We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time of year to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time of year to visit”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica.The temperatures averaged 82-85 degrees during the day (WOW)! We stayed at Riu for 4 nights right before Christmas 2012. This was an excellent time to be there because it was before the Christmas rush. We stayed in an ocean view room on the 5th floor.

Pros: A large variety of food to choose from at the buffets. The pools were very clean and well maintained (the pool at the newer area can be used by anyone and is much quieter). Our room was clean upon arrival and we enjoyed the full bottles of liquor in the mini bar area. However, I do believe the liquor was watered down. The wait staff in the restaurants were very polite and well trained.

Cons: The front desk attendant didn't give us a lock for our room safe. The Asian Restaurant was awful and it was buffet style. If I'm going to have to make a reservation and get dressed up for a dinner, I don't want to serve myself from a buffet. The hawkers in the water at the beach were a little scary. I've never experienced this at any other place I've ever been. The security and police that periodically patrolled the beach was a joke. Not once did I see them talk or ask the hawkers to leave. Our room was cleaned very nicely the first couple of days and then it went downhill from there. It seemed as though they were rushed and barely even cleaned the room. We have always tipped the help everywhere we have gone, but it seemed as though they were more aggressive in expecting tips for everything.

Overall, I would give this hotel an average-above average rating.

Room Tip: If you stay in the "older" section, ask for an ocean view room. It's a little more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TNtraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,051
    3,024
    1,413
    639
    417
See reviews for
2,456
3,286
110
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A family member booked her wedding and almost 30 people went to this resort. Just got home Jan.24/13. The staff at the resort are rude and very unhelpful. Believe me, we did tip when we actually had someone who was kind. They were few and far between. I do not like being treated like I am an imposition when ordering drinks. Of course we appreciated the select few who were kind and helpful.
Room mix up when we first arrived, what a mess. All booked King size beds in our group and only 1 couple actually got a king size bed! The rest were 3/4 beds pushed together and made as separate beds. Hair dryer in the room wouldn't work, took 3 days to get a new one. Empty, dirty glasses, plates left lying around at all times in the hallways and stairwells. Staff in the boutique on the first level around the corner from the main desk were terrible. Avoid that shop!
Pool areas became very rowdy in the afternoon in both the adult and children's area with drunks at the swim up bar, including body shots laying on the bar!
Entertainment was a joke. Worst I have ever seen. You can't blame the poor kids performing, they only do what they are told.
Beach was nice but the "vendors" were a pain. I guess OK if you wanted to buy lots of dope!
There are definitely 5 star resorts out there that are worthy of the amount of money it costs to go to one. This is basically a party-type wedding hotel. If a quiet, relaxed week is what you are looking for, avoid this one for sure! This is at most 3.5 *.
Best part was the buffet food. Forget the a la carte, they sucked!
MANAGEMENT WAKE UP! You have many improvements to make and practice before you can call this a 5* resort! I will make sure I tell everyone I know to avoid this place!

Room Tip: Oceanfront room had a lovely view. Not sure is was worth the extra $400 we paid though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0m2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Hotel are located on the Beach less than 10 minutes out of the town of Ocho Rio in Jamaica
The Hotel have all I need for a vacation all kind of restaurants from Self Service with Buffets or Gourmet Restaurants, nice Bars
I have traveled around the world the last 20 years but I can guarantee the best fish I have ever eaten is in Sir Richard restaurant on just this Hotel

Room Tip: If you go here see to that you get a sea facing room, maybe upgrade to a junior suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rolf_engholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed in various Riu Resorts in different countries and Riu Ocho Rios did not disappointed us. First impression was uncomparable because they had a system were you had your room keys in minutes from your arrival. There were no long line ups at the front desk as they had it all ready for you.
The room was clean and they had a well stocked fridge .
Food was amazing .We only ate at the buffet because there were excellent choices every day . The beach was amazing too with nothing but sand to walk on ...no rocks or seaweed to deal with when you are sweeming . Great snorkeling . The beach was extremely safe for children and they had a life guard at the beach and at every pool .
The resort is divided into 2 areas and if you want to party with the staff and their games and laud music you stay in the right side of the beach and pools and if you feel like having a more quiet day you stay on the left side of the beach and pools so a great set up because you not always feel like partying nor always feel like being quiet.
This resort has many families with children witch we loved but if you are looking for a couples resort this is not for you .
The entertainment was fun and the group works really hard all day and night to keep everyone happy.
We will definately come back and recommend the resort to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the garden and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Norma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
217 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The wife and I stayed here from January 20th-25th. We loved this resort. I booked the cheapest room they had and had a great view of the ocean. The beds were a little hard but had no problem going to sleep after drinking rum drinks all day. We only ate at the buffet. I loved it. I was worried about the food because we hated the food at the resort in Mexico but the food was very good. I gained 11 pounds in five days!!!! The beach was perfect. Just past the roped off lines in the water was some great reefs that had a ton of fish to see. I spent most of my day out there exploring. The entertainment staff was very good. I also liked the staff. They were very friendly. I was a little nervous about staying here after reading all the negative reviews. I really don't know what everyone was complaining about. I do not have one bad thing to say about this resort.

Room Tip: Don't waste you money on upgrading to the deluxe rooms. I had the cheapest room there and the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hoosierboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent the best time of my life in this wonderful place. Having been going to jamaica now for ten years plus I never experienced the all inclusive vibe. Well let me tell you there is no other way to go but all inclusive. At first it felt exspensive but by the time I got there and met the staff and tasted the food man!!!!! I had died and gone to heaven.

The food was great I always found something I liked to eat the cocktails are out of this world!!!!

If there was one thing I didn't like was the security were rude to my family members who came to visit.

My holiday rep Pauline from Thomson is a diamond truly professional always on hand to help. If you visit this hotel go and say hi to her she's lovely. In my opinion I think all the nices people in jamaica work in this hotel from waiters to cleaners to managment. If you want to experience paradise book book book

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Britjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great place! Very clean. Everyone is very friendly. Love the scenery. I stayed for 5days 4nights, with some girlfriends. This place is defiantly for an older crowd. We are in our mid 20s, and single lol. So we left off the resort almost every night to party with the locals! We had a great time. Horse back riding, Jet skies, climbed Dunns River waterfall. Wonderful food as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,143 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 80 in Negril
5,446 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.1 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Property: ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing