We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Nearby Hotels
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
$528
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/02
$75
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
$405
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/27
$115
$112
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$87
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)
$529
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,213)
Filter reviews
9,213 results
Traveler rating
3,251
3,232
1,551
706
473
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,251
3,232
1,551
706
473
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk hutdeluxe sidesir richardssports barplantation restaurantjerk chickenmammee bayjunior suitemain buffetdunns riverspecialty restaurantssafe keygourmet restaurantcool runningsentertainment staffevery other daytowel cards
Filter
Updating list...
4,282 - 4,287 of 9,213 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is gr8t. The rooms are very clean, spacious and has a bar that is always stocked with some good jamaican appleton special. I am big fan of bathrooms and I go crazy for stylish bathrooms and riu gave me just that. The room has a balcony as well that gives you a great view of the pool and the ocean. Their entertainment package is also top notch, each night brings something new and a reggae feel good vibe. The club is pretty good too and always have a great vibe. they also have a great sports bar that has some slot machines.
The food is the best i've tasted at any hotel and the variety seems endless. I could go on and on but i'll end with the view that if you are looking for a great hotel with great food and great vibe........try CLUB HOTEL RIU in Ochio Rios.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family of ten booked at this hotel three months prior to our vacation. Checking was a disaster. Our rooms were not reserved as we thought, then when the clerks finally found a total of four rooms for us; they were full of molds, and the odor was beyond our breathing capacity. We ended up changing all four rooms at least three times. Finally we decided to settle for whatever being overly exhausted and frustrated. The overall experience was horrible. The customer service is zero, the servers were rude and very impolite. The Riu in Ochio Rios would never be my vacation spot in Jamaica in the future. Very disappointed with the quality of service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Ocho Rios, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback.

We are sorry to hear that our customer service failed to live up to your expectations. The ethos of our staff training requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. The behavior of our employees not meeting these criteria is inexcusable. We will raise this issue with those responsible and figure out the problem so that it does not reoccur.

We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism. We would be delighted if you would honor us with another opportunity to convince you of our service and quality.

With our best wishes we remain,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is our second stay at a Riu-and our last at this location. The views are stunning, the room was clean. The food was mediocre at best. Drinks were watered down, but that's expected. Entertainment was boring, except for the Silver Birds Steel drum band-AMAZING! Even if the entertainment was worth seeing, there was nowhere to sit, and often not enough space to stand without blocking someone else's view. The club is closed until after the shows end, so you have to entertain yourself until this time. We decided to go back to the room to watch tv, but the color was messed up and everything was yellow, tried to fix it, but never was quite right. Eventually we didn't notice as much. Staff was ok. Some I avoided as they had no idea what they were doing or talking about. Some were very nice. Nothing was monumentally wrong, but all the little things added up. Such as the tv, the bad entertainment, the same food all the time, wifi not working, lack of knowledged staff, drinks on the menu they never had ingredients for and couldn't make but advertised they could. Pool was cleaned everyday but was always cloudy/murky and you smelled awful when you got out, never felt clean. Food at reserved restaurants was ok, but at the Mammee Bay it was so hot (at 9pm) you didn't even want to eat. Asked for wake up call, no one called. All in all, I wasn't miserable the whole time, but would never return to this resort.

Room Tip: We were in block 2, level 4, room was quiet and very nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyD_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is one of the best family vacations we've been on. We enjoyed our entire time from the minute we arrived to to the minue we left. The property and our rooms were immaculate and the staf was always friendly, courteous and ready to help. The food and drinks were non-stop and delicious with a wide variety to choose from whether if was breakfast, lunch, dinner or whenever you chose to eat at any of the restaurants on site. If you have a taste for a fresh cut coconut to drink, just ask one of the friendly ground staff. By the way the pools,the white sand beach and the bars are close by so you can spice up your drink and relax and enjoy. There's plenty for the kids to do as well, from the pool, games, arcade etc and child care for the younger ones. If you want to go off site and see the rest of Jamaica is, just make an appointment with one of the friendly coodinators and tell them your fancy.

You owe it to yourself to check out the Riu Ocho Rios, Jamaica the next time you're planning a vacation!

Room Tip: Our rooms were suites. Get one!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Collingrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 12-26 June 2013. It is a very, very large hotel so if you want a more intimate setting this is not the place to go. When sitting in the lobby it resembles a 'colony' of ants. Movement in the hotel is great. But with all that said it's all very professional.

Everything is offered in the hotel - so it sort of has a cruise mentality where you can get everything without going off shore. The entrance to the hotel is quite long so if you wanted to walk out of 'compound' you might think twice about it especially in the hot sun.

The staff are wonderful. Not sure if all enquiries about how you are, are genuine! But we had good laughs with some.

The hotel has 800 rooms and caters well regarding food and has a good selection. They have entertainment every night but the crowning glory for me has to be the The Silver Birds Steel Pan. What a performance.

The rooms are clean and well looked after - they do seem to have a mustiness to them but you get over it after a couple of glasses of rum. Optics and a full fridge in all rooms.

We booked our tours around Jamaica with traveljamaicatours Errol Bowen our Guide was amazing. He bases your tour around what and how you want them as opposed to those booked with tours from the hotel.

As a previous reviewer said about this hotel, beach, pool, food, drink great staff what else do you need?

Thank you Ajohn, Devone at front desk, and Richard at Reception. Big up to Shaking in the Restaurant!

Last but not least a new member to the Entertainment team, Slim J. You will go far.

See you soon Rui

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantastic views. Don't choose rooms starting with 3 if you dont like walking.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriella45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews