We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, kinda loud, especially on cruise ship days”
Review of Rooms Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rooms Ocho Rios
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed February 25, 2013

But overall a good value.

The staff are extremely slow, but nice. The poolside bar plays the same music on a loop all day and all night long, but the beach and pool are nice enough.

Beware one particular taxi driver who prowls the pool area - his name is Lincoln Wilson and he is very dishonest, will agree to one fee and then demand a higher fee when you get there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelticka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 863 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loudest hotel I've ever stayed at. The walls and doors especially are paper thin. From the workers banging on the too in the early mornings to people talkin on balconies, it all sounds like it's happening in your room. The restaurant staff is beyond slow. Like 20 minutes for menus when the restaurant is not even half full. The beach is nice, really lighten up once a cruise ship left, pool is clean an bartender is nice. The beer prices fluctuate depending on where you get it (bat or restaurant, which are 50 feet from each other). Otherwise you get what you pay for. We came to relax, read, and have some downtime. Minus the loud disturbances this for the bill.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitmphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Rooms on the Beach with 5 other girls in June 2011 and have just booked to go back in August 2013!!

So...lets get one this straight...rooms is not all-inclusive so if your looking for 5 different restaurants, little bathroom amenities and nightly entertainment I suggest you stay at Jamaica Grande or Riu.

What rooms does offer is a safe, clean, affordable hotel right on the beach!! Now, locals will come over to you but you can either tell then to go or engage in a conversation...they are stil people! Jamaica is poor and ochi is a cruise ship haven so people will approach you and try and seek you all sorts...just say no!

As I said I went with 5 other girls and my one did I feel my safety was compromised! Jamaica is a beautiful place and if you use common sense you will enjoy it and enjoy Rooms!

So if you don't want to experience the real Jamaica and just look at other tourists within the confined of an all inclusive then Rooms is not for you!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jatraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Myself and two of my closest girlfriends stayed at Rooms in January and even though they had a full house, we still got great service. The room was very clean and our maid always gave us the right amount of towels, wash rags and soap. We ate the continental breakfast which is included but some mornings we had the Jamaican special - the food was always good, so we dined at the restaurant on property most of the times. The front desk ladies were very helpful, especially Juline who was so pleasant and Alicia at the Spa took care of my friend who had a bad back - her massages are great!! We are glad we stayed there because we got a great bang for our buck . Rooms is clean and the staff is friendly, a great recipe for a great vacation.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor ocean front with a patio - you can't smoke in the rooms so if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found the drinks at the bar expensive but the barmen were so much fun. I think our overall impression of the holiday was let down because of the hotels location. We are confident travellers but did not feel safe out and about in the town. Don't turn left on foot outside the hotel! Always go right!
Hotel was clean and quiet. The rooms were cleaned daily and most of the staff were really friendly, just a couple of the girls at breakfast were a bit miserable. We slept really well here and thank goodness for the air-con! The food here is also very nice, we ate here a few times which is unlike us, we didn't want to venture out every night...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stacey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

You ever hear the phrase, you get what you paid for. Well, I guess that phrase is really true. Where do I start ? They have plenty of security, i will give them that; but thats about it. Breakfast was horrible and that's after ordering what I thought was Okay off the menu. The free Breakfast is a big joke unless you will eat anything to say you are getting your monies worth. They had cereal, toast and pastry that hardly looked delightful. Their fruit menu was always, water melon, oranges or pineaple and cantelopes. That is not what I consider great choices, given the fact that the Island had so many fruits that were in season like apples, mangoes and a host of other fruits. The rooms were tacky and the bathroom was clustered. The closet was big enough for one outfit because of where the safe was located. No bathroom amenties. The balcony was a nice touch; however the jerk who stayed next to me for the last several days smoke marijuana morning noon and night it seems. Needless to say, I will never recommend this hotel and if this was the last place in Ochio Rios Available, I will sleep in my rental car. Its that bad. This should property should be listed as a Motel, it is every bit in the true sense of the word.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean View, nice balcony but I do not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at Rooms Ocho Rios for two nights in January 2013. Check-in was quick and easy, my room was basic but clean. I had little trouble with the AC but was able to sort it out. The wireless was out the entire time and the bar charges $10.50 for a shot of Hennessey but overall if you are looking for someplace to lay your head for under $100 this is the place for you. It is located in the heart of Ochi, walking distance to shops and five minutes from Dunns River. You won't get the red carpet but it will do.

Room Tip: If you can, stay a few nights here and then transfer next door to Sunset Jamaica Grande and enjoy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squarebzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.5 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#23 of 35 in Ocho Rios
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#17 of 35 in Ocho Rios
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ocho Rios

Address: Ocho Rios Beach | Main st., Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Ocho Rios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Ocho Rios on Jamaica's North Coast. Just 5 minutes from the world's famous Dunn's River Falls and within walking distance of best shopping and night life in Ocho Rios. Singles, Couples and Families are welcome at Rooms. All rooms are air conditioned, equipped with cable tv, safety deposit boxes, hair dryers,coffee makers and most have a VIEW of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rooms Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Rooms Hotel Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios Rooms Hotel
Rooms Beach Ocho Rios
Rooms Beach Jamaica
Rooms Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing