We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice |Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Smiths Falls Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice |Holiday”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We just came back and this was our second visit to this resort and we really enjoyed our stay. We were in the adult side on the 3rd floor. Our room was very clean and there were no bugs of any kind.We used the beach and the pool area in the adult side which is the quiet area. There were servers going around the pool taking drink orders.
We found the staff all very friendly and helpful.The entertainment in the evening was a lot better than some of the other resorts that we have visited.The only complaint I have is the line ups in the evening at the Buffet. In the past Riu had two evening sittings in the Buffet with assigned tables and there were no large lineups as everyone did not come at the same time.However, a lot of guests complained about this arrangement.We only visited Sir Richard's Restaurant but we preferred the Buffet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizjohn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,068
    3,047
    1,422
    642
    422
See reviews for
2,482
3,305
112
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

5 of us stayed here to help a friend (who lives locally) celebrate his 50th birthday.

Although large, the hotel is well looked after and the staff have been really friendly - almost constant smiles. Breakfast was delightful, catering to all tastes, as did lunch. The only slight disappointment has been the evening meals and the poor quality of the wines.

There is entertainment laid on and the evening shows we saw were really enjoyable.

I would certainly come back here, but would rate it 4 rather than 5.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 236DavidE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just got back yesterday...Would just like to say it was not too bad resort. The room was clean...the housekeeper was very friendly and pleasant to talk too.The food was average for resort food...never went hungry! My Spouse liked the selection of local food!
The pool was great, beautiful beach and nightly entertainment was good!I do have to agree with a previous review that it would not hurt to smile once and awhile! Some staff were friendly but there was some that you felt you were annoying them...a smile does go a long way! At breakfast we had a lovely server named Shernette!! She was wonderful and always had a beautiful smile!!
All in all it was not too bad although it rained a bit(but it was better than snow)!!I would go back if the price was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just returned from staying at this hotel. What a disappointment!! The restaurants offered average fare and the food at the speciality restuaurants were sub standard and tasteless. Wine came from a box and there was no option to purchase bottled wine or premium liquor. WE book two deluxe ocean view suites and instead got rooms facing the roof and could not sleep at night due to the noise coming from the main stage. The staff was not very helpful at the front desk. Making a dinner reservation was an exercise in patience. The "no problem" attitude of the staff transalted into many problems in terms of customer service. Towels ran out at the pool, you had to go to three bars just to get a campari & soda!! Definitely a 2-3 star hotel in terms of food and service. Will not recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

went here for my dads wedding may 2012 and i can honestly say i don't have any complaints... the food was great the facilities were awesome and the rooms were good as well.. also the entertainers are awesome! great shows and the guys working at the resort are awesome and very funny
would definitely go back here if i planned on returning to ocho rios in the near future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very average experience. I did not realise that it was so big. Unfortunately the size made is so very very busy and very impersonal. The hotel is so large it takes an age to get from one side of the hotel to another. The other restaurants which require reservations get booked up far to quickly which means you can't be very flexible when trying to plan dinner on the same day, Food and drink is rather average. I did enjoy the pools and the pool bars were quite novel for us

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Other than a few rainy, cloudy days....it was a great experience!

Transportation from Montego Bay airport to Ocho Rios. This was not included in our vacation package so we had to seek transportation..I was very nervous about this so I contacted the RIU for recommendations. They gave me two options neither which I could secure online which again....made me nervous. We secured private transportation through Roxy @ rgmendez_2000@yahoo.com and our driver was K. Patterson. I was assured that they are insured and reliable. We were very pleased!! Upon existing the airport our driver was there holding a sign bearing our name. He was very friendly and a safe driver. We liked him so much that we specifically asked for him for our return trip to the airport. The price roundtrip will be between $200-$240 for 2 people.

The pool, beach, and grounds were beautiful and clean. Food is very good....we did not do any specialty restaurants because past experiences have proven that the buffet is excellent with a lot of variety and you don't have to mess around with the reservation thing.

Housekeeping was a little slow on the first day and I communicated this concern to the front desk. The next day a complimentary pint of Jamaican Rum and some coffee were awaiting us. Housekeeping was fine everyday thereafter.

Dunn's River Falls...via the catamaran is a MUST! So much fun!!! TIP!!! Buy the excursion on the beach from Scuba Caribe....it's almost HALF the price compared to the excursions in the lobby. The Scuba Caribe is the mint green building on the beach by Plantation Restaurant. The falls are somewhat challenging but the guides do a wonderful job of taking breaks and making sure everyone is safe. We are middle aged and we were able to climb the falls without any problems. NOTE: Water shoes are a MUST!!! Seriously...it would be impossible to climb them bare foot. They do rent water shoes for $5.00 if you don't have your own. The excursion includes: the catamaran ride, admission to the Falls, snorkeling w/equipment, and drinks and dancing.

Valuables: We kept our money, iphones, and ipads in the safe at all times (unless we were using them). NO problems!

Some of the staff were not very friendly but then others were very hospitable.

Great trip!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mlamames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,281 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,203 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#28 of 81 in Negril
5,496 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Property: ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing