bar fridge in the room, hair dryer, full length mirror, shampoo and body wash in one, a drying rack on the balcony, iron and ironing board, TV and air conditioning. The beds were a bit hard for my liking but I didn't have issues sleeping. We had an issue with the toilet running so we just lifted the handle each time and went on with the day.

Travellers- A mix of Canadians, Americans and British... there was an issue with a group of young Americans on spring break who got sick in the pool one day. The hotel closed the pool for cleaning and it was open the next morning. We met the best British families who we will stay in touch with for years to come.. Lovely people and cute cute kids!

Entertainment- I'm a professional dance coach and the entertainment was AMAZING! well done to all the dancers and singers in the night shows...very well put together and entertaining. The pool entertainment was great, they got people involved and having a great time. My friend and I participated in boys vs girls at the pool (GIRLS WON) and I participated in the arm wrestling competition (yes I lost in the finals, Im still dealing with it lol). GOOD TIMES!

Pool- Get a chair early with your towel. I recommend going before breakfast. Its a huge pool and there are lots of seats that you can move around. There are built in lounges in the pool, and they are great! Pool bar is great!

Beach- the beach is stunning and there are lots of chairs. the water is warm but has a bit of seaweed in it. Its not the longest strip of beach so its good for short walks.

Food- This is a Coca Cola hotel :) :) :)

Breakfast... Eggs, Bacon, Ham, sausages, omelets, Fresh Juices, yogurt, regular cereals, breads, fruit ect

Lunch... Get the jerk chicken on the beach !!! every lunch, they run out so dont wait.

Dinner... There were so many options. Buffet line ups were because people were polite enough to wait their turn. The resort was at full capacity and we never had to wait more then 3 mins in line. There are several restaurants that you need a reservation. We ate at the steak house.. YUM

Excursions- If you can bring a water camera or a waterproof case.. youll need it or you wont be able to take photos on the excursions.

Catamaran & Dunn River Falls- Good times!. Quick 20 min boat trip to the falls. Its a very long walk up the falls so fun and beautiful. If you have problems walking don't go. On the way back you stop to snorkel for 45 mins. Total Cost per person $50 for the tour (book at the beach for this price) and $15 for water shoes (which you NEED, no, sandals or your own shoes wont work, you can buy them at the beach!).

BLUE HOLE- GO TO BLUE HOLE!!! its not run by the government and not on the tourist attraction list. Get a Cab it was $100 for up to 4 people price includes there and back. You pay a $10 tip per person for your guide who takes you through all the things and safely guides you and assists you around. Its stunningly beautiful, cliff jumping, rope swings, waterfalls, caves, swimming .. Ive attached photos. Total cost per person $35-60 depending on how many people you have

Margaritaville (Jimmy Buffets)--- SO fun, its a local club with pop, hip hop and reggae music. There is a pool and slide. We went on a Wednesday which was a $25 charge and all you can drink. The locals don't bother you. They will ask to dance and if you say no they leave you alone. It was the tourists who cant take no for an answer.


TO CONCLUDE MY REVIEW... Its Jamaica from now on!
Riu Ochio Rios RULES!

Room Tip: I would come to Jamaica over Dominican, Mexico and Cuba any day -- YA MON!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank KatielH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Riu Ocho Rios in April 2014. Unfortunately, our holiday did not start as well as we had hoped for as my suitcase got lost. However, Pauline, the amazing rep, was fantastic and quickly solved the problem and upgraded us to the most beautiful suite for the inconvenience. The day of our wedding was wonderful - even better than we could have imagined. The best part was it was completely stress free- would definitely recommend a wedding abroad. The hotel it's self is stunning- especially the 2 swim up bars. The jerk chicken is also a must! Overall it was a brilliant holiday that we will never forget. We hope to go back for our anniversary soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckywatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spacious clean rooms, attentive staff, beautiful beach and pool with lots of activities. Buffet was very good, something for everyone. Attended a destination wedding, and it was also beautiful. Would return any day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Riu from March 30 to April 6-2014 . This was our first time to Jamaica and our first time to a Riu resort and would definitely recommend both . We travelled with another couple and stayed in the adult side of the resort. We flew with Sunwing and were worried about some of the other reviews about this carrier but everything was fine . We arrived an hour early and the bus ride was less than 1.5 hours. The check in process was quick and painless. Our room was very nice, there was a slight musty odor but we didn`t notice it after awhile. We loved the well stocked fridge and liquor dispenser. We paid for an oceanview room but probably wouldn`t again as our view was disappointing. We faced the building beside the resort with only a slight view through some trees of the ocean. The food was really good. At breakfast, the lineups at peak times around 9:00 am were very long. You had to be very patient. Some people would cut in front of you in the line aswell. Lunch and supper were always good. Like most buffets, it got repetitive. We ate at the Japanese and Steakhouse Ala Carte restaurants and really enjoyed both. The jerk chicken hut on the beach was excellent. The hot sauce wasn`t really that hot. The beach was very nice and we never had a problem finding a chair. The pool on the adult side was alot of fun. The pool side waiter service was hit and miss but the line up at the bar by the pool was never long. The lifeguards cleaned the pool a few times during the week. Evening entertainment was also hit and miss. The staff did the best they could with the props and resources that they had. They were really good at getting the crowd involved. There was a live band playing usually before and after the show. There was also a steel drum band playing on most nights. We found almost all of the staff really good throughout the week. The only complaints we have is that the ice machines on the adult side never worked and never had ice in them. Also, we would have liked to have a coffee machine in the room. Overall, we loved our stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from April 7, 2014- April 14, 2014. From the airport the bus ride was approx. 90 minutes.Check-in was quick, we stayed in the Standard room.

Our room was nice and clean, however the last few days our AC was not pumping out cold air and by the last night it was completely off. We complained the first day we realized it was not working properly and reception told us they will send someone up. They sent someone up and he did check out the AC and he told us he was going upstairs to check and we did not hear anything back. The second day we called and went downstairs to reception and complained and they kept telling us they will send someone up but no one came. Just before dinner we went back to reception and I think she was the 'desk supervisor' she told us it was a building problem and they are working on it (AC was not working when we left). That was the only complaint we had regarding our room. Due to bad weather (or pipe bursting) in the buffet area it was closed for a day due to carpet being wet they had to clean up etc.

Breakfast was amazing, lots to chose from. Dinner was good at the buffet it was almost the same every night, they might change up a couple of things. Mandalay buffet and the Steakhouse was alright, not the greatest. I liked the buffet more. We sat on the same spot for dinner the first few nights our server was great, she was always smiling and asked us if we wanted refills. On our last night our server for dinner did not pick up our plates or asked us if we would like anything to drink. He was standing there the whole time in one corner just talking to the other servers, we had to ask him to take our plates and glasses. Some of the alcholic beverages were watered down at the bar.

I'm not really sure why people would get up so early to reserve chairs by putting their towels down and going off somewhere. If you want to stay at the pool I suggest waking up early and reserving chairs, otherwise you can go to the beach. A few guys walked around the beach offering coconuts to guests, they basically cut it open and give you a straw to drink out of it. The Jerk Chicken Hut is located there as well it is a pink hut, can't miss it. Our first day at the beach a vendor was trying to sell us seashells and one of the RIU security spotted him and was telling him to leave and when the vendor argued back he threw a coconut at him and the vendor just continued to swim away. Other than that the beach was always clean and there's activities going on there in the morning. By afternoon time activities are moved to the pool area.

We went on a few excursions. We went to Negril. We were not warned that from Ocho Rios it was 3 hours. We went to a beach in Negril, did some shopping, and went to Rick's Cafe. We left at 7:30 am and did not return to our hotel until 9:30 pm. We went to Mystic Mountain: we did zip lining, bobsledding, and spent time in the infinity pool (the view was amazing) to get from the bottom to top and vice versa you have to ride the Sky Explorer which was great because of the view as well. We went to Dunn's River and we climbed up the falls; there are a few exits for those who chose not to continue climb. We booked all our excursions through hotel approved vendors.

Overall, I am quite pleased by this hotel and its service. I do reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NurseViolet89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,323 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,454 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,255 reviews
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $219 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing