We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best entertainment ever ! Yeahh Man !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is on a nice location...Even if it is a big resort, everything is close.. it takes 2 minutes to go everywhere. Food is good and a lot of choice, The Steakhouse restaurant is the best overall. The asiatic restaurant is a buffet. and the Gourmet is ok. Beautiful beah ! Cannot walk long distance on it though... GREAT entertainment !!! If you want to have fun thats the place...It is for every body , you can relax on the deluxe side or have fun ! Its up to you! Great staff, everybody cares about your vacation. They want to to come back and have the best trip ever !
It was my mom's birthday, they made her a cake and wrote her a bday card. We did not say it was her birthday to anyone...great surprise ! The rooms are ok and clean..most important.
Jamaica is a really nice country and it is different !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melpot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,597 - 4,603 of 8,851 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I wouldn't have stayed at this resort if it weren't for the entertainment and the service/cleanliness. You always were greeted with a smile and always got the best service. There are people walking around cleaning left and right. The entertainment was by far the most amazing part of our stay. They had the best shows and the best entertainment crew. 007 and peacock were the two funniest. I would run back in a heartbeat to see all of the crew.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xobaybel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here mid Sept. Overall good hotel what you see in the brochure is what you get. We went as a couple in our 50s who like quality and good service. Staff were lovely and helpful nice people. You could really be anywhere in the world whilst in the complex as it was a way from the town. You can get a bus into Ochi outside the hotel for a few dollsrs not 10 US by Thomsons. Another rip off. Also cool runings trip rip off for 93US. On the beach it is 60US. Hotel large so you need good walking legs. Food ok sometimes. Drinks very good. Entertainment was ok not great. Smoking allowed whilst watching show. Not good also in one restaurant the Italian one.

Also air con in room not good. None in general restaurants so sat sweating at breakfast and dinner.

Would not go back but liked Pauliine the Thompson rep very funny and good at her job. Other places to visit in the caribbean.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VALBLONDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

So we stayed at RIU OCHO RIOS sept12-sept19, it was a birthday trip with my boyfriend and a friend. Before booking this spot we read many reviews and we werent going to book this place because of the reviews, only reason we ended up booking was because a coworker said it was a great spot n she goes back there often. IT was one of the best decissions, even as we arrived we were setting ourselves up for dissapointment, we still had all the bad things we heard in the back of our head. so the first day we landed we werent like OMG IM SO IMPRESSED WITH THIS place....we were more like "oookay so this is it...hmmmmm lets check it out". only thing right from the reviews was that drink wasnt served as we entered the resort, but while we were checking in, the lady helping us our (reneese) was kind enough to get us a drink, which was called a baby maker lol.

ROOM
rooms were humbly nice, they werent with a wow factor, but were very clean and super cosy and without smell of any mold. the housekeeping did a phinominal job cleaning everymorning so make sure to tip right, we brought in sand from the beach at times and the floor would be spotless after they cleaned. i did spot checks on pillow cases, etc to make sure they were actually cleaning it and changing with fresh bedding, and not just covering up. Our room was ocean with standard room, its pretty roomy, the king bed was much larger than other king beds ive been on in the past.

ENTERTAINMENT
Everynight after dinner check out the preshow at the main stage area around 8:30 or earlier, the preshow is good, gets the croud ready for the actual show, which was usually around 9:30. the shows are great very interactive with the crowd too, great dancing, and no matter what you do DO NOTTTT miss the michael jackson show, the impersinator they have is WICKED words cant describe it, it was great. Theres is also a beach party every monday, it was a lot of fun, cus its a party out in the beach with dancing, good music, good company, and esp. the bonfire, that was my highlight.

Definitely go to the party pool they got so much going on there, with contests and live performances. The drinks you get at the bar in the pool, you actually taste a lot of liqor and get smashed very easily lol so tip them nice. its a party there.

HOTEL GROUNDS
At night time you haveeeeee to go out in the beach, go past midnight when resort lights are off, pull out the beach chairs closer to the water, and do some star gazing, i saw 2 shooting stars which was amazing and also theres a light show far deep in the ocean, it looks like bursts of lighthing far but you dont hear anything, its amazing nothing ive seen yet.

Also during the day or morning walk towards the enterance of the resort they have a few birds and few roosters that wake you up in the morning. its pretty and the long walkway is nice for pictures.

Resort offers free excursions such as kayaking, and paddleboarding and a few dollars for the catamarang. TRY IT FOR SURE.
TOWN/EXCURSION
We went out to town for shopping in Ocho Rios, it wasnt amazing it was alright, good for souveniers i guess and even ventured into the flee market to get our hair braided, just know if you step out from the shopping area, everyones trying to hustle and sell you something so just say no if you dont want it. Therse a local eating spot we tried cus we couldnt find any place serving vegetarian food for me, its called tastee foods (not sure if its spelled right) it was amazing food, so give it a try.

To go for shipping we met our taxi driver KERNE PATTERSON (KP) we got him because we booked through the taxi stand at the resort near the front desk. since the day he took us shopping he let us know that he had personal service away from the resort and if we need anything gave us his business card with his number and told us to just go to the taxi stand at the front desk and they could make a call to him and arrange everything. this was by far the best decission we've made there, we saved so much money to do execursions, hotel makes a commission so its priced higher than the personal price he gave us. right after meeting him we did rest of our excursions with him, we went upto the mountains excursion, he told us the hisorty of Jamaica, she he was so passionate, showed us local schools, and we could stop anywhere during the trip for anything we saw or to take pics, he didnt care at all. He also took us out in town at night, so we definitely built a trust system with him, he told us everything how its a good spot, Oceans 11 its a karaokee spot, he made sure we got in okay without being ripped off with tourist pricing and he made sure we were good sitting inside and just kept checking in when he didnt have to.
if you go to riu ocho rios contact him, give his number to the taxi stand so you dont waste money to call him personally they will arrange everything and ask for pricing, his contact information is: KERNE PATTERSON (KP) with K.P.Tours and Taxi services, he specialises in tours to Dunn's River, Dolphin Cove, Bob Marley 9 Mile, Airport Pick-up and much more. phone #-(876)289-4744

Definitely do Dunn's River it was amazing, and Dolphin cove, and make sure to book dolphin cove there with the resort , to get the swim program we paid half the price we would have if we did it in advance with where we booked our trip. and dunn's river take your camera even if its not waterproof, there are guys there to take your camera and maake sure its not wet and take your pics from your camera as you climb up with your group.

DINNER
the buffet was amazingggggggg, morning and dinner buffet im still thinking about the food, and they change it up so its something different to look foreward to always. for lunch there is the Pizzaria, its got some italian food. DO NOT BOTHER trying the specialty restaurnts there not worth it. we went to the asian food and the Japanese. the asian food was worst than take out food i can get here in Toronto. and the Japansese resto. they make a big deal about it because its for platinum members only but she still made us reservations, when we went there we barely ate anything, it wasnt anything close to japanese food we've had, and regretted not going to the buffet instead.

This pretty much is all the goods i can think of at the moment hope the review helped, 1st day wasnt my best because i kept a lookout for all the bad things ive read about this place but as next day came and i saw the water in the morning it was beautiful and fell in love with this place and ocho rios more n more day by day.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room that faces the sunrise its a beautiful scene, and a must see or ask about ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shruti v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been reading some of the negative reviews and don’t know what everyone is talking about. We can only rave about the place. The food was excellent, the staff were so friendly, and the entertainment team knock themselves out to make sure guests have a good time. We went at the beginning of July and met with a family who go there regularly. We also met a really discerning couple from NI who, like us, were hard pressed to find anything to complain about. We had no water one morning, but it was sorted in no time; it was hard to get through to reception on the phone at times, and we did find one of the waiting staff in one of the ‘quality restaurants’ rather offhand, but we didn’t let it bother us. What can I say...some people just don’t seem to be happy unless they have something to moan about. PS Keston rocks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank barbados87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a fantastic time at RIU. Two of my best friends were married, we took in some local stores and even got some diving in. The staff was fantastic and if you got to know them they would bend over backwards and get you anything. The restaurants are fantastic as well, but don't forget to make reservations ahead of time they will fill up quick. Only two issues I had were the air conditioning wasn't the best but kept the room comfortable enough to sleep. Theotherwas the elevator in the deluxe wing kept breaking down, once with me in it. Don't forget to take cash with you because even though you won't need cash, if you tip your staff just about every where you get remembered, $1-2 is all it takes sometimes.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
8  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Me and my Husband stayed here on our honeymoon, we were very Impressed! The service and entertainment was amazing! The resort itself is beautiful and right on the beach. The rooms were average nothing to special, but they were kept very clean by the staff! We didn't feel comfortable going out in town, but not to worry the resort brings in local vendors and there is an area of the resort that Becomes a little market. The food was again average( as far as the buffet went) however make dinner reservations for
The good stuff! The night life is great and this was the perfect place to meet couples, hang out and
Enjoy our vacation! We loved the Riu and would recommend this resort
To anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lasph13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,505 reviews
47.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,273 reviews
76.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios

Address: | Mammee Bay - St.Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $218 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 856
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in northern Jamaica, on the beachfront. Two 6-storey buildings and one 5-storey building. Surrounded by 90,000 m2 / 107,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 10 Km / 6.2 Miles to Ocho Rios. 4 Km / 2.5 Miles from various shops. 105 Km / 65 miles to Montego Bay airport. 600 M / 1,970 ft. From a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Hotel Ocho Rios
Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica
Riu Ochos Rios
Rio Ocho Rios
Club Hotel Riu Ocho Rios
Rui Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing