We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,500)
Filter reviews
9,500 results
Traveler rating
3,332
3,323
1,606
742
497
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,332
3,323
1,606
742
497
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jerk hut deluxe side sir richards sports bar plantation restaurant jerk chicken mammee bay junior suite main buffet dunns river specialty restaurants safe key gourmet restaurant cool runnings musty smell entertainment staff towel cards
Filter
Updating list...
3,972 - 3,977 of 9,500 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Ok----5th annual March Break trip with our gang (4 families). First time at a Riu resort and 2nd Jamaica visit this time with kids.
1/ Transport to hotel goes direct about 1.5hr or book "Joe Cool". He is awesome and does some great and personalized private tours (very safe).
2/ Reception- Best and quickest ever.
3/ Resort- Rooms small. Resort lovely. The CLEANEST resort we have ever been to!!!!!!
4/ Food- Great variety. Tip: If the hotel is busy, get to eat early as lineups are huge and refills take a bit. Extraordinary seafood! fabulous jerk hut outside beach.
5/ Beach- Private, clean & lovely with lifeguards! (Shout out to Eric!).
6/ Drinks- On the watered side---first time ever. Tip: Ask for alcohol separately to do own mix. Alcohol bottles in room- nice touch.
7/ Free Wifi for 90 min /day in lobby. Nice touch!
8/ Kids club- Ok. Best for kids 8 and under. Not the best but friendly staff.
9/ Staff- Very friendly for most part. The majority loved our kids!!
10/ Entertainment- Daytime- Pretty good. Shout out to Pim the lead entertainer with the most energy I have seen! No real comment for first time in long time for rest of team.....
Night time entertainment- Performed by mostly same people as the day- no real dance troupe (except Melvin) as in Cuba or Dominican. Not suitable for young kids except for mediocre kids disco at 7....Overall kids entertainment not really there....
11/ Spa- Nice and quaint. Lovely staff. Best manicure ever!!!
Love to go back to Jamaica but want to try something new. Ya man.

Room Tip: Corner suites are far, far less to walk. Higher floor better view of ocean and surroundings.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pantelitsa0468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The resort was lovely. We are a a family with 2 school-agers. There was always new foods to try and we never had a bad meal. The service was impeccable. Entertainment was surprisingly good-the entertainment crew works incredible hard and it shows!

Our room was always clean and restocked. The pool and beach were lovely.

We used the sporting/water equipment daily. The staff were very helpful and careful to instruct well. I would prefer to see new life jackets purchased and available-specifically for children. There were only 2 on the beach and they were worn out. They were needed for when we took the kids out on the sailboat, kayak and paddle boats. We would have also like the option to borrow them when we borrowed snorkelling equipment.

We booked our Dunn's river and snorkelling tour directly from the resort vs sunwing-$50 cheaper and still insured (though sunwing let grp believe only they had the insurance). Boat trip went well, staff were delightful. Only 5 sets of snorkelling equipment worked-the boat held 25 people that day. They did not have childrens life jackets on board- though they said they did.

Things to bring:water shoes for dunns river tour and for is you want to snorkle closer to reefs. We brought little gifts to leave our housekeeping staff-and we got personal thank yous. Bring a pile of $1 bills for tipping-it is expected when you take a taxi/bus, borrow the water equipment etc.

Room Tip: We had a garden view and enjoyed it-it was quiet and a lovely view. People who had requested ocean views said they wouldn't bother next time because the trees blocked their view anyhow.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheFourOfUs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I recently travelled to Jamaica for the first time this March. I was part of a group of 30 people who were there fro a wedding. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The beach was sandy and spacious. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The beds were a bit hard, but other than that everything was great. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Garden view was lovely and very quiet at night, and honestly, who spends much time in their room when they're in Jamaica?!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaimie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Check in was smooth and quick, no line and we upgraded to a junior suite in the deluxe side with a huge balcony.
Rooms were spacious, lovely and well equipped. There should have been more than 2 chairs on our balcony as it was very big and there was lots of room for more.
The layout of the resort is great, everything was so close and convenient yet I never felt crowded, Never had to play the towel game with loungers, never had a problem getting 10 together after breakfast. The beach was quite long, perfect warm turquoise water and a reef for snorkelling right in front of the resort. Swim a couple minutes and you have a beautiful reef and assortment of tropical fish. There are palm trees scattered on the beach which provides nice natural shade area, much more appealing than umbrellas.
The food quality and choice was excellent, I am not a buffet fan but this was top notch, always fresh, very good, huge selection and varied everyday. Lots of fresh stations and staff were wonderful, also never had to wait more than a minute for anything. Wish there were cappuccino's in the buffet and breakfast but the ones from the sports bar were great. The Jerk shack on the beach was just AWESOME, best jerk I have ever has, along with fresh fish, rice and other sides, never had to leave the beach to eat lunch.
The entertainment crew throughout the day were engaging and entertaining and there was a good variety of activities and sports. Beach side massage for $50 for 50 min was an amazing deal and an excellent massage, i could have done this every day.
The bar staff was terrific, they made great drink recommendations, had no problem filing huge orders for our group of 10 very quickly and always with a smile. The drinks here are really really good, too good maybe. My favourite is the 'dirty banana' soooo good.
The Steak house was the best a la carte, and it really was a great steak house, and all other were quite good, except the Japanese, I wasn't very impressed with the food in that one and I would skip it in favour of others. Even though there is no bar in the a la carte's we were always brought any drink we wanted from dry martini's to blended drinks to bourbon on the rocks, the staff would go to the bar and bring us whatever we wanted to our table.
There was free wifi throughout the deluxe side, even at the beach which was great for keeping in touch and even streaming music. The grounds were lovely and lush, well kept, clean and manicured. The towel shack never ran out and was always open when I needed it. The mini bar and liquor dispenser in our room was well stocked with a good variety.
The ONLY thing that I could even slightly complain about that at night the only entertainment was the main show and the only bars open were right beside the main show, it would be nice to have another lounge with live music somewhere else on the property.
In closing I am now a RIU convert, I have stayed at many AI's and this was my first time at a RIU and I can say with certainty it will not be my last.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe side as it is worth it. For excursions the Blue Hole is by far the best place to visit for an off the beaten path jungle waterfall/swimming hole experience.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice little beach, limited in length, the food is great, place is clean, and beautiful. But the building is showing age, the alcohol is all generic stuff, zero premium! So all the drink are not that good, fade. As for the choice of restaurant is good, the buffet too. A lot of activities are offered, and the massages are great by qualified staff. The gym is ok. I would suggested to take the adult section, quiet with own bar and all. The hotel is 1 1/2 hours from the airport. Its at 10 minutes of taxi for the Ochos Rios village from the hotel. Same goes for the falls. Beach is clean but short.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JF_scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews