We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect afternoon food and view”

Whalers Seafood Restaurant & Sports Bar
Ranked #37 of 123 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Whalers Seafood Restaurant is located on Fisherman's Beach , Ocho Rios (Facing Columbus Heights Hotel) Beautiful view overlooking the ocean & cruise ship ports. You can watch your favorite sports live at our Sports Bar and indulge in our Native Dishes & Culture. HARASSMENT FREE ENVIOURNMENT!!!!!!
Reviewed December 2, 2013

After we asked our cab driver Kevin to go to "The Lobster Shack" he said no problem! As he was walking us down, he mentioned that we could go to a place there that had an upstairs were vendors wouldn't bother us. We ended up on the top floor of Whalers! My husband hand the Curried Lobster, and I had the garlic butter, both were SO good.. at $23 a plate! You can't get that at home! (or the contact buzz from all the pot smoking next door!)

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I consider ourselves foodies, and so the satisfaction of a well prepared cuisine, is always a challenge my taste buds are looking to rekindle, through the nostalgic cuisine that previously excited them. This was achieved during my visit to Whalers. The staff were friendly and the food was something you must experience. I dabbled in the Jerk chicken and my husband ordered the lobster and we were not disappointed. A definite must for all foodies like ourselves.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anamnesistik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We visited whalers two weeks ago, the view of the ocean and the crewships is one to experience. The food is the real reason why we have to go back to whalers, we had grilled and garlicbutter lobster and our kids had curry conch and steam fish.
That was the best grilled lobster I ever had and I was able to taste the conch and the fish which my family enjoyed so much.

The service was great and the staff was irie, we have to go back to whalers on our next trip to Jamaica.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cissey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The jerk chicken is the best chicken i have ever eaten, sauce tasted excellent and festivals are a must try while in Jamaica. Festivals are fried cornbread sticks.... The area is pretty local so this is definitely not touristy and its right next to Margaritaville which is touristy. So if you want real authentic Jamaican food just go next door to Margaritaville if you are coming from the cruise ship.
I recommend this place to dine and will be definitely coming back to Jamaica soon to go there again.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clear r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ate here while visiting off of a cruise ship on Oct. 17th, 2013. The food was great. I had the jerked chicken and the kids had shrimp stir fry and jerked chicken. They did not have diet soda which was a bit strange but no big deal. The food did take a while to prepare but I have been told that to properly make jerked chicken, it takes a while to marinate. We enjoyed our lunch here and would eat here again. The prices were reasonable...I think it was right at $60 for 5 people. That included drinks as well.

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kellykendle2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whalers Seafood Restaurant & Sports Bar also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Whalers Seafood Restaurant & Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing