We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good value/ Feb 3-10-13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Riu Ocho Rios is 2008, we purchased the Apple 5 star Jamaica deal agiain and this is where we ended up again. We were generally satisfied then and were again this time. The breakfasts are very good all the expected choices. Lunches also were good, the jerk chicken was fine and they had a cook make paninis or wraps while you waited. Dinner though was a little bit of a disapointment. I seemed to remember more choices for dinner then , even a lobster night. The specialty restaurants were inconsistent, one night I had a excellent steak and when we managed to return there later in the week, it was not very good. The reservations for the restaurants were not as difficult to obtain as some have claimed. Rooms were clean and the safes and the door locks worked properly, be careful although you can accidentally trigger deadbolt and not be able to reenter room. Drinks were not watered down and service was very fast. We do tip maids, waiters and bartnders, don't know if that is why we get such good service but I noticed many others do not and I saw noone waiting very long. Snorkeled right of the beach over the grassy areas and did see some fish, used the kayaks and that was fine also. Overall the weather was fantastic, the pools warm, service excellent and the food just a little less than last time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank westernpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,721)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,211 - 4,217 of 8,721 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a great time at the ClubHotel Riu. Quick check-in and warm welcome with Kerri Ann, Verona from the Entertainment staff was amazing, and Tasha Marie made breakfast enjoyable. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Make reservations and try the different resturants for dinner. Everyone on staff was friendly and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Long bus ride from the airport, but if you didn't take the ride you'd miss a great experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe wing is quiet but a further distance from resturaunts.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our first all inclusive family vacation. Middle aged couple with two teen aged kids. Kids loved the large selection of food. No one went hungry. The beach with its natural shade provided by plenty of coconut trees was a pleasure to the senses. We were all in agreement that a return trip is in order. Just make sure you stay at least 7 days.
DON'T EVER SIT AT THE FRONT OF THE PLANE. YOU WILL REGRET IT.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are closer to the beach and restaurants.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Relic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just got back, we were there from 1-27-13 to 2-06-13. we love it!!!! Love it how the resort its all open, so you get to see the ocean from almost everywhere Great Staff!! That jerk chicken that they serve at the beach is horrible!!! We took a cab to a place very close cal Scottiesh and ate a real jerk chicken (its was delicious and cheap). The resort is huge, so be prepare to walk. The bar at the lobby and at the pool, had the best staff!!! the food was very good!! The best a restaurant as the gourmet, we ate in all of them. Didn't like too much the Chinese or the stake house, The Asian was ok, had better. The trip from the airport was 1 1/2 hour. We did the water tubing and the duns falls with the party boat, was great both.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We travelled to this resort from Jan 27,2013- February 6, 2103 on vacation with family members. My overall impression of this resort was excellent! The service was great, freindly staff, great rooms (sometimes smelt a little musty), food in the buffet was very good in comparison to some resorts we have visited.

We had private transportation arranged to our hotel and back to the airport upon return by a local taxi driver by the name of " Byron of Bryon's Taxi Service
He was recommended to us by my sister's travel agent and he was fabulous. One of the kindest, down to earth, person who'll ever meet. We also booked a couple of private excursions with him for rafting and Mystic Mountain as well as a private tour through Ocho Rios and the rain forest and explored some interesting places along the way- not your typical bus tour!!!! If you're going down to Jamaica I would recommended you get in touch with him, he travels the island. His cell number is 876-387-1019 and his E-mail is byrontaxiservice@hotmail.com

We did upgrade to the "Gold" side from the "Red side ( the color of band on your wrist) when we arrived. We paid an additional $220 for the upgrades to a slighter larger rooms and access to Free Internet and more a la carte restaurants.

We were most displeased to find that most of the time, the folks with the "Red bands" were on our side of the resort and taking all the pool and beach chairs while people with the upgraded " Gold" band had to wait to get a seat. You might as well save yourself some money and stay with the Red, if they are allowed to partake, without paying the price.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a larger balcony than others- be sure to ask for one with larger balcony and the jun...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewfieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is an awesome resort. We were there from 2-3-13 to 2-10-13. The only thing we found not to our liking was the noise level around the stage area. They would have entertainment at night, but also have wedding receptions only a couple hundred feet from the stage and the two would compete with the loudness of music. Depending on your seating location, it was very hard to enjoy one or the other. The food was enjoyable and plentiful. The drinks did not seem to be watered down. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. All the staff were very polite especially Terry Ann our waitress. She was great for breakfast & lunch. For dinner the man to see was James Bond our waiter. He did a great job. Our poolside waitress was Keneisha (spelling?) and she was very attentive. These are the kind of people who make your trip very enjoyable. We would return to this resort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vmheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from riu Ocho rios great spot great staff, a few issues with some ignorant people who bud in front of u, other than that great.Keep an eye on the patio doors lock not the best we put in a price of cardboard to keep the lock from moving, it wiggles open if u shake the door.The trip from Montego bay is 1.5 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClarkeePorthope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,310 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,172 reviews
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
64.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $212 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing