We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We visited again in March and had a great vacation thanks to Orayne and Marvin, our Butlers ,
The wait staff, all are wonderful. Chef Peter, Chef Jeann and Lucien. Oshane and Jason are the best. I spent time with the new Food and Beverage Manager Marco, meet him, he is awesome.
Of course the boys on the beach , Cleon and Adrian , are great. Make sure you give them a tip for their great service.
The food was unbelievable , Thanks Chef Peter.
There is an issue getting beach chairs! Not sure why, but some chairs are already taken very, very early? The worst part is they aren't used all day. Management has to address this.
We met some great people , CHUB CHUBS, was one of them and our new friends from Texas!
This is a special place with a very special staff.
If you want the best food and a quiet resort, this is it.
If not, take a 30 second walk next door!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Small, intimate, quiet and RELAXING. if you are looking for a total break from the everyday you will not be disappointed. The hardest part of your day is deciding to lounge on the beach or poolside. If you do decide to take the forty step journey to the east or "smokers" beach know that a very well appointed bathroom is at the bottom and wonderfully personable beach butlers are ready to take any requests for refreshments. Tip: I saw only one smoker on the beach, but the thought of smokers must scare people over to the west beach, making the east side that much more private feeling. Rooms are luxurious and all the food was great (The Papillon Restaurant is dining at it's finest with unbelievable food and sumptuous surroundings) Your trusty butler ensures you really have no worries, ready to take care of everything. We made a special request to have the games room TV tuned into a hockey game back home and have some pub snacks to treat the hubbies and our butler, Tafari, took care of everything. My friend forgot the memory card for her camera, no problem, Teddy took care of it! In all I found this resort to be elegant, dignified and wonderfully absent of the hard core party crowd.

Room Tip: Don't know if there actually is a bad choice of room, but when I mentioned my husband had broken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We're so delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great property and the true hospitality of our friendly staff.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back for another relaxing experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just recently back from our first time at Royal Plantation and hopefully it will not be our last. Everything about the resort was great. The staff is the best that I have experience in my 10 years of going to resorts. I would like to especially mention our 2 butlers, Richard and Sheldon....awesome!!! The food and the service was great at all the restaurants. The entertainment was good every evening at the terrace and the pub. The beach and water is very clean and safe even for a non-swimmer. Adrian and Cleon provided exception bar service to us on the loungers. The room was very clean and comfortable, we were in room 60 which overlooked the beach. The sound of the Ocean was terrific.

Room Tip: Room 60 on the corner had wonderful view of beach and resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so happy to have been able to create such a wonderful experience for you. Our team is committed to offering amazing vacations to our guests and I'm so glad your stay was indicative of the norm.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is our second visit to the resort, and we were not disappointed. It's very quiet and relaxing, not for the party crowd. That's what we wanted, and what we got. I could poke at a bunch of little things, but overall, the service and the food was excellent. Went next door to Grande Riviera once to eat, the shuttles go back and forth about every 15-20 minutes. The returning guests dinner has gone from the Terrace Restaurant to the Conference Room - the numbers have increased about 50% in 3 years. What does that say about the resort?

The up side:
Upscale food and drinks. Friendly staff. The weather. Doing nothing but eat and sit in the sun.

The down-lo:
The lunch buffet at the Terrace is good but selection is weak, but you can order a la carte. The unlimited golf cost me over $100/round. They lost some of the beach during Hurricane Sandy (no pun intended), but we were able to get some chairs down by the water with no problems.

I would suggest Club Mobay for the Montego Bay airport. Waited 1 hour in long lineup arriving, but no more than 15 minutes departing. It's all in the timing.

A shout-out to Oratio (absolutely) & Sean, our butlers, Claudine, our housekeeping lady, Lorna at the Gift Shop (for all the dance moves), Rona (I think) at the Spa, Lenworth our personal chef, Ojay the pool guy, Lucien the grill master. Lively Up Yourself!

Room Tip: For the most quiet rooms, pick the East tower facing away from the resort, as the entertainment can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TansRFading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We're so happy that you had another wonderful vacation with us. It seems like you enjoyed every minute of your stay at Sandal Royal Plantation and that is exactly the kind of excellent feedback we love to hear. Thank you for your review!

We look forward to another stellar experience with you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you are the type to seek sun, sand and relaxation then this might be your destination. With the small number of rooms, two beach areas and a pool this is about as close as you are going to get to a private villa. I can’t control the loud mouth vacationers who think they are the only ones that paid for their trips, clearly but we remarked many a time about how peaceful it was and that you could sit and just read and listen to the ocean. The beach is no Veradero and not suited for long walks like Punta Cana but offers everything you need. The smaller beach does allow for good service as your beach butler is never far away and there is a restaurant right at the west beach.

If you are looking for more socialization then you can take the 30 second walk up the beach to the Grand Riviera, which is clearly more populated, and “upbeat”. There are a number of free water activities including a glass bottom boat tour, which is a nice touch.

The staff here is exceptional, truly. They clearly enjoy their lot because you cannot pass a maintenance person on a walkway without them greeting you and asking how your vacation is going and if they can do anything to assist. When they aren’t greeting you they are singing. Donard and Chase were our butlers and you could tell they really wanted you to avail yourselves of their services so that they could have a hand in making your vacation the best.

There is an east and west building. We stayed in the east building, 3rd floor, room 305 and had a great view of the ocean. The lower rooms in the east might have more obstructed views due to the trees. There is a bit of road noise if you like to sleep with the balcony doors open but we didn’t find it disturbing. You might want to be in the west building if you have any mobility issues as it has an elevator and a walkway to the restaurant/main level and there are a number of stairs down to the beach. The entertainment takes place in the main building sandwiched between the two residences so if you are west you will hear it clearly but it is all done by 10:00 pm regardless. Even we could tolerate that despite being in our room every night before that. (And we’re not that old.) The hotel itself is in the heart of Ocho Rios.

The food is good. The main restaurant offers a smaller buffet than you might expect every day. It has everything you need and the food is tasty but may be a bit smaller than one would expect to see. The a la carte selections can take a little longer to prepare, which is to be expected, but there were a couple occasions where we thought it was longer than you would wait in a restaurant. The French restaurant, Le Papillon, was very good and we made a point to go twice. And again, the staff-exceptional. There was a Jamaican themed night outdoors at the main restaurant and it was also exceptional with jerk chicken, pork and lobster tails. I would not pass this up for any a la carte.

The million-dollar question is always, would you go back? Not at this price. We agreed to spend a little more to chase our perfect vacation and even though this resort was very quiet with great staff, it did not set itself apart enough for us to make this our destination of choice for vacations. We were certainly not disappointed but would try and stretch our dollars into two trips or explore other destinations we have not seen yet. That is just one vacationers opinion and I would still give this resort a 5-star rating.

Room Tip: Upper floors have best views. West building has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rok67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We're so glad to read that you had such an amazing stay with us. We always want to ensure that our guests have a romantic and relaxing vacation and I'm glad we accomplished that goal during your stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This year will be our third time to Royal Plantation and all we can say is WOW.... I should preface my review by saying that if you're into a big, boisterous, lively, party spirited resort this is not the place for you. Now, if you want a small, intimate, top quality (food, service, and accommodation), with butlers who care about your experience at their resort...Royal Plantation is for you! If you get in the mood for a little more action during the day or the evening you can always hop on the resort shuttle and they will happily drive you next door to the Sandals Grande where you will find a ton more restaurants, bars, and activities....and when you get tired of that you can hop back on the shuttle and c'mon back home where your butler has probably rolled your bed down, left you a bedtime treat, or maybe even run you a warm bath....

You can't beat this place...trust me on this.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank SchneiderGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always want to ensure that our guests have wonderful experiences with us and it seems during your stay we accomplished our goal. Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We first stayed at Royal Plantation in 2002 (right after Sandal acquired it). Since then we have enjoyed four other Sandals vacations (but at other properties). Going back was a wonderful experience. It is the top of the line and we have nothing but great things to say about it.
We want to point out a few of the Sandals Superstars. Everyone we encountered was top notch but special kudos to:
Renaldo - he was a trainee bartender at the piano bar at Sandals Grand (which is right next store). One of the advantages of Royal Plantation is that you can go next store (the big resort) whenever you want. We are convinced that Renaldo has an unbelievable future with Sandals. He's destined to run the bar, all Food and Beverage or one of the resorts. His personality kept the place humming all night. He is an absolute star.
Natalia - she worked in Papillions and other restaurants. She constantly went out of her way for us.
Simaj - he was an unbelievable dive master. The hospitality is unbeatable. As he said, they are always looking for ways to turn their seven star service into eight star service.
Our butler Kenroy was always there for us as well.
Royal Plantation is our perfect vacation.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of balconies - always nice to have. But we enjoyed our stay in room 314.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

It's wonderful to read that you had another fabulous vacation with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We're happy that you were pleased with our high standard of service and attention to detail. Thank you for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back for more fantastic memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,969 reviews
57.0 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $568 - $1,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Booking.com, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing