We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Absolutely fantastic"”
Review of Rooms Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rooms Ocho Rios
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"Absolutely fantastic"”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

You will arrive a guest & leave like family. This hotel & its entire staff from the manager to the ground's keeper are just wonderful. Everyone has a sincere smile & are willing to truly help at every turn. Its not just one person, its everyone working together as a team. The hotel is very clean. The rooms are large & well decorated. Ocean view rooms have large, private balconies. The bathrooms are very nice & include hairdryer, iron/board, & safe. You'll be surprised on the cable channels provided, including free movie channels. I really do suggest you get ocean view, its magnificent. Your only steps away from the outdoor pool, bar, & walk onto the beach with the most beautiful sand in the world. The continental breakfast is daily, & perfect to get your day started. Return in the evening for a wonderfully prepared dinner. Your within walking distance of all Ocho Rios, & there's lots to do. The people, the culture & the food are wonderful. It doesn't matter if you stay to relax, sun bath, shop, what ever!!!. You won't find a better hotel & staff. And its very affordable!!! I could go on & on. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Try to reserve an upper floor ocean view balcony. Its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    282
    212
    119
    90
See reviews for
198
260
63
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I check in at Rooms Ocho Rios from January 10th and checked out on the 14th. What can I say about this hotel? The staff has been professional from I got to the check-in area. Ms. Davis the Manager was accommodating and very pleasant, she greeted us on arrival and put a personal touch to the whole visit. I had my bags taken to my room and even when I was checking out and wanted my bags weighed this was done with a smile. The lady who cleaned my room was awesome and pleasant, she spoke to myself & my son who was in the room, she did not treat us like we were not there. The ladies and gents in the dining area were efficient. I enjoyed the continental breakfast but I also ordered dinner and breakfast from the menu and kudos to the cook. The only suggestions for this hotel is to work on getting all inclusive. Ms. Davis and staff you are doing an awesome job, keep up the good work and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarvetteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just got back Jan 10 from staying two weeks in this hotel On arrival late evening we at first thought the hotel did not look to bad, we went out to explore and was immedialy hassled and intimated by local people wanting money for walking down the road with you, as they said this is Jamaica and have respect for locals trying to earn a living. This environment left me feeling it was best not to venture out as I did not feel safe. Drugs and prositutes are offered freely by the majority of people. The next morning for breakfast was very poor customer service, dirty tables, no staff and butter and jam are rationed. This service did not improve throughout our holiday. Rooms were not cleaned thoroughly, towels not delivered and tea/coffee making facilities were not replenished daily. Dring the day the beach is lovely and no problems but evening times are very quiet to drink in pubs/restaurents and each evening it felt like running the gauntlet to get out and back safely. I would not reccommend staying at this hotel if you are sngle, have children but would say it wuld be best to stay at an all inclusive complex, It was so bad that after a week we tried to get an early flight home but no seats available.BEWARE

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Covington, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is my first visit to rooms on the beach and my stay was very pleasant. I had my mom's 80th birthday catered there and the staff did an excellent job. The decoration was off the chain, I was very impressed. The food was great, the service was great and the management team ensured that everything was done to my specification. I stayed there for one week with family members from different parts of the world and the staff did everything to make our stay a pleasant one. I must make mention of Tiffany in the dining area who went above and beyond every day. The front desk staff are always pleasant and welcoming. There is no perfect setting anywhere, and the management and staff at rooms on the beach did a wonderful job in making my stay a pleasant one. All my concerns or complaints were addressed to my satisfaction. The location and friendliness of the staff make up for any amenities that may not be available. Thanks to Sonia Davis and Shenelle Dawkins for helping to make my moms 80th birthday the best she has ever had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just got back from "Rooms" in Ochio Rios, december 2012.First time in Jamaica and we had a wonderful experience .The staff were friendly and helpfull.Rooms were very clean but slighty worn.Staff were constantly cleaning and mopping floors.Continental breakfast was sufficiant and try the akee and saltfish a true jamaican breakfast and delicious.Toast, melon, muffin, orange juice and coffee was enough to keep us going for the day.Captain Kirk the tourguide stationed at "Rooms" took us on two trips "Blue Lagoon and SunValley Plantation" of wich the later was very educational and a great experience, got to sample local fruits and juices.Horse riding the second trip was supporting the locals (Which i really believe in) and was an opportunity to meet local folk.The swimming pool is cleaned every morning, although a little small, every morning the beach is raked from leaves and plenty of beach chairs to lounge.I would defenitly go back.

Room Tip: Stayed at 3th floor, balcony seaview, nice seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have stayed at rooms on the beach ocho rios on 3 different occassions, and every occassion was a little worst than the last. I will start off with the good things.

1. The location is great, close to local attractions such as dunns river falls and mystic mountain and everything such as restaurants and night clubs are in walking distance.

2. It is literally right on the beach, which is the reason I have stayed there 3 times.

3. the outside of the building is nice, nice size pool also and the reception staff and lifefuard very friendly, housekeeping, not so much...

now for the things I didnt like.

1.On my second and third trip the bedrooms have an awful mouldy smell which I think comes from the curtains which they probably havent changed since the hotel was opened. I even saw mildew at the back of the curtains.

2. The furniture is dated and needs updating.

3. breakfast was terrible they gave us a few slices of melon that looked like it has been left out overnight and they had a selection of dry slices of stale bread with butter and jam thatg flies where pitching on. also this horrible tasting patiserrie thing.

4. the bathroom could be more clean and they need better kettles.

I would discourage couples from staying here as it is far from romantic. I would advise people to spend a little more and stay at one of the other hotels

Room Tip: Choose one on the first floor. with views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shenique w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If I could give this place zero stars... Traveled with other parties. Our rooms were dusky, dusty, and dirty (room smelled, dirty glasses to go with dirty ice bucket). Things broken/missing. Maintenance had to constantly be called and they took FOREVER to show up! Asked to exchange dirty towels for clean ones and the maid said she only cleaned rooms and couldn't exchange the towels! We tried to spend as much time as possible outside of the rooms. Other disgusting things I won't even mention here. The bar was outside and if you could catch the bartender, your choices were from the limited options on a card table. Music blared every night until almost three in the morning. It literally shook the windows. Staff was non-chalant about service. I was counting the hours until I could go home! I get shudders thinking about that place.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel and DO YOUR RESEARCH!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JDWheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
81.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
1.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
4.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
#30 of 35 in Ocho Rios
518 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
49.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ocho Rios

Property: Rooms Ocho Rios
Address: Ocho Rios Beach | Main st., Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Ocho Rios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Ocho Rios on Jamaica's North Coast. Just 5 minutes from the world's famous Dunn's River Falls and within walking distance of best shopping and night life in Ocho Rios. Singles, Couples and Families are welcome at Rooms. All rooms are air conditioned, equipped with cable tv, safety deposit boxes, hair dryers,coffee makers and most have a VIEW of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rooms Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Rooms Hotel Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios Rooms Hotel
Rooms Beach Ocho Rios
Rooms Beach Jamaica
Rooms Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing