We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keeps Getting Better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Keeps Getting Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the best vacation ever!!! This was our third stay at the Sandals Royal Plantation and every moment was pure perfection. Our butlers, Kenroy and Neal were outstanding--between the special bubble baths with chocolate and champagne, we found it difficult to leave the beautiful verandah honeymoon suite. Every interaction with the staff was so joyful and pleasant from our waiters Oral, Romaine, Natalia, Natalie to Richard the bartender. Even the trainees Christinne and ShellyAnne were great. The beach butlers, Adrian and Cleon are irreplaceable, and are great mind readers! The current GM, Ms. Cousins has nourished the staff to perform at their very best level.

We enjoyed this vacation so much, we have already booked our next two stays.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
I'm so happy to know that the amazing staff at Sandals Royal Plantation was able to not only meet your expectations but also exceed them during your stay.

Thank you for your review. I will be sure to forward your comments to our managers and staff. They will be so glad to read your kind review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another truly amazing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,950
    314
    105
    34
    16
See reviews for
50
1,992
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you want to experience service at its best then this is a place to visit. It was our first time at a Sandals resort and having read about the place, our expectations were high, and we were not disappointed. The food, location, atmosphere and service were second to none and the Butler service was just amazing.

It would be wrong to single out anyone in particular as they were all so attentive, polite and helpful. Each of the restaurants served excellent food and I must recommend the coconut shrimps at the beach cafe. The resort is small and there is not a lot to do, but that is why we went. If you want more action then the Grande Riviera next door might be for you.

All the rooms have great views and whilst the pool and the surrounding area is small there was never a problem in finding a space.

I feel this may not be the last time we visit this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views but the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. We strive to create amazing and memorable experiences for our guests and I'm so glad we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

As soon as we arrived at the Sandals Lounge at Montego Bay airport - we felt like we had come home. After a long flight from the UK we're always pretty tired but arriving at the Royal Plantation certainly re-awoken us! Richard was there to welcome us with Ms Caroline Cousins who is currently in charge. We request Richard and Sheldon as we had them our first year and they are just perfect. We're not demanding, but anything we want, or any questions we have and the boys are on it! I've never heard anyone complain about their butlers in any case. We had a Great House Ocean Front Suite which is in the West Wing and it was perfect. On our first full morning, at breakfast, Lucien remembered how we like our eggs from our previous visits - how is that for service!! We were thrilled to rekindle old friendships with Adrian and Cleon who are still doing a fantastic job "Alright mate?" - all of the staff are great and so happy in their work, even though they clearly work very long hours. Can't remember all the names, but a big hello and thank you to Romaine, Romane, Oral, Tanique, Natalia and Lincoln. There were a lot of younger staff training, I spoke to Christine and asked how she was getting on as she seemed so in control and happy and she said that she had only been training for a week! I think she will be a great asset to the team. We were fortunate to share a table with Kelly-Ann at the returnee dinner and she is always smiling!

We had one or two little problems - but they were sorted promptly - thank you to Stephen and also our butlers. We are easy going and not ones to complain, but we felt we needed to draw attention to a couple of things, as other guests may not be as easy going as us and we didn't want any of the staff to get moaned at. The weather was great, the water sports guys were still so helpful and funny. The meals, as always, were top notch - we dined at Le Papillon twice. We have never been disappointed with a meal here. Chocolate Night was a great new treat and they have started a Movie Night too - although we didn't take advantage of it on this occasion. The nightly entertainment is perfect - we particularly enjoyed the new dance troupe and the house band, Rush, who were the backing group for some great singers.

Ms Cousins seems to have it all under control and I hope she is given the position permanently - she was always about, from morning til night and so very friendly. Finally, my old friend Ibomne Fiffe - who on our first ever visit was so kind to me when I fell ill - I enjoy catching up with her when we return and this year was no exception.

If you want a relaxing holiday with good evening entertainment, but no loud disco noise all day long, indulgent treats from your butlers and excellent food, then Royal Plantation is a MUST!

We know there's a big wide world to explore out there, but since our first ever visit to Royal Plantation, we don't want to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindie163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy that you had yet another amazing holiday at Sandals Royal Plantation. We always strive to offer intimate and relaxing experiences to our guests, filled with luxurious amenities.

We hope to see you back again for another memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Spent a week at the Royal Plantation in mid Feb. This was our second visit to Sandals, the first being the Grande Antigua, which we thought was just okay. Decided to give Sandals another try and the RP seemed to be a good choice as it was a smaller resort and more suited to the kind of vacation we were loking for. We were not disappointed in our choice. The facilities and grounds were beautiful and well maintained and have a classy feel. This was our second time to Jamaica and were drawn back because of how warm and welcoming the Jamaican people are. The staff at RP great and were definitely part of the appeal of our vacation.

Our room was on the third floor of the west wing. It was quite comfy and had a fanatastic view. We did find the bathroom a bit dated and unimpressive compared to other resorts we've stayed at.

All rooms have butler service. Sean and Fiona were ours and did a good job making sure we were having a good time and making reservations for restaurants and excursions. The one thing that we wish the butlers could do is reserve beach chairs. This seems to be a recurring problem at many resorts and it was necessary to go down early in the morning to stake out chairs on the beach.

The quality of the food at the RP was amazing . There are only three restaurants, all full service, but they have a good selection and the quality was excellent - far better than the Grande Antigua. We really enjoyed the coconut shrimp at the Grill. We ate at Le Papillon twice, including Valentine's Day - definitely first class.

We enjoyed the nightly entertainment on the patio. A great way to spend the evening after dinner. There was a good variety from jazz to steel band. The staff often got involved and added to the enjoyment.

The only drawback at RP is that the beaches, while beautiful, are quite small. We like taking long walks on the beach which you can't do at this resort. We walked to the larger Sandals Grande Riviera next door to get exercise and to get a bit more of the excitement associated with larger resorts but were always glad to get back to the more relaxed atmosphere at RP. We took the excursion on the large catamaran from the Grande Riviera to Dunns River Falls. Definitely worth doing and a lot of fun. We also did the Jamacian Bobsled and zipline excursion - again very worthwhile. The guides doing the ziplines were a riot.

Our visit to the RP has restored our faith in Sandals and we would definitely return to the RP in the future.

Room Tip: third floor in the west wing offer the best views and convenience to the restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benzowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Sandals Royal Plantation! I'm glad you had such a fantastic trip and that we were able to share that experience with you. We always strive to create romantic and memorable vacations for our guests and it seems your stay was indicative of the norm.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This year will be our third time to Royal Plantation and all we can say is WOW.... I should preface my review by saying that if you're into a big, boisterous, lively, party spirited resort this is not the place for you. Now, if you want a small, intimate, top quality (food, service, and accommodation), with butlers who care about your experience at their resort...Royal Plantation is for you! If you get in the mood for a little more action during the day or the evening you can always hop on the resort shuttle and they will happily drive you next door to the Sandals Grande where you will find a ton more restaurants, bars, and activities....and when you get tired of that you can hop back on the shuttle and c'mon back home where your butler has probably rolled your bed down, left you a bedtime treat, or maybe even run you a warm bath....

You can't beat this place...trust me on this.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Foodee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to read that you've had such amazing vacation experiences with us time and time again. It's always a pleasure to have you visit with us and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just returned from what has been the best vacation we've ever had! The first being our destination wedding but if we took the wedding out of the picture this by far would be the best :) The people that work at Sandals Plantation are what make it amazing. The hotel is small and intimate which makes it so special. You never have to wait in lines to eat, there's never a battle for a spot at the beach and the food is amazing.

Our butlers were outstanding. Big kudos to Kenroy and Neil who made us feel special every single day. Our every need was taken care of and you never felt like you were putting someone out of their way. They genuinely enjoy their jobs and making your experience outstanding. We hope to come back and can only hope that we have them again!

The wobbly peacock was our watering ground and Andre, Garnett, Junior and Akeem always made us feel like we were home. We really enjoyed hanging with these guys every day and they made our trip extra special.

The spa services were A+ in our book! big shout out to Martha (i think i might have screwed up her name) but she made every experience enjoyable and would certainly ask for her again!

A great example of how awesome this place is and how amazing the service is was our last night. We had been to the Pappion for dinner earlier in the week and they were out of lamb which is my husbands favorite meal. We let our butlers know and they worked with Caroline to make it happen. Our last dinner there we were surprised with an amazing rack of lamb for my husband which was a complete surprise. Caroline, Kenroy and Neil went out of their way to make sure this happened for my husband. Such amazing service.

we are sad to be home and wish we were still there!!! till next time - the Carters.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor on the east wing. great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We're so happy to hear that you absolutely loved your amazing stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. We do our best to offer the highest standard of luxury and service and I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of you stay. Thank you for your review!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Truly, that is how it felt! My husband and I returned home from our second trip to SRP on 10/18/13-10/28/13. We were there during Hurricane Sandy and are so glad we made the decision to revisit. It was great to see the property in full swing this year compared to last – being able to participate in water activities and boating and to be able to go next door to try different restaurants (though every time we went, we said ‘why did we do that?’ and were glad to be back “HOME”). This was our 1 year anniversary and boy, do the folks here know how to make you feel special! This is the epitome of pampering, being spoiled and truly having anything you could want. On top of that, the breathtaking views of the Sea and lush landscaping. It is the perfect combo!

Butlers – Shout out to Audell & Tafari!!! This was our second year with these two and I will ask for them every time I go back. These guys work CRAZY hard to make sure your stay is what you want it to be. They worked SO hard to ensure that everything that we wanted to do, see or get involved with was arranged, including special a top notch sushi night and a special going away lunch with friends. Audell even surprised us with our own chocolate night since we missed the chocolate buffet at SGR…but not only did he arrange this for us, but also for our friends that were on holiday with us. These guys are top-notch employees that deserve special recognition for the hard work that they provided to both the customers and the Sandals organization.

Beach Butlers - these guys are FANTASTIC at providing everything that you need 'down on the beach'. Adrian, Cleon and Fiona are the best at providing you with whatever you may need or want - this can include lunch on the beach, endless drinks, live entertainment (Adrian has a beautiful singing voice) and they are always ready to provide a friendly smile.

Watersports Guys - Jermaine, Chad & Kevin were always quick to provide us with a towel, set-up the beach chairs or even bring you drinks in the sea!

Chefs & Servers/Food - this is definitely an area that RP excells at. 5 star quality, plenty of choices. There really is no need to go next door as the food is sub-par compared to RP and the ambiance isn’t the same. If you really want something that’s not on the menu’s, just ask. Chef Peter will make it for you! Lucian is a fantastic chef and “grill master” as my husband nicknamed. Special shout out’s to: Taniqua (you are awesome and run a tight ship!), Natalia (her voice…amazing!), Nevardo (grow into that belt!), Lisa Gay (you are the kindest, most beautiful person I have ever met), Yanquie, Dowarge, Davian, Hushane, Sean, Romaine, Romane…. This list truly goes on and an. They were ALWAYS ready with a smile, fast, friendly service and it was an honor to get to know them better over this stay. This group of people provided excellent service and was always happy to see us no matter what time of day.

Rooms – We were in the 100 room level and really couldn’t have been more pleased. We had everything we would need or want and the room was plenty spacious enough. Our room was located closer to SGR and sometimes you could hear the music late at night walking back to our room, but as soon as you shut the door – not a sound (except for the lovely frogs). The vent in our bathroom did have some problems getting started when you turned it on, but it didn’t bother us. Mini bar always stocked with what we wanted or needed. Looking back, I realized how wonderful it is to be able to walk down a few steps and be on the beach! The free wi-fi is HUGE added bonus!
Entertainment - this group is made up of a dynamic duo - O'Shane & Jason. It was great to get to know these two on a more personal level this time around. O’Shane…can’t wait to see that new baby of yours! These two are always singing, dancing, MC'ing and just in general providing a fun, interactive source of entertainment for the guests! They want you be involved, but if you’d rather not, that’s ok too. They are just lovely and FUN!! Jason worked very hard at getting a boat for us to do a private tour of the area at sunset which was fantastic…We tried to get him to swim, but it didn’t work out this time.

Management - Mark was constantly wandering around asking how your day was, playing pool with the guests and 'just checking in'. Mark even called us they day after we left to make sure we made it home safely and to see if there were any concerns and of course asked when we would be back! Excellent customer service!
Areas of improvement:
I think there needs to be some dress code clarity for Le Papillon. It states long sleeves are required for men, but plenty of guests had short sleeves on. It didn’t bother us and I had my husband pack long sleeve shirts just in case, but there seems to be some debate on what is appropriate in some of the social media sites.
Saving beach chairs. This was really the only item that left a bad impression with me. There is supposed to be a 2 hour limit on saving beach chairs, however I think most people would not bother your spot no matter how long you have it saved out of general courtesy. Typically the chairs are paired back up at night and the beach is cleaned and then guests save their chairs once they start waking in the morning. There was a group of people that arrived during our stay that somehow was able to have 10 or 11 beds saved right up front on the beach throughout the whole weekend for them. It happened to rain a little Saturday morning but cleared up shortly after 10 and the beds sat there unused until later in the afternoon. If the people who were reserving the beds knew they weren’t going to be using them that day, they should’ve moved their belongings so the rest of the guests could have used them. It bothered me the most that they were saved the WHOLE weekend that way. I consider it fair game if you want to get up at 5.30 or 6 am to save your chairs, but it’s not fair to the rest of us if you somehow arranged them to be saved ahead of time. This was mentioned to Mark while we were on property.
Overall, the days couldn't have been better - lazy days at the beach, great food, romantic moments, couples massages at the spa, dancing, special touches from the staff...we also were very fortunate to meet another couple last year during the Hurricane (I'm sure you will read this review, you know who you are) and had a wonderful time sharing our holiday with them this year as well. Our time at SRP couldn’t have been more wonderful! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlejack2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! It was truly an honor hosting you at Sandals Royal Plantation and we're pleased to see that we were able to offer you an amazing stay. We pride ourselves on our top notch service and attention to detail. Therefore, we appreciate the fact that you took notice.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
45.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
51.0 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing