We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$125
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
$385
$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$88
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
$65
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,412)
Filter reviews
9,412 results
Traveler rating
3,301
3,299
1,589
735
488
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,301
3,299
1,589
735
488
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk hutdeluxe sidesir richardssports barplantation restaurantjerk chickenmammee bayjunior suitemain buffetdunns riverspecialty restaurantssafe keygourmet restaurantcool runningsentertainment staffmusty smelltowel cards
Filter
Updating list...
4,720 - 4,725 of 9,412 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just got back from our marvelous trip. Stayed the week of 13-20 of March.
Well. First of all I must underline we Love Jamaica ! Been many time - will go back many more.

HOTEL - situated in a very convenient location . Close to major attractions , to shopping in Ocho and all.
ROOMS - we stayed at deluxe wing - worth every penny. This is a wing for people searching more peace , and a bit more luxury. Also you are provided with a concierge service , earlier restaurant booking and very large beautiful suites ,room has a liquor dispenser and a fridge filled nicely every day. Nice large patio. They are suites so you also have a pull out sofa. Clean to a perfection every day.
RESTAURANTS - starting of the morning breakfast with wonderful fresh shakes -from banana shakes to celery, carrot , beet mixed with ginger shakes out of this world. Selection is wonderful . Smoke salmon , Jamaican station with their yummy specialties and all. Something for everyone . I will miss that freshly baked bread every morning ...yummy.
A la carte restaurants - a must. Sir Richards and St. John's very nice menu . Best rack of lamb.
Tushimi - excellent. Tried the steakhouse - half buffet half served -okay - but not on top of my list.
We looked at the dinner buffet every night just to see the selection on the way to our dinner and they were always trying hard to make everyone happy. From duck to roasted pigs , sea food and all.
LUNCH - very good selection- the best - as everyone mentioned in their reviews - jerk chicken !!!!!!
Thumbs up. We never tried the pizza place but it looked yummy.
Two restaurants are open for lunch and nicely catered to all tastes. Fish is excellent.
BEACH-other then Negril it is the best beach I had seen in all the parts of Ocho and Montego Bay .
Crystal clear water , nice sand , superb snorkeling right of the beach. Lots of shade if you are seeking it, plenty of sunny spots and clean. The only problem is those drunks leaving their glasses at night and beer bottles broken all over , so the morning crew has lots of grooming to do.
BARS - all over the place, plenty of stuff - you never have to line up and wait for ever. From fruit shakes to alcoholic beverages . Very nice.
THE STAFF - wow , you guys have it. Every one every where you go is so super friendly.
Management on hand all day long making sure all goes well. You see them every where.
Entertainment staff - so talented. Able to perform in all including acrobatics. Always happy to talk to you , super friendly and hard working.
SERVICE - well I must say every where - restaurants, front desk , no matter where you go and what you do they are all trying to please you.

There is only one down side - to many smoking areas. I sort of enjoyed Riu Costa Rica for that reason - no smoking at all on premises.
I must say I'm really sorry for those people that write the negative reviews . We had such a nice experience that we will be back. Many times . It was our most enjoyed vacation in a while. 100 % .
SO THANK YOU RIU OCHO RIOS FOR MAKING IT OUR BEST :)

Room Tip: If you are looking to party stay in regular wing. If you looking for upscale upgrade to deluxe wing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brygida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The bus ride from Montego Bay to Ocho Rios was over an hour, which after a long flight sucks but it is what it is.

The hotel grounds and facilities where maintained very well and I'm not easy to please in this regard. I was very impressed overall simply from this standpoint.

However, the food was certainly better than most all-inclusives, but not amazing or anything of note. The liquor is cheap garbage, only expect local stuff; wine you can forget about, unless you enjoy yours from a box. And the strangest thing was that the bathrooms are so few and far between it's, at times, more convenient to just go to you room (room location depending of course). For example, if you're roughly in the middle of the beach, you need to walk to the main entrance lobby for the bathroom. The South west corner of the main pool...the lobby. Breakfast at St.Annes....the lobby.

Other than a those few things

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everyone gives different reviews based their expectations going into it. We are just a young couple, both 22 years old who were looking to get away for a vacation. This was our first time at a Riu and we didn't have any expectations going into the vacation because we booked it like a mystery type vacation. Once we got to the airport for departure, we learned we were going to Riu in Ochos Rios and everyone around us told us good things.

Yes, it definitely was a long drive from the airport to the resort but we felt it was well worth it. Luckily, we didn't have a big group arriving at the s ame time so it was an easy checkin. We asked for a king and were told it was a king and arrived to our rooms to see two double beds pushed together. At first, we thought this was their "king" bed but we weren't going to let it ruin the vacation. We both slept well! The room was clean and stocked when needed. The only problem we had were a couple little ants in our sink once in a while and a little rinse of the sink took care of that.

We always participate in the games and make the most of our vacation and the entertainment staff knew us by name. They were there when you wanted them to be and you were left alone when you didnt want them there. There was always the deluxe side, which offered a quiter more relaxed atmosphere. As this was a spring break for some canadian universities, as per ours, the resort was nearing capacity and we had to be up early to find seats and place our towels down. This isn't new to us because it's the only time we can travel and we are used to it. Everyone does it. The beach was great to walk down, quiet areas and louder areas as well as people selling things. No big deal, they weren't pushy!

This was our first time to Jamaica and didn't know what to expect foodwise. We thought the food was amazing and everyone else agreed. We did mostly buffets because there was a lot to choose from. Food seemed to be always stocked and fresh. Based on that we are considered picky eaters, we were extremely grateful for what was offered and enjoyed it all. Some people have different tastes and might expect differently. We were pleased! We also liked how there were food options til 2am or the sports bar 24 hours if you need a small snack. No problems with the drinks or the bars.

Nightly entertainment was what was to be considered at a resort. Yes they announced everyones country, and you cheer but it show.s nice cause then you can find people from your own country and possibly same city and get to know them. Some nights were better than others but we were never bored there no matter the show.

Everyone's review will vary based on what they hope to see in their vacation but we enjoyed every minute of ours, but the first day of rain, and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank danaandbryan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Entertainment staff and bartenders were some of the nicest we have ever encountered. We had no problems with anything at the Resort. Food is what you would expect so are the beds. Rooms were very comfortable. Everyone was always willng to help. Would recomened to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IllinoisJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We returned to the Riu Club Hotel, and found that the experience, was a big disappointment,The booking in was a shamble,and the receptionist that dealt with us was rude,and unhelpful, we first went to this hotel in 2007, and it was great! But this time we found the food was dull, and repetitive, and when they put on show meals they ran out 2 hrs before closing time,all that we can say about the good side of our 14 day stay is that the cleaning staff and waiting staff, were the only worth while part of our trip,take a tip and stick with the RIU PALLACE HOTELS

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews