We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from an amazing week at Riu Ocho Rios hot in Jamaica. We have nothing but good things to say about this resort. The property and rooms were spotless, service was great. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we were having a good time.The entertainment staff are incredible, very friendly and interact well with guests. The evening shows were well planned and enjoyable. We tried all of the a la carte restaurants and enjoyed all of them especially the Japanese one and the steakhouse. We stayed in a junior suite which had a view of the ocean and was very spacious. The pools were well maintained and there were always lounges available. The beach was lovely with plenty of lounge chairs available at any time of the day. The resort is well laid out and although large is very convenient to get around without too much walking. We will definitely return and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vibamolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,138 - 4,144 of 8,756 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went to Jamacia for the first time in September 2011 for a wedding held at the resort, what an amazing place, we had over 100 people attending the wedding from Canada, US and Jamacia. The staff is top notch, always pleasant, if you have a problem they are alway happy to fix it. The variety of food is great, always hot and fresh. Even the late night resturant always had something for everyone. Now i loved it so much i went back in October 2012 to get married myself, it was like going home ( keep in mind, this is my 2nd trip ever to Jamacia) the staff welcomed us back and made sure as always we had everything we needed. this time we had 84 people, the wedding was held off site at The RUINS, very nice place, the chef there is world renowned, food amazing. Now everyone has a different experience, overall I will go back the The Rui, Ocho Rios in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking, or you like going back to your room often, stay in the rooms close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trini340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed there in Feb 2013 with my partner and it was phenomenal. The room was nice and clean, bed very comfortable and food was delicious. I would recommend the this hotel to couples even thoug it is for families. The kids did not bother the couples.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Location: The Riu Ocho Rios sits on a lovely stretch of beach, just outside of Ocho Rios. It is just a quick shuttle ride to all the attractions (Dunn's River Falls, Town Center, Mystic Mountain, Dolphin Cove, etc.). Getting to Ocho Rios from MoBay is a lengthy ride, but it's worth it.

Beach & Pools: The beach is large and fine. A crew rakes up seaweed every morning. There are LOTS of chairs, so reserving them isn't really necessary, as long as you're on the beach by 9:30 or so. There are NO shade structures, so if you are looking for shade, you'll need to use the palm trees for shade. There are multiple beach activities throughout the day (aerobics, dance class, bocce ball, volleyball, horseshoes, etc.). The pools really are in stark contrast to each other. The "main" pool is huge and is a center of activity. There are shady spots and sunny spots, water volleyball, swim up bar, etc. The "quiet" pool is just that, also with a bar. Depending on what you're looking for, you can find it. Vendors do show up on the beach, but they can’t leave the water. This is only a hassle when you want to swim in the Caribbean.

Food & Drink: We found the food in the buffet restaurant to be better than most Caribbean resorts we've visited. We wanted to try a few of the ala carte places, but when we went to make reservations, ALL WERE BOOKED. We were there for 5 nights, and we weren’t able to try a single ala carte. This is unfortunate. We'd have preferred to have the opportunity to do so. Not sure how to fix this issue. If you are a beer-drinker, you'll be happy with the house beer, Red Stripe (or Red Stripe Light). If you are not, I hope you like rum. By day 3, I was ready for Kentucky bourbon, but I was out of luck. There are no "top shelf" liquors available at any bar. We tried every drink on the drink menu, and few that weren't. My best advice: find Franklyn and ask for his "special" drink. It’s some sort of modified rum punch, but he wouldn’t divulge what it was. It was potent and tasty!

Entertainment: I normally wouldn’t call out “entertainment” as its own subject, but the crew at Riu OR really does a good job of making sure you are having fun. The shows are pretty typical (the dancing just isn’t great), but be sure you are willing to make a fool of yourself if you are “volunteered” to participate in a show or activity.

Rooms: We booked a standard ocean view room. We were in the main building, directly above the main buffet. Our room was just the right size for us (3 of us). The view from the balcony was great! The furnishings were dated, and the TV was old. But we weren’t there to watch TV. The beds were very firm. I didn’t mind the firm bed, but they could have really made a difference with better linens. The bathroom is decent, with double sinks and a shower/tub combo. The in-room mini-bar was adequate. We love Bigga!

Spa: We didn’t use the spa this trip. However, we did find the massage ladies just past the western end of the beach (past the green wall). Instead of $100 for 60 minutes, they charge $60. Sweet ladies. Find them.

Shopping: We took a shuttle into Ocho Rios city center. I would not recommend the "craft market" to anyone. Every stall is the same, and the people are EXTREMELY aggressive. If you do go, BARGAIN. There is a saying, "easy to get in, tough to get out." There are some decent shops for cigars, souvenirs, etc. around the market. Shop there. The people are nice and the selection is good.

Tipping: My 2 cents on tipping is simple. Yes, you are at an all-inclusive, where "tips are included." But you are visiting a 3rd world country. Bartenders, servers, maids, bus drivers, bellmen, etc. work hard to help you have a good vacation. Is it really problematic to leave a dollar or two for good service? You'll get better service, but more importantly, everybody we tipped were genuinely appreciative of our thoughtfulness.

Room Tip: Standard room with ocean view was very adequate for our family (couple + 18 year old).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kevster28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

OMGosh!!! my boyfriend and i stayed here 3/12/13- 3/17/13 and we loved it. i am always on trip advisor and i must say the reviews i read about the complaints about this resort or just not needed but everyones stay is different i guess when arrived received our welcome rum punch check in was easy our room was beautiful with a great ocean front room (we booked through yahoo travel & the room was called a jr suite ocean front) we stayed in the deluxe wing of the resort over looking a beautiful infinity pool and stunning beach view we went every where on this resort at 1st we found the sports bar not to be so friendly but we did have fun in there only on the last night we watched the show & my boyfriend tried to hide but they called him on stage it appeared that they were painting in the disco so we never went in there...the food is great all the a la cartes the buffets the bars and the JERK HUT i told the guy im bringing him to the usa and we are going into business together lol the sand on the beach is white soft and cool no matter what time of day we always had a chair the one day it rained was funny bc it went from a light drizzle to a very quick poor down and everyone ran off the beach and we decided to go snorkeling :) you pay a $25 deposit per person to rent the snorkeling gear but when you return it you get it back the balconies are somewhat private you can hear your neighbors we were on the 4th floor so we could see below into others balconies and to talk to your neighbor you kinda have to lean over a bit our room stayed clean different maid everyday we called down to get someone to come stock our fridge on the 3rd day and they came the staff their is amazing all i can say is there or a lot of things to do there the majority of vacationers while we were there were canadian but the entertainment crew made sure to entertain everyone

Room Tip: the beds are firm but i like a firm bed and so does my boyfriend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank virgobeauty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went in Feb. 2010, I just realized I didn't write a review and wanted to catch up. This is a large resort but designed to keep walking to a minimum. We stayed in a Jr. Suite with an ocean view and it was really nice to have the extra space.
We really enjoyed the resort, food, pools and entertainment. Like most all-inclusives the entertainment is more amusing than good but it was fun to watch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just got back from our marvelous trip. Stayed the week of 13-20 of March.
Well. First of all I must underline we Love Jamaica ! Been many time - will go back many more.

HOTEL - situated in a very convenient location . Close to major attractions , to shopping in Ocho and all.
ROOMS - we stayed at deluxe wing - worth every penny. This is a wing for people searching more peace , and a bit more luxury. Also you are provided with a concierge service , earlier restaurant booking and very large beautiful suites ,room has a liquor dispenser and a fridge filled nicely every day. Nice large patio. They are suites so you also have a pull out sofa. Clean to a perfection every day.
RESTAURANTS - starting of the morning breakfast with wonderful fresh shakes -from banana shakes to celery, carrot , beet mixed with ginger shakes out of this world. Selection is wonderful . Smoke salmon , Jamaican station with their yummy specialties and all. Something for everyone . I will miss that freshly baked bread every morning ...yummy.
A la carte restaurants - a must. Sir Richards and St. John's very nice menu . Best rack of lamb.
Tushimi - excellent. Tried the steakhouse - half buffet half served -okay - but not on top of my list.
We looked at the dinner buffet every night just to see the selection on the way to our dinner and they were always trying hard to make everyone happy. From duck to roasted pigs , sea food and all.
LUNCH - very good selection- the best - as everyone mentioned in their reviews - jerk chicken !!!!!!
Thumbs up. We never tried the pizza place but it looked yummy.
Two restaurants are open for lunch and nicely catered to all tastes. Fish is excellent.
BEACH-other then Negril it is the best beach I had seen in all the parts of Ocho and Montego Bay .
Crystal clear water , nice sand , superb snorkeling right of the beach. Lots of shade if you are seeking it, plenty of sunny spots and clean. The only problem is those drunks leaving their glasses at night and beer bottles broken all over , so the morning crew has lots of grooming to do.
BARS - all over the place, plenty of stuff - you never have to line up and wait for ever. From fruit shakes to alcoholic beverages . Very nice.
THE STAFF - wow , you guys have it. Every one every where you go is so super friendly.
Management on hand all day long making sure all goes well. You see them every where.
Entertainment staff - so talented. Able to perform in all including acrobatics. Always happy to talk to you , super friendly and hard working.
SERVICE - well I must say every where - restaurants, front desk , no matter where you go and what you do they are all trying to please you.

There is only one down side - to many smoking areas. I sort of enjoyed Riu Costa Rica for that reason - no smoking at all on premises.
I must say I'm really sorry for those people that write the negative reviews . We had such a nice experience that we will be back. Many times . It was our most enjoyed vacation in a while. 100 % .
SO THANK YOU RIU OCHO RIOS FOR MAKING IT OUR BEST :)

Room Tip: If you are looking to party stay in regular wing. If you looking for upscale upgrade to deluxe wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brygida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,210 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,360 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
64.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $221 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing