We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Royal Plantation = Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just got home from a week stay in Heaven. Spotlessly clean resort, two beautiful cove beaches, lots of free watersports, premium drinks, amazing food...5 star restaurant quality, 2 minues from the other Sandals resort (which did have a spectacular pool - recommend you visit) but come back to SRP for the food...trust me. Mark Starkey the general mgr of SRP is the best GM I've ever met at any hotel or resort. Was visible everyday and night...an absolute gem always smiling and talking with guests. Sandals are lucky to have him. Beach butlers were quick and friendly (Cleon..aka Usher), our butler(s) Adrian and Fiona were over the top and we were lucky to have had them take care of us. Watersports crew made the daytime fun (Richard, Kevin and Chad). Once you visit this resort, you will never go elsewhere. Even housekeeping was over the top...fresh linens everyday. Yes they change your bed, not make it. Whether going for a honeymoon, anniversary or just to rejuvenate, this is the place for you. Any age group. To summarize: Food = excellent, room = excellent, views = amazing, things to do = tons...One of the nicest, high end, relaxing resort we've been to. The huge resorts with tons of guest is not relaxing...only 74 boutique resort suites is a major feature of this fine property. You will love it. We're already planning another visit soon. Dean & Alicia P.

Room Tip: verandah suites are worth it if you like a large OUTDOOR patio space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

We're so glad to read that you had such a wonderful stay at Sandals Royal Plantation. You enjoyed our delicious dining, well-appointed rooms and the genuine hospitality of our staff. Our goal is to create memorable and romantic experiences for Two People in Love and I'm thrilled that we were able to meet the high standard during your visit.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return in the near future for an even better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,562)
There are newer reviews for Sandals Royal Plantation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,439 - 1,445 of 2,562 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have been the many of the Sandals resorts but found my trips to The Royal Plantation the absolute best of all..I like the fact it is a small boutique resort and each room has its own butlers! This will be our fourth time in December..We go twice a year and stayed in a different resort in June but nothing compares with the Royal Plantatin..I am hoping the Gearey our butler the last times is still there!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect I have no favorite
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamacianlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to read that you've had such amazing vacation experiences with us time and time again. It's always a pleasure to have you visit with us and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Just back from our 3rd stay and it was as good as the last 2 visits.

all the staff in royal plantation are excellent and do everything they can to make your holiday special. We were disappointed when we heard Peter had left as gm, but had no need as his replacement Mark is doing an excellent job and deserves credit for the hard work he is doing there.

our butlers Adrian and Donard did a great job and cleon and Adrian on the beach were excellent too. A special mention to Fiona who seemed to be doing a different job ever day and always with a smile on her face!

Oshane and Jason, are the stars for me. Had so much fun dancing the nights away with them. When they are around there is never a dull moment! Most memorable was movie night, lying on beach watching cool runnings on a big screen they had set up!

The food and drink at royal plantation are excellent and nothing is too much, you are guaranteed an excellent holiday here and I would recommend to anyone to go here. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! We're happy to know that you enjoyed your 3rd stay at Sandals Royal Plantation and that our staff was able to make your vacation so enjoyable. Your vacation seemed to be an amazing one and we're glad to have been a part of your experience. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

have nothing but good things to say about our trip. Everyone from housekeeping and front desk to the cooks and butlers were absolutely outstanding.



Richard and Sheldon showed us a great time and helped with our every need and then some. They were always friendly and out going and I cannot thank them enough for there hard work and dedication to making sure we had an awesome time.



I wish I could write a compliment about every staff member we had a good experience with but unfortunately I don't have that much time. It would take all day. I would however like to mention just a few of them that I found extra helpful and a pleasure to have gotten to know aside from our butlers.



All the bartenders were amazing and friendly but one stands out to me more then the others.

Junior was our favorite bartender and my wife refused to drink a Jamaican smile from anyone but him. He never stopped smiling and laughing. He made everyone he came in contact with feel like he was there just for them.



Oshane was always a laugh and knows how to make people comfortable. He seemed to live at the resort and never leave just in case there was someone who looked a little bored. He was the funniest guy I've ever met and always had something planned to entertain the guests. Weather it was making beaded jewelry, teaching us how to dance like a true Jamaican or just hanging out at the pool or the wobbly peacock he always was upbeat and energetic and kept people going.



Thank you all again for making our honeymoon memorable and one we will never forget. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I guarantee that when we have a second honeymoon in 10-20 years it will be at the royal plantation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cbullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Home we were so sad to leave and we did have the time of our lives all the staff are so nice the food was great Mark the G M is fab what a amazing location our butlers Hector and Romaine were like our family also the bar staff we had room 214 great room not forgetting Caroline H M
thanks to all miss you all .

Room Tip: room 214 was fab on the east side
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babs123-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We selected SRP after reading the reviews and hearing constant mention of the impeccable service and secluded atmosphere. After a very hectic few months leading up to the wedding this was exactly what we were looking for. Despite being part of the younger set at the property, we quickly settled in to the slow, serene and relaxed pace. Our third floor room with a picture perfect ocean view quickly became our go-to breakfast spot, with a late afternoon cheese plate always readily available from our wonderful butlers. In room drinks, wine and champagne were plentiful and appreciated. We quickly became attached to our quiet corner of the East beach, with butlers happy to bring you food and snacks as you pass the afternoon away. Food at this resort was truly outstanding and really makes the difference if you, like us, were taking your first stab at a higher end resort such as Sandals, with a bigger price tag than any other 5 night stay you might consider. Believe us, it is worth it. You are spoiled with warmth and kindness, delicious food, bottomless drinks, turquoise calm water. We simply didn't want to leave.

Some tips for the resort would be to ensure that the butler service is a little bit more clearly explained and that a tour is provided of the resort. Our room was missing a few amenities, which was quickly corrected with a call to front desk. Our spa service was outstanding, although there was a little bit of confusion with our booking at the outset.

Overall, we are already recommending this without hesitation. We did not venture over to the bigger sandals because we really weren't looking for a crowd this trip and our food was so amazing, a buffet option just didn't intrigue us. We didn't do any excursions, although the resort is happy to organize anything for you. Only critique, our drive into town was a bit disappointing as our driver really ended up taking us to her friends stores and stalls and we felt slightly pressured to buy items when we would have happily walked around on our own. We were disappointed that we were set up with her which put us off our afternoon in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mustlovehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We would like to return to a sandals location, which surprised both of us, to be honest. We enjoyed lazy days at the pool, beach, and bars. We did have several issues with check-in, and our room category was not honored. My husband spoke to several employees and a supervisor before this was fixed and we were switched. This left a bad taste but overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
57.0 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $556 - $1,455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing