We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another superb visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned form our sixth stay in 9 years at The Royal Plantation and it has to be our favourite one so far. As is clear from a lot of other reviews, the levels of service and the staff at the hotel make it a very special destination indeed. It would be impossible to name everyone who helped to make our holiday perfect but we do want to mention a few individuals who were fantastic. Our butlers, Shelley Ann and Jermaine were just great and so friendly; the bar staff are exceptional, particularly Sean (a seantastic dinner guest indeed for our final meal!) and Andre - "Oh my God" you made us laugh! The hotel is low key in many ways which is what we love about the place, but the entertainment provided is always well judged and the result of very hard work by Jason and OShane and the amazing pianist, Andre.

The food at the hotel is exceptionally good - they have a brilliant team - and this is now led by the new Food and Beverage manager, Rui who we think is a star! We really enjoyed spending time talking to Rui and he helped to make our stay memorable;we hope his family will soon abe able to join him in Jamaica. As mentioned the food is great and all the restaurant servers are universally excellent. We appreciated being able to eat at the Royal Grill in the evenings in the summer months and loved the variety of food available for lunch. A huge thank you to Shanniel and Romane (thanks for the goodbye song!) at the Terrace and the rest of the team, and everyone at Le Papillon which continues to be our favourite place. The servers were brilliant and so professional and friendly.

As you can see this hotel is our favourite place for a holiday and we are counting the days to our next trip in 2014. A huge thank you to Peter Fraser for all the years of hospitality - good luck in Grenada- and to the new manager Mark Starkey who we think will be a huge success.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,573 - 1,579 of 2,665 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's worth the 90 min travel from the airport. Butlers where very friendly and helpful. The hotel is small compared to the other hotels but for couples it's the perfect size. They took good care of us while our stay there and on point with all requests. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you stay at Royal Plantation you can visit any of the other sandal and enjoy their amenities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ckingdabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon and will definitely be returning in the future.
If you want a quiet beach holiday with a touch of class this resort will not fail to impress.

The food and service are comparable to that you would expect in any top class restaurant. The choice is incredible with staff always looking to meet your needs. Our favourite restaurant was Le Papillon (since we visited the resort off-peak we managed to eat in here many times). The Wobbly Peacock bar is also excellent with so many great drinks on offer.

The hotel and rooms are immaculate and constantly tended to by the staff. Note that we were dubious about the butler service before going, but the guys (Orayne and Ricardo) were great. To be honest we never really utilized them that much since there was always other staff members around bringing us food and drinks.

If you are planning any day trips, I can highly recommend the Dunn's Falls catamaran cruise. This involves some snorkeling, a trek up the waterfall and then a trip out to sea with many drinks in your hand! Note that we bought the DVD of our waterfall trip - it was $40, very grainy and we were in it for about 10 seconds - avoid this!

The only downside about our trip was that we flew to Kingston airport. The drive to the hotel takes 2 hours but is comfortable all the same. I understand that a new road is being built which will take this journey down to 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank calwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is my 5th trip with Sandals and 2nd at Royal Plantation. It may sound unreal BUT everything was perfect.

The food, (the 4:00pm tea time with cakes) the service, the rooms were PERFECT! And the beautiful flowers «sitting» on the tables were absolutely gorgeous. The personal is polite and ALWAYS willing to make us happy. We also had the pleasure to spend some time with the Manager, Mr. Mark Starkey and Mr. Rui Rolo, Director of Food and Beverage who were fantastic to us. My husband got sick (nothing to do with the food) and they were of a such great help. They went out of their way to help us. I would definitely suggest Royal Plantation to anyone who wants to rest in elegant surroundings and eat PERFECTLY WELL. We were treat likes like royalty.

Room Tip: Choose a ocean view!!! But all rooms are good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 67AMELIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sandals at it’s Best

Returned to Ocho Rios where we stayed at SGR 10 yrs. ago. This time we celebrated our 48th a couple of weeks late and stayed at Sandals Royal Plantation in late July.
Superb choice. As I always mention we usually don’t have a bad vacation because we sort of go with flow.
This vacation we just wanted to relax and chill. Before I get carried away, can’t say enough about the staff with their proud smiling faces and acknowledging us (even by name) everywhere we went. A great atmosphere.

Flew from JFK, NY to Montego Bay. After customs (two flights landed almost together and it was a bit crowded at immigration) then went to the Sandals lounge and our Sandals private transfer driver was waiting for us. Some refreshments were laid out nicely for us in the car. After being up the whole previous night a welcome touch. Plus a cold Red Stripe helped.
Arrived at SRP and our Butler Marvin greeted us with Mark the GM. My better half didn’t know he was the GM and he politely told her he was Marvin’s asst. I laughed and right there knew it was going to be a special vacation. Neil was our other Butler and grateful that we had him. He has a nice friendly personal touch.
Everyone at check in cheerfully greeted us with “Welcome Home”, which made us feel good.
We talked about an upgrade but supposedly they were at capacity, however we didn’t need one.
Our room was on the first floor on the east side, had a nice view and it was spacious and very clean. The front desk wanted to put us on a list for the next available upgrade but we were very happy with our present room.
This was a first for us with having Butlers. Also another first was having someone unpack for me as my better half joked with Marvin that I always live out of the suitcase and never unpack.
Went to lunch by the beach and had that lobster BLT that we read so much about. It was a good way to start esp. with pleasant Alieka serving us.
After a tour of the resort we freshened up with a fruit platter awaiting us with a stocked bar and fridge, plus my clothes were unpacked and folded. Nice surprise for me.
Marvin made us reservations for Le Papillion that evening.
We were very impressed at being served gourmet food in an all inclusive, the first of many gourmet meals. From escargot, crab soup, intermezzo (a lost touch today), rack of lamb, grilled lobster and dessert we were so impressed. We were served by Sherrill who we really enjoyed, plus we’d see her a few more times along with Orlando in Le Papillion as we luckily ate there 3 times. They’re so nice and fun. The ambience in Le Papillion is nice, esp. with the tunes from the talented piano player.
We spent some time on the east side beach but stayed on the west side mostly. It was closer to the beach bar and restaurant for us. On either beach they will make sure you’re comfortable and bring you anything you want.
The beach is nowhere near the size of Negril’s 7 mile but we fully enjoyed it. Clean, beautiful water and never had to run and place a hat to claim your chairs early. Most of the time we sat in the same spot under a palapa all week. It’s nice not having to worry about beach chairs.
Plus on the beach there’s Awesome Adrian, always bringing Mangosas, water and cocktails to everyone along with Cleon. From all the places we’ve stayed never had that excellent service on the beach.
Lunches were terrific. The view while eating at the Terrace or in a bathing suit with cover up at the Royal Grill was just a treat in itself.
We mostly had lunch at The Terrace after sampling Lucien the Chef’s creations we had to follow him, his personality and his cooking. It was just a treat seeing him everyday.
One morning when my Mrs. was talking to Kirkland the excellent grounds landscaping Mgr. I mentioned to him that I never had real Jamaican style ox tails. Low and behold he talked to Mark the Mgr. and they went shopping for ox tails. After two days Lucien and the ever-pleasant Alieka served us a private lunch and it was off the charts.
Also at lunch Lucien was always grilling, lobster tails, snapper filets, chicken, steak etc. His soups are awesome, be sure to try them.
The food at the Terrace, Royal Grill and Le Papillion was just plain gourmet. The only buffet type meal was Jamaican night.
It was great, jerk pork, chicken, curried goat, eskovitch, Jamaican vegetables etc. and on.
I know I’m talking about food a lot but it was impressive. Davian who was all over from the Royal Grill to the Terrace made sure we tried their red pea soup that his family always made for him. He searched for us every night before he went home, just to see if all was fine. A real gentleman. It was just another of many nice touches at SRP.

Breakfast was either ala carte or sample for yourself, or both. Lucien would be making your omelets, French toast or whatever you desired, with a very cheerful hello. They have excellent Jamaican breakfasts also which are a nice change.
At brkfst and lunch always present were Alieka, Romain and Shennille (sp.?) and Chase. Miss them already.
Besides Le Papillion, the Terrace has a different menu every night based on themes. The Royal by the beach has a seafood menu for the evenings. It was difficult to choose where you wanted to have dinner, as your next meal was better then your previous one.
We didn’t eat at The Wobbly Peacock bar but had a few real heavy laughs there with Andre and Sean. Very nice to sit in their lounge after dinner to chat with friends we’ve met. We did meet a wonderful couple and spent some time with them there and on the beach.

The returnee’s dinner was icing on the cake. We sat with Mark and a few awesome couples and enjoyed the whole night even knowing we were leaving the next day.

On a daily basis went to the beach after brkfst. Then after the beach we dropped into the hot tub next to the pool. Just 5 minutes in there would loosen up my ole bones for another gourmet dinner.
Missed the catamaran cruise because of our timing and schedule.
I used to dive a lot but just quit one day, ironically at SGR and from what I’ve seen they run a good ship.
Ou room was spacious, had a sitting area, nice size bathroom with two sinks, regular bath tub and shower and off to the right was a walk in closet with a nice sized safe at chest level. The walk in was decent sized even with your clothes hanging.
There's a a hair dryer and iron with ironing board also if needed.
The AC worked excellently, room was very cool. Controlled by a remote, not tech savvy so I left it alone. If it was too cool, had the Sandals robes. The bed was a king and very comfortable, esp. for me as I have heavy back issues.
There's also room service and one morning had breakfast in the room. Nice, you can order the night before and hang the request on your door. Prompt at your choice of time.

Sorry this was so long but this was Sandal’s at it’s best.
We almost signed “Soon Come Back” but had to come home and check our dates.
Can’t say enough about Sandals Royal Plantation, go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor and we did have a good view without noise. AC was very cool. Heard that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank TRIP421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

We're so delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great property and the true hospitality of our friendly staff.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back for another stellar experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this resort for part of our honeymoon vie the Destination Lounge who gave us a fantastic deal. The property is immaculately clean and polished and in a perfect location for romantic relaxation. When we arrived we were greeted wonderfully and met our Butlers, both of whom couldn't do enough for us. Being a younger couple we did spend a lot of time in the resort ends door where we could use their facilities as there seemed to be more of a party atmosphere; but it was great to escape back to our resort when we wanted some quiet time. We never used the shuttle to next door always went round the beach, which the hotel advises against but along as you don't mind abut of banter with the locals this is fine. We used the Island Routes tours for all of our excursions and Virginia and the lady that helped us on our final day (sorry we can't remember your name) were the most helpful people ever! Wonderful! My partner and I have both worked in holiday resorts in the past and have high expectations of tours and we are happy to report Island Routes did not let us down ever! The pick ups were always on time if not early with the most helpful and friendly drivers, Johnny Kool is the best driver by far! The only things that were slightly disappointing about the whole trip were the room service menu, we were under the impression this would be a lot more vast than it was, however the food was nice. Also there were a number of occasions where we were told to move of specific beach loungers by beach staff, even when we had asked in advance if it was ok to use them. Unfortunately due to a family emergency we had to cut our trip short and rush home to the UK, our Butlers and Mark dealt with this wonderfully, nothing was too much trouble for them and this meant that we were able to travel home happy with good memories of the resort and our holiday even though it was under bad circumstances.

Thankyou to everyone at the resort for making our honeymoon so wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What more recommendation do you need?

This is one of the best holidays I've ever had. The service, food and overall experience were great.

Like others, we weren't sure we'd need a Butler, but Neil and Kenroy really added to the luxury of our stay.

To be honest the neighbouring resort was too large and noisy for my tastes, but it served a purpose in expanding restaurant choices and being a home for the dive boat. It particularly pleased my sense of schadenfreude that RP guests can use the neighbouring facilities but not vice versa ;)

Highly recommended! See you again at Christmas!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Counosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,355 reviews
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
4,032 reviews
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $581 - $1,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing