We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mean, Stingy, & Dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms Ocho Rios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rooms Ocho Rios
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mean, Stingy, & Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just got back from a Jamaica vacation, where I first stayed at Rooms, then at Sandals Grande Riviera. The two were black and white - stay at Sandals, even if it takes saving up longer.

Rooms on the Beach:

STAFF (the worst) - Extremely rude during entire stay. During check in they unfairly gouged us for an extra person charge (beware - even though travel sites like Expedia/Hotwire say the rooms fit up to 4 people, we only included names of 2 out of our 3 people on the reservation itself, and as a result had to pay $25 per night for the extra person. We'll probably dispute this charge, but at the time we just wanted in the room, so we paid it). Staff rolled their eyes and other unwelcoming gestures. Also worth noting, after we checked-in and put our bags in the room, we walked to get food from the town...Upon leaving the gate of the resort, the "security guard" asked us what room we were staying in. Since we had just argued about the "extra-person room charge" with the front desk, and since it was obvious we were leaving the hotel ground for a while, I wasn't eager to give me room number to this guy. I have never had a hotel demand I give my room number when they see me leaving. Weird. So I refused, told them I was a registered guest and that I would provide my room number upon my return. After saying no 3x, they said "fine" and we walked. Next, room keys. We were there for a wedding with a ton of family in different rooms, and with my grandmother present, I asked politely for a room key to her room so I could move room to room easily. They rudely denied the request, saying they "cannot issue everyone an extra key." That may be true, but not everyone requests an extra key, and I had good reason. And, it's a plastic card, give me a break. Next, they're slow-moving. Maybe their idea of "island time" is an excuse for this sluggiishness, but it took their kitchen an hour to make 2 sandwiches when the restaurant area was completely empty (this isn't even room service - we were waiting in the restaurant and it took that long). Generally, all of the staff acted like they hated their job, did not want to be there, and it seemed like they talked to each other about guests. Also, it seemed like they disliked Americans. I know sometimes Americans can have special requests, act entitled, annoying, etc., but I don't think our group acted in any way to deserve the eyerolls and mean treatment we received.

ROOMS - Outdated and dirty. Comforters look like they're never washed, floor is filthy even though made service mops it daily. Bathrooms were the worst. No electric outlet in bathrooms, so all hair or shaving had to be done out in the room. Moldy ceilings and no air vent for steam. Room and bathroom had absolutely terrible lighting - one lamp in the bedroom (and one of our light bulbs were out in the bathroom). Curtains in rooms are also filthy. Hallways are cement, so all sounds echo. I was napping waiting on other family to arrive, and literally, I knew they had arrived from hearing them in the hallway. Noisy echos.

FOOD - The continental breakfast is just okay. Sliced bread, butter, jam, and cereal. That was buffet-style, but they control how much of the other stuff you receive - they bring you one glass of OJ, a muffin and two pieces of fruit. No hot food or meats. Staff acted put-off that I asked for another glass of OJ (their glasses are tiny). Drinks from the swim-up bar were good, but staff unfriendly again. The items from lunch & dinner menu at the restaurant were good, but nothing special.

POOL/BEACH - Pool was very clean and nice. Beach is steps away from the pool and also kept clean. Lounge chairs made laying out on the beach easy. Area of beach we laid-out (right in front of the hotel) had several jellyfish in the water, and one person in our party was stung within minutes of stepping into the ocean. Not sure if it's just this time of year, but it was kind of a buzzkill for swimming. The lifeguard at the pool was nice to apply a vinegar solution to help the stinging, though.

IN SUMMARY - PAY THE EXTRA TO STAY AT ALL-INCLUSIVE SANDALS! It was 1000x better. Staff was so polite compared to Rooms, food was delicious, and rooms were impeccable clean.

Hope this helps warn others!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    277
    204
    115
    89
See reviews for
188
255
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paget Parish, Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from staying at Rooms Sept 21 - Oct 1. Location good. Now lets talk about the hotel. The rooms need to be up graded. Each room should come with a small fridge. The ice machine on the second floor was out of service for the duration of the time we were there. Therefore we had to go to the pool bar to get ice. Remove that big tv cabinet and put a flat screen on the wall. There was no cd clock radio as they advertise and the phone in the room did not work. Went to get a shower and the shower head dropped off. I requested the bed spread to be changed as it did not smell fresh. The dinning area definitely needs to be upgraded. The plastic on the chairs torn and scratches up you leg, some decent table cloths, toaster that works and in hance their continential breakfast. The menu they offer for the price is worth it. As my spouse is a Jamaican he enjoyed the Jamaican breakfast they offer. Some of the staff act like they doing you a favor. Rooms just needs a face lift. The pictures on the web does not represent what you see in person.

Room Tip: rooms facing the beach are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWilliams1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

A good location great beach and walking distance to the town centre with amenties within a short ride away from all the tourist attractions. However the facilities were pretty basic and we had endless problems with the toilet overflowing and making a noise, cock roache in the room, saw a rat running around on the outside grounds, could'nt get an iron when you wanted one giglo's on the beach picking up tourists, the safe provided - did not work! the equipment in the Gym did not work, no fridge provdied in the room - and the problems just went on. We Definately would not stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay in a private villa or rented apparment when you have your own cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Honestly, for the nightly rate, I was impressed with Rooms on the Beach. The facility is clean, the staff is friendly and accommodating, and the location is excellent. The continental breakfast IS sufficient and the full-breakfast is affordable. The pool is shallow, but the beach is only 15 paces away. They probably need a fan in the fitness center, but there is about one mile of sandy beach where you can get an aerobic workout walking or running. If you need luxury with many amenities, go elsewhere. If you want an affordable lodging in a clean and central location, stay at Rooms! Oh vegetarians, don’t be dismayed by the menu; ask the chef to prepare off-menu items for you.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor balcony rooms have a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Hertogenbosch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in Rooms for one night when on a round trip around the island by car. We stayed in Negril but wanted to see more of the island for a few days. Ocho Rio isn't to be recommended!
The hotel it self is okay buy nothing more. The staff at the reception we're everything but friendly. Not a pleasant welcome.
The room was clean and okay, besides a malfunctioning toilet. The main problem was the noise coming from the hallway outside our room. It kept us awake all night. Shouting people, stray cats inside the hotels and so more.
We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the seaside with a small terrace. Sounds good but the view sucks because the hotel is surrounded by a fence.
The location in the middle of Ocho Rios is good but the town itself has nothing unless you're looking for a very touristic spot where everybody is after you're money.

If you're looking for great beaches go to Negril. Much better. You still get the hustlers but they are all around Jamaica. We had no problem with them.
If you're looking for more authentic Jamaica go to Port Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeroenCarels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Recently return from a 3day stay at this location. We had a balcony view of the ocean. The location of this place was convenient. You are steps away from shopping and dining. The place was clean and the staff was professional. The beach location is fantastic. For the price of the room, it was worth the stay. Had a front seat view of the cruise ship.

Room Tip: Beach view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLOCKCONTROLLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed twice in 2011, once with friends and another with family (9 year old)

Great location, very clean, no entertainment, basic breakfast, felt safe.

Would stay again if I was on a budget, located on the beach and near to attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
81.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
1.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
49.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
#31 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
16.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
13.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ocho Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ocho Rios

Property: Rooms Ocho Rios
Address: Ocho Rios Beach | Main st., Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#10 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Ocho Rios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in Ocho Rios on Jamaica's North Coast. Just 5 minutes from the world's famous Dunn's River Falls and within walking distance of best shopping and night life in Ocho Rios. Singles, Couples and Families are welcome at Rooms. All rooms are air conditioned, equipped with cable tv, safety deposit boxes, hair dryers,coffee makers and most have a VIEW of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Rooms Ocho Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Ocho Rios Hotel Ocho Rios
Rooms Hotel Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios Rooms Hotel
Rooms Beach Ocho Rios
Rooms Beach Jamaica
Rooms Ocho Rios Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing