We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our first stay at a Riu resort Jan 2014 with a stay of nine days. From the start the it was a good experience. Travel to the resort from the airport takes about an hour and a half. We stopped along the way to see some sites. Upon arrival at the resort check in was fast and easy. Our room was clean with a great view of the ocean. The food at the buffet was good as were the resturants. This is not a five star resort but for the money, it was, for us a very good deal. I have no complainants regarding our stay here. My daughters wedding went off without a hitch and everyone had a good time. The wait staff at the wedding along with everyone else working at the resort did a good job. The jerk chicken at the beach was great a must do there was never a very long line. The only issue I had was outside the resort where every where you went in Jamaica they had their hand out wanting money, this got very annoying other than that great stay.

Room Tip: Don't go on the Bob Marley tour unless you like the local herb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westjordantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,483 - 3,489 of 8,858 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Wife and I just returned from 10 days at the RIU in Ochi spent with my sister and brother-in-law . Wife and I had never been to an all inclusive so we were not sure what to expect. We booked a deluxe ocean view room on the adult side, requesting an upper level room, close to our travel companions. We stayed in room 1413 and sister was in 1413. These are fourth floor rooms with a very nice balcony which appeared to be a little bigger than the other balconies. Upon check in we were given a lock and key for the room safe along with two key cards to the room and two pool towel cards. We also received a short introduction to the hotel layout and suggestion to where we could get some lunch and something to drink while we waited for the rooms to be ready. Check-in was easy with no wait and front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The room was more than we expected with a king bed, double sink bathroom with jetted tub and shower. A sitting area is two steps below the bed and had a couch and tv. An in room small refrigerator was restocked about every other day with beer, soda and water. I need to say here that about two days in to our stay we read where they suggest not drinking the tap water, so we switched to bottled water exclusively. I had made a point to stay hydrated so had already drunk a good amount of tap water but had no ill effects. We saw no bugs in the room our entire stay, contrary to other reviews. The rooms were very clean and remained that way for our whole stay. I know the bed sheets were changed at least once, could have been twice. Plenty of towels for even two showers a day. There were in room bottles of rum, gin, vodka and one other I can't recall. Did not use this much.

The additional cost for the deluxe side was very much worth it. You have two additional restaurants to choose from and you also receive access to an adult only pool which we all felt had more room for direct sunning than the bigger main pool and also had ample shade provided by palm trees or little huts lining the outside of the sunning area. There is also an infinity pool on the adult side which made the whole adult pool complex very beautiful. The swim up bar was wonderful and very popular. A suggestion I would have is to get to the pool early to reserve your preferred location at the pool. It was stated not to reserve pool chairs but a lot of people do it prior to going for breakfast. We did not use the main pool but there are more scheduled activities there along with a swim up bar. This pool is also very beautiful with a lot of palm trees and bird of paradise flowers dotting the landscape.

There are eight restaurants on site and we ate at all of them except for Tushima, the Japanese Restaurant since none of us enjoy Japanese and the reviews had been questionable. The food at all the other restaurants was very good. Our favorite was Sir Richard where we all had a very good steak, cooked just as ordered. Men must wear long pants with a collared shirt. One of the perks of staying on the deluxe side is you are able to make reservations for the restaurants before the main hotel guests. We made reservations the first full day we were there and had no problem reserving the times and restaurants we wanted. The buffet food was very good with a large variety to choose from. Fruit was wonderful. The variety changed a little each day with the obvious favorites offered every day. For breakfast we had made to order omelets along with fresh fruit smoothies and plenty of variety. At each meal the cold food was cold and the hot food was hot. Our favorite place for lunch was the jerk chicken hut on the beach. Be careful of the dark sauce. It is spicy and will kick your butt. Other sauce is much milder and quite sweet. Overall the food was quite a surprise and if gaining 8 pounds is any indication, there is plenty of it.

Others have been critical of the lower quality alcohol served at RIU but we found this not to be a problem. The red wine was not my favorite but it was drinkable. I am certainly not a wine snob but do enjoy a good red wine with a steak. Their red was just ok. Almost all the bar tenders were quite friendly and would mix drinks just as ordered. If we wanted it stronger, no problem. Ask for their specialties and be sure to give an occasional tip. Some bar tenders were very entertaining, especially at the swim up bar. They certainly added to the vacation experience.

Check out was made very easy and took less than a minute. Be sure to have everything issued to you at check-in and you will have no problems.

I need to add a few names of people we thought gave exceptional service. Josie is a waitress/bartender at the swim up bar in the adult pool. She is very friendly and will remember your name for the whole stay, also remembering your favorite drink. She also talked with us about Jamaica and what it is like to live there. We used Jamaican Tours Limited which has an office on property to book two trips in to Ochi for shopping and site seeing. Stacy-Ann was more help than we could ask for. She is so friendly and very helpful. We saw her after our trips to town and each time she wanted to make sure things went well. Look her up if you need any help booking excursions. Another exceptional person was our guide at the Blue Hole named Marvin. We took a taxi from the resort to the Blue Hole and met Marvin who walked us through the whole experience. He was very concerned for our safety and made sure we all had a great time. He carried our cameras and took many pictures so we could all enjoy swimming and jumping into the beautiful pools. Lastly, our favorite person of all the trip was a young man nicknamed "Sunshine" who works for Scuba Caribe. His real name is Damion Whittaker. Sunshine books tours to Dunn's River Falls which includes snorkeling and a catamaran ride to and from the falls. He is so engaging and very honest. Never pressuring us in to a decision. He took a lot of time to talk to us about life in Jamaica and answered numerous questions we all had about the area. We were all impressed with his work ethic and appreciated the time he took to make sure we were having a good time. The catamaran we booked through Sunshine leaves from the beach at the hotel. Scuba Caribe is associated with the hotel but a separate business. The trip to and up the falls is worth it and the snorkeling was a lot of fun.

Overall this was a wonderful place to stay and I would go back again without any hesitation. the people were very friendly and we all felt very safe both at the resort and in the town of Ocho Rios. Bring single dollars to tip with. Not everyone expects to be tipped but it is certainly greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Request a top floor on the deluxe side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AppleGuy440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our first trip to Jamaica and very happy with the Riu hotel. We went from 14 Feb to 21 Feb 14.
Flight - check in went well despite it being pretty busy at the airport. But Sunwing needs to improve on their breakfast. An English muffin with a bit of cheese is what they consider breakfast. Two years ago we got a full breakfast, so what gives.
As for the hotel, we were very happy with their service, check in went well but since we arrived before 3 our room wasn't ready so the staff said to grab a lunch and check back by 3. We did and given our keys. We were on the 4th floor with the elevator across from our room. This was fine but during our stay the elevator kept breaking down. Good thing we could climb stairs but not so good for people in wheelchairs or seniors who couldn't. At least there were two other elevators on the other side. Our room was very clean and well maintained. Bed a bit hard but didn't mind and the pillows weren't lumpy!
We stayed on the adults only side and it paid off. We had access to 5 a la carte restaurants, our own pool and beach area. We even had bar service on the beach. The staff were awesome always happy. Even the front desk were very friendly including the maintenance men.
Food - Fantastic, great variety. Went to two of a la carte restaurants and the food and service was excellent.
Beach - was great but would have preferred to take longer walks. Restricted to about a 10 min walk as there weren't many hotels in our area. No problems with getting lounge chairs or fresh towels.
We did two excursions, Dunn's Falls and Glistening Lagoon. Both were ok, but neither one has food so make sure you bring something. They also reminded us to tip which was a turn off. We took a taxi into town and he was fantastic, more informative than the tour operators.
Overall I would come back.

Room Tip: Go to the delux side garden view. Quiet on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Now to start my rant here for the amount of money I paid for this week, this is the worst all inclusive I have ever stayed at!!! All my clothes and luggage smell musty and mouldy from my room, it will not come out. Buffet was good but way too small for the amount of people at this resort, every time you go up to eat half the trays were empty. Staff was slow with service and at times not friendly. Very disappointed. Will never go to a Riu again and I recommended you don't either.

Stayed: February 2014
10  Thank thordycent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our first holiday in Jamaica was made enjoyable and unforgettable by staying at the Club Riu. Hotel was clean, food fanastic with such a wide range of choice and also bountiful amounts.
Hotel staff always polite and willing to provide a superb service, entertainment staff made you welcome especially George he always took the time to chat we see you and ask if everything was ok.
Our housemaid Charmaine Bailey ensured are room was always clean, fresh towels etc, and was polite and friendly.
Jerk hut was excellent recommendation and delious at lunchtime its a must visit.
Hotel was in prime position for visiting tourist attraction as dolphin cove, mystic mountain, shopping centre taj mahal and dunns falls are only roughly 5-10 drive alway from hotel.
Hotel is set on a lovely white sanded beach with beautiful blue waters which we visited daily.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We visited this resort in 2010 and decided to go back again. Not as good as the first trip but still had a great time. We found the help not quite as helpful as the first time around with the exception of our girl Jaqueline who did a stellar job on our room for the stay, artsy towels and spotless, "military" bed making and no sand when you crawled in after your beach day.
BEACH:
This is where the resort is 5 star, sandy,warm,lots of chairs,shade if you want, sun if you don't. If you are going specifically for snorkeling/scuba you really need to go off the resort, limited snorkeling out in front of the resort, but still some just the same. I spent my days building sand sculptures and meeting all kinds of people from all over the world, this was awesome!
FOOD:
When you are feeding a group of that size quality sometimes tends to suffer, but over all if you went hungry, you had no one to blame but yourself. variety with a good blend of common foods and island specialties could be found anytime of the day.
ROOMS:
Most of the reviews I came across seemed to complain about building three being such a walk. We stayed in this building and found it clean and central to most of our needs, it surrounds the pool, lunch buffet on one side, dinner buffet on the other, pool bar to keep you hydrated and best beach right out front. The only time you really had to walk was to the lobby for excursions and nightly shows, but really, after all that food and drink you will need the exercise and it's not all that far. The rooms themselves have abit of a musty smell, but keep in mind you are in a tropical environment,it's humid,you are going to find this at ANY of the resorts,after a day you won't even notice it. NO roaches, the odd little gecko, me thinks some people just need to B*%&$& about something. Save your money when it comes to the Junior Suites, you aren't there to spend time in the room.
WIFI:
YOU ARE ON VACATION! Free 90 minutes a day is ample! Touch base with home to rub in the fact that you are holding a slushie drink loaded with Appleton's best on a sunny beach and sweating and move on.
Overall we would go again, we go for the 5"B"s, not so much the 5 stars, 5"B"s would be beach, bar, beds, buffet, and ...., I'll leave the last one for your imagination. but a 5 "B" resort for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Been here since 15th, I'm wondering if some of these reviewers were even here. The four of us have been here since Saturday. Everything's been outstanding. I honestly do not have one compliant. Drinks, food ,entertainment,service ,have been excellent. Hotel is right on the beach. What more could you want? If I come to Ocho rios again, I will stay here, no problem mon

Room Tip: We were to late to get an ocean view, but didn't spend a lot of time in room,next time I will bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,515 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,275 reviews
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 80 in Negril
5,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $220 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing