We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great time! Basic but good value!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rooms Ocho Rios
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great time! Basic but good value!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Rooms on the Beach with 5 other girls in June 2011 and have just booked to go back in August 2013!!

So...lets get one this straight...rooms is not all-inclusive so if your looking for 5 different restaurants, little bathroom amenities and nightly entertainment I suggest you stay at Jamaica Grande or Riu.

What rooms does offer is a safe, clean, affordable hotel right on the beach!! Now, locals will come over to you but you can either tell then to go or engage in a conversation...they are stil people! Jamaica is poor and ochi is a cruise ship haven so people will approach you and try and seek you all sorts...just say no!

As I said I went with 5 other girls and my one did I feel my safety was compromised! Jamaica is a beautiful place and if you use common sense you will enjoy it and enjoy Rooms!

So if you don't want to experience the real Jamaica and just look at other tourists within the confined of an all inclusive then Rooms is not for you!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jatraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    270
    192
    113
    88
See reviews for
184
246
59
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Myself and two of my closest girlfriends stayed at Rooms in January and even though they had a full house, we still got great service. The room was very clean and our maid always gave us the right amount of towels, wash rags and soap. We ate the continental breakfast which is included but some mornings we had the Jamaican special - the food was always good, so we dined at the restaurant on property most of the times. The front desk ladies were very helpful, especially Juline who was so pleasant and Alicia at the Spa took care of my friend who had a bad back - her massages are great!! We are glad we stayed there because we got a great bang for our buck . Rooms is clean and the staff is friendly, a great recipe for a great vacation.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor ocean front with a patio - you can't smoke in the rooms so if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found the drinks at the bar expensive but the barmen were so much fun. I think our overall impression of the holiday was let down because of the hotels location. We are confident travellers but did not feel safe out and about in the town. Don't turn left on foot outside the hotel! Always go right!
Hotel was clean and quiet. The rooms were cleaned daily and most of the staff were really friendly, just a couple of the girls at breakfast were a bit miserable. We slept really well here and thank goodness for the air-con! The food here is also very nice, we ate here a few times which is unlike us, we didn't want to venture out every night...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stacey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

You ever hear the phrase, you get what you paid for. Well, I guess that phrase is really true. Where do I start ? They have plenty of security, i will give them that; but thats about it. Breakfast was horrible and that's after ordering what I thought was Okay off the menu. The free Breakfast is a big joke unless you will eat anything to say you are getting your monies worth. They had cereal, toast and pastry that hardly looked delightful. Their fruit menu was always, water melon, oranges or pineaple and cantelopes. That is not what I consider great choices, given the fact that the Island had so many fruits that were in season like apples, mangoes and a host of other fruits. The rooms were tacky and the bathroom was clustered. The closet was big enough for one outfit because of where the safe was located. No bathroom amenties. The balcony was a nice touch; however the jerk who stayed next to me for the last several days smoke marijuana morning noon and night it seems. Needless to say, I will never recommend this hotel and if this was the last place in Ochio Rios Available, I will sleep in my rental car. Its that bad. This should property should be listed as a Motel, it is every bit in the true sense of the word.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean View, nice balcony but I do not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at Rooms Ocho Rios for two nights in January 2013. Check-in was quick and easy, my room was basic but clean. I had little trouble with the AC but was able to sort it out. The wireless was out the entire time and the bar charges $10.50 for a shot of Hennessey but overall if you are looking for someplace to lay your head for under $100 this is the place for you. It is located in the heart of Ochi, walking distance to shops and five minutes from Dunns River. You won't get the red carpet but it will do.

Room Tip: If you can, stay a few nights here and then transfer next door to Sunset Jamaica Grande and enjoy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squarebzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rooms Ocho Rios is my 'go to' hotel for all my weekend rendezvous on the North Coast. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the hotel provides both comfort and convenience! The staff there are warm and friendly and the Hotel Manager Sonia Davis is very personable, always making her guests feel at home.
Plus the rates are beyond affordable!!! What more can you ask for? Next time your heading to the North Coast and need a nice and cosy place to unwind and relax check out Rooms on the Beach in Ocho Rios.

Room Tip: I always like to look out my winder and see a 'body of water' so the ocean view or pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkprincess2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just came back from a great trip to Jamaica. We liked the Rooms On The Beach very much, but it is not the right hotel for everybody and shouldn't be compared to an all-inclusive resort! The rooms are a little run-down, the service is, well, let's say relaxed and the continental breakfast is very minimal! Of course, everybody tries to sell you everything on the beach and outside the hotel, but a clear “No! I’m cool man” will work. However, the beach is awesome and the location is great so you can reach all attractions (e.g. Dunn River Falls, White River, Fisherman’s Beach, Dolphin Cove…) very easy. Besides, the hotel is located in the center of Ocho Rios surrounded by local bars, restaurants and (super)markets in walking distance – and YES, it is safe to leave the hotel! Independent from the hotel, travelers should know that the life in Ocho Rios is focused on cruise travelers. Many bars, restaurants and shops close early and nightlife is hard to find.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony on the 2. and 3. floor have a very nice view and are calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteffilovesNils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
81.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
1.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
49.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,993 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
0.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
#7 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ocho Rios

Property: Rooms Ocho Rios
Address: Ocho Rios Beach | Main st., Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Ocho Rios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Ocho Rios on Jamaica's North Coast. Just 5 minutes from the world's famous Dunn's River Falls and within walking distance of best shopping and night life in Ocho Rios. Singles, Couples and Families are welcome at Rooms. All rooms are air conditioned, equipped with cable tv, safety deposit boxes, hair dryers,coffee makers and most have a VIEW of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rooms Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Rooms Hotel Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios Rooms Hotel
Rooms Beach Ocho Rios
Rooms Beach Jamaica
Rooms Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing