We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place at an appropriate price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms Ocho Rios
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly place at an appropriate price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booked because we did not want to go "all inclusive" and Rooms about the only choice. Rooms is comfortable if a little noisy. Food is adequate and reasonably priced. Beach is on a little bay vs the ocean and is public. Some water sports are available via a local operator at competitive cost. We walked into Ocho Rios for most of our lunches and dinners. We found acceptable meals and at least one real gem (Miss T's). Most of the better restaurants are not close enough to walk and the tour operators who provide transportation from Rooms charge very high prices - e.g. $40 round trip to go to about 8 miles. We were disappointed by this vacation. Not so much by Rooms but by Jamaica in general. We've had a better time at lower cost in Florida.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 1221. It clearly has the best view, but its right next to the outdoor bar and mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    277
    204
    115
    89
See reviews for
188
255
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Xmas vacation was a nightmare! The hotel was a motel with dirty toilets, torn and stained towels, noisy a/c, clogged tubs and the ragged comforter. I was not looking for a 5star hotel..... however, I would have settled for a half star. Incompetent staff. No one informed the lifeguard and or the security guard that they should not pester the guest and their visitor(s) the staff needs retraining. Family vacation ruined, a waste of hard earned money. Oh yeah, the beach was accessible. That said, when you are on the beach the peddlers were non-stop. I would not recommed rooms to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dondada361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia_davis, Manager at Rooms Ocho Rios, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me express how sorry we are to learn that you and your family did not enjoy your vacation with us at Roons Ocho Rios. We are really sorry too that you did not see it fit to bring to our attention all concerns expressed so that we could have them addressed while you were here.

Our Security Guards are in place for the protection of all our guests and so they will ask questions when you are leaving the property and re-entering. Also if you decide to have visitors on the property. There is a visitors’ policy that is clearly explained upon checkin and is also displayed at the Front Desk. This is to protect not just you; but all our other guests, therefore if you have visitors to the property they are not allowed to go on the beach neither are they allowed to use the pool. They are allowed to be entertained on the pool deck by you.

The beach is a public one and so we have no control on who visit same. There is an entry fee that is charged at the entrance and anyone who desires to use the beach pays the fee and is allowed entry.

Please note that whatever concerns our valued customers have we are very sensitive to them and try to alleviate them. We really wished you had brought them to our attention asI am sure the end results would have been much better.

Again our sincere apologies to you and your family and even though you expressed that you would not return, I hope you will change your mind and allow us to make it up to you. We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation. All the very best to you and kindest regards

Yours truly,

Sonia Davis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I love the view in the day & in the night too its very lovely rooms was my first time i will be here next year i love the food they serve at rooms......
I love the view in the day & in the night too its very lovely rooms was my first time i will be here next year i love the food they serve at rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Recently spent a 10 day vacation at the rooms on the beach in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. Let's get to the key points regarding the hotel:

-Its located RIGHT DOWNTOWN, which is amazing! Couldn't be any more accessible and safe.
-It's a European food plan, which means coffee and toast for breakfast and then you buy your own food. THIS IS THE BEST POSSIBLE TRIP TO IMMERSE YOURSELF IN LOCAL FOOD!
Key food spots #1 Moms #2 Jack Sparrow #3 Miss. T's #4 John Crow #5 Scotchies
*The best Jamaican patties are in a food truck located in town square ($1.30)*
*Meals were generally $5-$14 US - cheaper if you use Jamaican*
*FRESH seafood is located @ Fisherman's Beach! -Hit up Lobster Dave -$10.00 full lobster fresh out of the ocean*
-The beach is clear blue, with white sand! Perfect beach paradise. (yes has locals, it is their country people)

Ultimately this hotel is clean, safe, perfectly located, and is shared by tourists and locals alike. A must for your next vacay, well be back

Room Tip: All rooms are great, you'll spend more time at the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit to rooms and would happily recommend it to others its great value for money for a 2 star hotel the staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is great you have the choice of eating at the hotel or at one of the number of eating establishments in the area. The beach is conveniently located within walking distance.
I will be staying at rooms ocho rios again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Basic hotel in a beautiful location. Wonderful beach and very friendly helpful staff. Pool was cleaned every day and one clean dry towel per day per person. Patio door was broken when we arrived but fixed with no fuss in minutes. Good hotel to use as a base for all the wonderful things to do in this area of Jamaica. It was noisy on two nights of our stay because of the New Year celebrations, but we just didn't let this affect us, waited until the noise stopped then went to sleep. The quality of the food at the hotel is good if you don't feel like going out and prices reasonable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't expecting a palace but just a good all round place to stay with no fuss and no frills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have stayed at Rooms on the Beach 4 or 5 times over the years when visiting Ocho Rios, and always with a group of local friends. Please don't go expecting the Hilton or Holiday Inn. Yes, some of the rooms are dated and could use some sprucing up. Yes, it can be noisy at night if your room overlooks the pool. Yes, there is no elevator. Yes, sometimes the staff can seem disinterested. Yes, sometimes things are broken like ice machines, washing machines and the contraption you use to make your toast at breakfast. And, no, it is not all-inclusive (a plus in my book!)

HOWEVER, Rooms has many positives and, in my opinion, their rates make it a good base for enjoying your time in Ochi. Rooms is in a great location on Ocho Rios Beach and guests get direct access and free lounges. The pool is small but clean. My only complaint with the pool is that the staff cleans it and adds chlorine at strange/inconvenient times of the day (like 5PM), just when you want to take a swim. Aggravating. The overall hotel grounds are nicely maintained.

As for the rooms, I have always paid a little more for upper level rooms. The first few had balconies and lovely views (especially nice when you want to step outside for a smoke); the others have had views of the parking lot. In all cases, they have been clean, towels have been changed daily, the A/C and TVs have all worked, and the beds have all been comfortable. The decor has seen better days, but I've never had a complaint about my rooms. The hotel is far enough off the main road (a few minutes walk), so it's quieter than others on the main drag, UNLESS you get a room overlooking the pool or one that faces the main staircase. But I don't see it as the hotel's fault that noisy kids play in the pool all day or noisy drunk people need to use the stairs to get to their rooms. Overall, my rooms have always been adequate, clean and had a much-appreciated coffeemaker.

The room price includes continental breakfast and my recommendation is to go to breakfast on the early side because they can run low on things as it's nearing the end of the breakfast period. You can get fruit, juices, coffee/tea, muffins, cereal and toast (which you have to make yourself). If you want more fruit or butter or jam, just ASK. If you want something else for breakfast, you can order from the menu and pay for it. The hotel's restaurant also serves lunch and dinner from a menu of Jamaican and Western food selections. Our fish and/or pork chop dinner were delicious, but the prices were about what I would pay for dinner here at home ($15-$20). One of my favorite things is that the dining room is open to the pool area and I always choose to sit at one of the patio tables when I dine there. And, last time we visited, the restaurant servers were ALL friendly and helpful. The poolside bar closes by 11PM and you'll find the basic beers and liquors; nothing fancy.

Now for the hotel's ideal location. Rooms on the Beach is just a few minute walk past the security gate to the Ocho Rios main drag. There are lots of shops, nightclubs and nearby restaurants (we have enjoyed nice meals at Taste of India and the Hong Kong Int'l Chinese restaurant directly across the street and upstairs, which has good food for a good value). You'll also find small grocery stores nearby where you can pick up some Red Stripes and snacks to take back to your room. Rooms is also next door to the Sunset Jamaica Grande all-inclusive, which is really convenient it you know people staying there. You'll be 5 or 6 blocks from Margaritaville (if that interests you) and less than a 10-minute drive from Dunn's River Falls. If you're looking for something special, ask one of the bicycle cops on the street for help; they're always very nice.

My one complaint here is that the staff gives you the third degree whenever you try to go to your room if they don't recognize you as a guest. This is sometimes comforting for security reasons, but can also be annoying. Family and friends who want to visit you are welcome to hang out with you here, but don't expect to take non-guests to your room without paying about $25 extra for a day pass.

So... the bottom line? Pay a little extra for a balcony room on an upper floor, and, to be sure you'll be satisfied, ask to see the room before you check into it. Some rooms are better than others. If you don't like it, ask to see another room. But you'll be very happy with the convenient location of Rooms on the Beach. If you're looking for loads of amenities, massaging shower heads, free toiletries, fancy decor and unlimited food choices, you will probably not be content here. I always enjoy staying at Rooms on the Beach and hope this review gives you a better idea of what to expect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank hulagirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia_davis, General Manager at Rooms Ocho Rios, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are really happy that you came back to us at Rooms Ocho Rios for another vacation. It is always a pleasure hosting you. We thank you for your reviews and as always we look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Thank you again and best regards

Sonia Davis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
81.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
1.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
49.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
#31 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
16.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
13.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ocho Rios

Property: Rooms Ocho Rios
Address: Ocho Rios Beach | Main st., Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Ocho Rios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Ocho Rios on Jamaica's North Coast. Just 5 minutes from the world's famous Dunn's River Falls and within walking distance of best shopping and night life in Ocho Rios. Singles, Couples and Families are welcome at Rooms. All rooms are air conditioned, equipped with cable tv, safety deposit boxes, hair dryers,coffee makers and most have a VIEW of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rooms Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Rooms Hotel Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios Rooms Hotel
Rooms Beach Ocho Rios
Rooms Beach Jamaica
Rooms Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing