We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Arrived back on the 25th after a fantastic trip. Flew Thomson, would say paying for the Premium seats was a positive step as you were treated with more leg room, faster check in etc. Like all Riu hotels, this one is big, but with only 30% occupancy, everything was good. All rooms had plentiful supplies of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks in the fridge replenished every two days. Excellent food in the restaurant, and the steak in the Steak House grill,,,,,, well I have never had better anywhere. The A la carte too was table service with first class fayre.The beach was perfect and the sea very very warm and very safe bathing. Ample beach beds.
on beach dining with the famous Jerk chicken bar. Trips to Dunns falls via a catamaran was breath-taking for $45 per person and the rafting on the Rio Grande, simply awesome, but expensive.
Tip, your rep will tell you that it costs $30 dollars to get a taxi into town,#.If you walk to the end of the long drive you can get the same trip for $2 !!!!!!!.Entertainment guys worked very hard and did their usual stuff.
Very very very relaxing trip, and yes we would go back..... tomorrow

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank casamia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,617 - 3,623 of 8,756 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

All-inclusive offerings at this hotel went beyond our expections, because the staff is trained to serve their guests, from the pool area to the restaurants. (Thank you Shawn and Josie, and to the many others!) They serve with a smile. One night at dinner I couldn't decide between the steak or the fish (menu service), and the waiter brought me a plate with a portion of both! There are "no problems" as they say in Jamaica, only situations, and you can see they want you to have a wonderful stay.

Were there a few things we found inconvenient? Yes. The beach area is somewhat public and there were a lot of jet ski vendors, etc., so be aware of who is operating legally. Thankfully we took heed to the hotel rules and were not taken advantage of. Also, we had a lovely view from our 4th floor room in the newer Deluxe wing (great for early morning sunrises!), but several times during our 10-day stay the elevator was out and we had to take the stairs. Granted, the weather did create short power outages for 1 or 2 of those times. And the other times? Well, we probably needed the exercise anyway!

A few gems to share with you... Geraldine is on contract for hair braiding (see the spa, but she sets up down near the beach), and she did an excellent (very patient) job on my daughter's entire head of hair--2 1/2 hours and 52 braids! ... For an afternoon treat, try cappuccino and tiramisu at the Piccola Italia and you won't be disappointed! ... Book at least one special dinner at the "4-course menu service" restaurants (Sir Richard or Sir John)--these dining times go quickly, so book a couple days in advance.... Lastly, if you like tropical drinks, try the "Blue Ocean" and enjoy one for me! Drinks tend to be so expensive when you're travelling that you can't afford to just "try" one and not like it. All-inclusive allows you to try new things and not feel too guilty.

Room Tip: Our Deluxe room location had us walking further to get to the restaurants, but overall it was quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

loved the trip to Hotel Riu in Ocho Rios. Everything was good, I didn't have a bad time, all of the restaurants were good, the food was good, the beach was good, nice place to stay which isn't far from the things you wanted to do. One of my faves! Love going there every year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but the honeymoon suite has two floors and a Jacuzzi with a bar. Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was to be our home for the two weeks from October 5th - 19th and we were delighted with our choice. We were here to celebrate our daughter and son in law's wedding being held at "The Sandals Royal Plantation" resort on the 10th. We'd booked a deluxe room, and were pleased to note that we had 2 double beds together and a sitting area with flat screen TV. Not that we watched much of it, but nice, nevertheless. Bathroom with 2 basins and a jacuzzi bathtub with a shower included. Water pressure and temperature was excellent at all times and we had a wonderful view of the sea. The most beautiful sunrises to behold, stunning!
As stated many times in other reviews, the sea and sand here are to die for. We experienced only a couple of thunderstorms with rain in our 2 week stay and they were mostly in the evening. Not one member of staff was impolite or discourteous towards us or any other patrons that we were aware of. These people never stop working. Always someone cleaning floors, tables, toilets, mirrors etc. Clean sheets and towels in your room everyday and kept spotlessly clean. Well worth a reasonable tip for this service alone, I'd say. We also never had any problems or issues with anything going missing from our room and our minibar was topped up every second day.
We ate at Sir Richard restaurant and it was very pleasing (long pants/trousers are required for gents here) and also used the Mamee Bay restaurant (long pants not necessary) which was also very good, although more buffet style. We were quite happy with the main buffet in the evenings but I'd suggest getting in earlier than later as the food does disappear quickly. Staff does to up the dishes regularly but you can't expect them to just keep cooking up food to be thrown out. They seem to gauge it pretty well however to minimise the waste. A fantastic selection to suit all, but very good also if you like vegetarian dishes. We tipped regularly at the bars and restaurants and the service was equally as good irrespective of tipping or not. If you want a stronger drink, then just ask, no problem.
Free 24 wifi in the deluxe area which was useful, and much quieter with only 2 or 3 kids in the 2 week period, November sees the start of adults only anyway on this side if that's what you prefer. We didn't do any trips through Thomson but we hired a taxi to Dunns river falls then on to "Scotchies" for a spot of lunch. The jerk sauce is explosively hot,hot! A secret recipe, by the owner's account. Also took a taxi into Ocho Rios to do some shopping at the market. Be prepared to barter here and if you don't like to, then better to stay away. We stopped in at a pub for a few drinks before returning to the hotel. A quaint little place on the main road in called "John Crows". Reasonable rates from the taxi rank in the lobby. Thanks to all staff for a very enjoyable stay.
From start to finish we had a great time at this hotel. We came to relax and enjoy the culture, and we certainly did. Would we return, I hear you ask? Then "Yeah Man" has got to be the answer. Have fun, 'cos everyt'ing iree!

Room Tip: Deluxe side is better and a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mouseybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went on this trip with my cousin after my best friend invited me to this annual line-dancing event. The hotel was lovely although some of the over 200 women had an issue or two but what hotel is perfect. We had an ocean view room equipped with a bar and refrigerator. Sorry coffee drinkers you have plenty of spirits but nothing in the room to sober you up if you have had one to many. The beach was absolutely gorgeous as was the pool and the grounds which are maintained well. We had one elevator in our section which was not great but I guess many people use the stairs if the need arises. Although there were several great shops on the property you can get more for your money if you walk the beach to the left of the hotel and find the little shop and a nice cozy restaurant if you want real Jamaican food and music at night. We also found a spa with prices that were a bit better on the beach just a short distance from the property on the left side facing the ocean. My cousin and I also decided on our last day to get on the jet-ski what the heck you only live once. Not part of the hotel but they took us over to Dunes River, we saw the Dolphin Cove and stopped on the public beach to take photos of a beautiful waterfall. We also went by an area that has native shops and we really we able to buy some excellent stuff. Folks are very friendly, just be vigilant. There are several restaurants on the property and three require reservations in advance , St Ann's was the only one that served breakfast. SIr Richard, an Italian restaurant, Asian, and Mamee Bay the Steak house. Most of our meats were at St Ann which always had a great array of foods for all palates. Friday night and Saturday we had ox tails curry goat and some of the local fare. They have a Jerk Hut on the beach (lunch)and another Restaurant on the beach that serves up some good local and American style food, burgers, panini, hot dogs. Bars are everywhere including a pool side bar. Food is abundant and everything is all inclusive. Just a suggestion tip the servers, they work hard and this is a very poor country.
All in all this was a fabulous trip. My cousin and I plan on getting our children together and taking a family trip

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

They had to move our room three times, as we paid for a oceanview jr. suite and the 1st two times all we saw were trees and the garden. Although the staff is very friendly, they are slow. The pool closes at 6pm and the bar closes at 12pm. Generally at a 4 or 4.5 star hotel you don't have people walking thru the hotel smoking weed or trying to sell you weed. We saw roaches in the rooms and bathrooms and the only restaurant open after 10pm was the one that sold Pizza. Some rooms smelled like mildew. I enjoyed Jamaica but if I ever go back I would prefer a true 4 or 4.5 star hotel, as Club Riu definitely is not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJSWAGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Let me start by saying I am so picky when it comes to hotels, I have to start searching months before I want to book. We arrived at the hotel on 19th September and were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are plenty big enough as you don't spend much time in them being in the Caribbean :) they are very clean and have all the amenities. The restaurants are lovely and the food is very nice, they have something for everyone. The pools are really clean and not too cold, the quite pool especially is perfect if you just want to relax. The beach is beautiful, there are locals selling but if you say no thank you they leave you alone. The staff are really friendly, there were a lot of guests that were rude to staff but if you are like me and believe in manners cost nothing so use them then you the staff cant do enough to hep you. We went on a few trips, we recommend dunns river falls and horse back riding, dolphin cove is amazing as well. As for bob marleys house 6 of us arranged for a mini bus driver outside the hotel to take us for 20dollars each so that was a real bonus! all in all great holiday and would return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Derbyshire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,210 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,360 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
64.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $221 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing