We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort Feb. 24-March 2, 2012. We loved it. The staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, the setting was beautiful, the food was excellent. We came to relax and got what we bargained for. This is a resort for couples, and is laid-back.

There are three restaurants; you can go to any of them, though you need reservations for the French restaurant, Le Papillon, which is quite elegant. Breakfast features a huge buffet, with omelets made to order, cereals, fruits, smoked salmon, meats, cheeses, and much more. Breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the Caribbean. Splendid! There is a restaurant at the beach for lunch and supper, as well as Le Papillon for dinner and the Terrace restaurant for all 3 meals.

We liked the fact that the resort was, truly, all-inclusive. All meals, house wines (Beringer), premium drinks, gratuities, non-motorized water sports, all were included. The staff is not allowed to accept tips, which is a welcome change from the typical resort where one has to wonder who to tip and how much.

The exception on gratuities is for the "butlers." These people are well trained and are there to serve you. We had two, Sophia and Audell, who were very helpful and friendly. The resort provides a butler-phone, so whenever we needed anything taken care of, whether questions on a bill, reservations to go back to the airport, bottled water, or whatever, we would call and be taken care of. The expected gratuity is $50 apiece; the butlers earned it. It was a relief to call someone who knew us rather than to have to go through the front desk.

The resort has nightly entertainment, some of it easy listening and some of it Reggae, with dancing under the stars. We especially liked Rojjah, a rising Reggae star who is fantastic. His exuberance, energy, and love of his music make for marvelous performances.

My wife and I are exceedingly picky when it comes to cleanliness, and we had no complaints on that score. If it meets our standards, it will meet yours!

The water temp, I estimate, was 79F. I went on several snorkeling trips, which were neat. One reef has a lot of fish, like a tropical fish tank.

Our travel agent led us to expect lots of mosquitoes, but were pleasantly amazed that there were virtually no bugs; my wife got one bug bite, and I got none. Even in the crafts market in downtown Ocho Rios there were no bugs.

The resort is small (only 74 rooms) and intimate. The staff get to know you and your preferences. If you're looking for an all-party, all-the-time resort, this is not for you. There is a much larger Sandals resort (Grande Riviera) a few minutes' walk away that is like that. Royal Plantation guests have free and unlimited access to Grande Riviera (meals, golf, scuba, etc.)

The one problem we had was that, one night, there was a very loud party in the strip of private property between Royal Plantation and Grande Riviera. The manager called the police several times, but the noise didn't stop until shortly after midnight.

All in all, it was a wonderful, relaxing stay. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ccjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,967
    322
    107
    34
    16
See reviews for
52
2,015
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Sandals Royal Planation for our 30 th anniversary and had high expectations of a wonderful time. Sadly, the only real thing that I can say about our stay was that it simply did not live up to our expectations. In the last five years we have stayed at a total of 13 different 4 to 5 star resorts throughout the Caribbean and Mexico and sadly, for the overall experience and total "fun factor" we would rate this resort in the bottom third.

Firstly, we do have to comment on the fact that the grounds and area is stunning and beautiful. It truly does look like a plantation and the buildings and views are beautiful. Our room was great and very clean. However, we very much dislike the fact that there is no balcony on the rooms. It is a "French balcony" which means you have sliding glass doors that open up. You need to sit in your room to enjoy the "balcony" experience. As some one who likes to enjoy coffee on the balcony in the morning and a private drink in the evening, this was a mild disappointment. 

A major feature of this resort for us was the "butler service". This was a major selling feature for us and one we looked forward to. It however became apparent to us that the "butler experience" was totally dependent on what butler you were assigned. Sadly, ours was lacking. The promotional material indicated that your butler was to meet you on check in, take you to your room, unpack and iron your clothes and take you on a tour of the resort. He was to be available to get you tools at the beach, set up your spot on the "beach" ( the beach itself being a source of my comments to come) and generally " be your guide and host for your stay". Unfortunately, none of this happened. With all honesty, until such time as I had a personal chat with the manager 4 days into our stay, I would not have been able to pick our butler out of a lineup. This was sad because we became friends with a few other couples who had wonderful butlers who even went so far as to stay after their shifts and play a game of pool with them at night. We were bitterly disappointed with our butler service and saw clearly that the level of experience you received was dependent on what butler you were given. Unfortunately , perhaps because we were from Canada and did not raise a big fuss, we were ignored and assigned the "B" team. It is simply sufficient to say that the " Butler experience" for us was a total waste of time and money and we have had far more attentive service in Mexico and St.Lucia by merely befriending and tipping the waiter staff. in fact, a $50 initial " after the first drink " tip to our beach waiter at Paradise Village in Puerto Vallarta 3 weeks previous resulted In the best service I ever had - without a butler!

The biggest failing of this resort is the absolute lack of any type of meaningful beach. For a tropical resort this had the absolute most minuscule beach we have ever seem. It was, at most perhaps 50 to 75 yards long and all of the guests are shoehorned on this postage stamp size beach. It is simply an embarrassment how small the beach and the pool is. It had the smallest resort pool we have ever seen at a resort and it was the size of a pool you see at a Super 8  We love going for walks on the beach and this simply could not happen. The geography of the area prevents any type of walk of over 5 minutes. It is Jamaica, the murder capital of the world, so you do not dare go for a walk on the streets.  For us, the biggest mistake we made was not doing a google earth view of the resort and seeing that our backyard was bigger than the beach. While I know that most people at Royal Plantation did not care about the tiny beach ( because I bet the average age there is 65 +and more than a few guests were literally wheel chaired to their beach chairs), if in fact any type of beach is important to you as a guest, do not stay here! You do have  use of the adjoining Sandals resort but their beach is as small. The long and the short of it is that unless you wish to spend the day sitting in your beach chair surrounded by senior citizens ( and I mean SENIOR) than you are far better off to go to the Sandals in Negril and the 7 mile beach there. 

In all, we thought we simply did not get the value for the money and we feel that this was a poor choice for us. We are both just turned 50 and would suggest that in 15 to 20 years this resort might be a good pick for us but otherwise, we were generally disappointed. A much better choice is a 5 star at Punta Cana or Nuevo Vallarta. The beaches arebgreatnthere and the service as good or better.

WE rate this a 3.5. But concede that if you are 65+ and not active, this resort is a 5









  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Casspaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I and our two friends stayed at the Royal Plantation from Feb 9-12. What a wonderful experience. I don't think I have every received such excellect service. From the Bulter to the cleaning staff. I am so thankful for my experience. Oran/Darrion (Butlers) (spelling sorry), Olivia, Marcelous, thanks a million for your service and dedication to your job. Royal Plantation is blessed to have such a wonderful staff. I hope to see all of you in October. I am trying to get my husband to bring me back when he returns from his military deployment. Enjoy your year and God Bless! Crystal

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The wife and I went to the Royal Plantation and were treated like royalty. It is a beautiful resort and the staff was perfect. Our room was the lowest grade, but it had plenty of room and a great view of the ocean. Every night we had the windows open and heard the crash of waves, it is that peaceful.
I want to thank our two great butlers Sheldon and Ricardo, you made our stay very ,very enjoyable. You are both professionals.
Thank you to general manager for the Return Guest Dinner, the steak and lobster were done perfect, and we meet some great couples from all over.
NOW, the staff, I want to thank all of you for your hard work. The cheff's which nobody can see did a fantastic job, each dish was done perfect with plenty to offer every night. The bartenders, never had to wait and the drinks were well made. Adrian, Cleon, Jason, Samone, you made lying on the ocean a dream. The waiters in all the restaurants were very hard working just to make things right. I also think the crew on the Sunset cruise were awsome.
I would highly recommend this resort!
Yes it takes awhile to get to the resort, just sit back and check out Jamaica, and talk with your driver. It is so nice to sit back and talk with all these people and learn there culture, you are on vacation enjoy every second.
We got to know so many people from all over this world, it was a pleasure.
I almost forgot, thanks O'neal for the cool snorkel trips, and all the rest of the watersports staff. The spa was so relaxing, and the couples message was to die for.
The peacocks were also a great part of the resort!
Entertainment was top notch, something new every night, from Jamaican Night, to the three guys down by the cafe' playing true Jamaican music while you eating lunch.
Thank you all for a great vacation. WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PackersWi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were a couple traveling for 4 nights/5days looking for a relaxing, romantic, luxury vacation. Below is a detailed review of each aspect of the trip. Overall, this resort is intimate, very elegant, beautiful overall with above average food and drinks for an all inclusive. Where it falls short of 5 stars is service which is abysmal for a resort of this caliber.

ARRIVAL:
It takes 30-45 mins to clear customs at MBJ airport. Sandals has a lounge with soft drinks and beer to wait for a shuttle. Bathrooms here nice and clean. Our wait was 30 minutes for the shuttle. The shuttle ride had a total of 8 people, 4 of whom were very loud and obnoxious which made for an extremely unpleasant ride. The road to Ochos Rios is newly built and very smooth with nice sea views. The ride is a little under 2 hours. The driver requires tips.

RESORT:
The resort is very small, especially when compared to the Grande Riveriera next door but it exudes charm. Furnishings are high class with plenty of spaces to relax. There are two beaches, the East and West end (both very small) with lounge chairs to relax. There are 2 piers that are filled with loungers to sun-tan. The West end beach is noisier with more people, a band on some days and it's where the beach bar and restaurant (royal cafe) is located. The east end is quieter and has the watersports poeple. There is a pool and hot tub (both very small). The grounds are tastefully and impeccably manicured.

ROOMS:
We had an orchid view room(the cheapest category). It was spacious with a french balcony looking out at plants and the sea. If you looked down, you had a lovely view of the airconditioner but if you kept your eyes forward, the blue sea was a welcoming sight. The mini bar is well stocked with FULL (not little) sizes of alcohol, sodas, juices and replenished plentifully. The bathrooms are small with a single tub and really bad shower pressure. There is an in room safe that will take laptops.

Rooms are serviced twice a day which is very nice. There is also a pillow menu (which our butler failed to mention but we asked) and that's nice.

ROOM BUTLER:
The butler can make or break your stay. We aren't needy people and happy to do things for ourselves but you HAVE to use your butler to make dinner reservations etc. Our first night, we had a butler that sent us to dinner at the wrong time, sent us for SCUBA at the wrong time (and we had to wake up early only to find we could have slept in). We then got a new butler (not because management made it so but because the butler was rotating off shift). The new butlers were much nicers. They escorted us to dinner which is very nice because they personally seat you and get you started with drinks so you don't have to wait. Other than that, the butlers did draw us a bath and decorate our bed wtih flowers one night (both very nice gestures). You do have to tip your butler. We were unsure of how much and were advised about $50 per bulter (we had 2 not counting the first one who was so bad that we elected not to tip).

Since Sandals highly promotes their butler service, I came back to review what they are supposed to do and they do not do what's advertised. Here are a few things they DID NOT do that Sandals advertises; help us pack/unpack, liase with housekeeping (we came back one night after dinner to find our lunch dishes were still not clear); keep our minibar stocked with preferred items (we got whatever they regularly stock with). We just didn't feel we utilized the butler very much. The escort to dinner (when the butler does it--which is not always) was nice.


BEACH BUTLER:
The beach butlers are nice but service at the East beach (where we hung out) was spotty at best (they came around 2-3 times a day) and non-existent at worst (we went most of one day without ever getting service). The rest of the time, we went to get our own drinks. It's not a far walk to the bar but it's annoying. The west beach gets much better service from what we saw. Towels are scarce at this hotel. They don't keep them out and you have to get them from staff. The watersports staff usually helped us out since the beach butlers were non-existent. You are supposed to tip them (which we didn't since we never saw them).Service (what little there is) is only provided 11am to 4pm (although this is not stated anywhere).


POOL:
The pool is small but faces the ocean and has nice lounging areas that's much less crowded than the beach. Again, service is horrible. We had to wait 30 mins to get a pool towel and only after we asked 3 different staff members (you can only get towels from staff, they don't have it available for us to pick up), we got so tired of waiting for someone to take drink orders that we walked up to the main bar ourselves most time. The service at the pool is near non-existent (perhaps worse than the beach).

RESTAURANT:
There are 2 main restuarants on property; The Terrace and Pappilon. The terrace is a good place for low key breakfast, lunch and dinner. The service is very slow but the food is decent. Pappilon has a dress code but it's very elegant, the food is great and service is pretty decent. They do have tea time every day but the person serving us didnt' know what "decaf" meant. The selection of teas is generic Lipton and Tetley. No tipping needed for restaurants.

ROOM SERVICE:
Takes a minimum of 45 minutes (even if you just order a pot of coffee). The food is decent and they set it up with white table cloth service in your room. The presentation is great. However, they do tend to get your order wrong (especially at breakfast) and in order to get the right stuff, it takes another 45+mins. We got so frustrated that we ended up going to the restaurant so we didn't have to endure the long waits. No tipping needed for room service.

WATERSPORTS:
The watersports department is great. They do 2 snorkeling boat rides and 2 glass bottom boat rides a day, all from the East beach. The sites are within 5 mins. The staff is friendly and hardworking. They taught us how to paddle a surfboard, use a hobie cat sail and ride a beach trike. They also offer kayaks. All are included and no tipping needed.

GRANDE RIVERIA:
The larger grande riveria resort is an easy shuttle ride or quick walk over the beach from Royal Plantation. It's a bigger, noiser resort. We mostly went there for dinner. The restaurants there are spotty. Kelly's dockside has great ambience but lousy food and horrible service. Kimonos has decent food and great service. Valentino's has great food but slow service. The scuba people were VERY uptight. the boat had 20 people and the leader was like a drill seargent, not the relaxed folks we are used to from other caribbean islands. They also made us carry our own gear down the pier, across the beach and to the shop. In contrast, the snorkel staff at Royal plantation always asked us to leave the gear on the boat and they dealt with it. The grande rivera is a good party/activity hotel. The royal plantation is quiet and laid back.


OVERALL:

The property is beautiful and I can see where it could be a "leading hotel" if they had better service. The staff were nice and friendly and always ready with a "yea mon" for whatever you asked but were either slow in getting it or ignored your request altogether.

Room Tip: the rooms with proper balconies have a roof over them so the effect is the same as the french balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank TazDevil30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Do recommend the food was excellent , the butler service was faultless, hotel was in very good condition, recommend to stay here

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

SiLiW has more or less echoed our thoughts on our trip - but I want to share just how great Royal Plantation is! From the moment we walked through the doors until the butler waved us goodbye we had the best holiday ever. I was taken ill on the Monday whilst eating at SGR next door (nothing to do with the food btw!) and the care I was afforded by the staff at SGR, the nurse, the doctor on call and then our butler, Sheldon, and Imobne the assistant manager cannot be faulted. Sheldon and Imobne stayed well over their "clocking off" time to ensure I was ok and to escort us back to SRP - they checked up on me every single day and even made sure our fridge was stocked with Gatorade to help my recovery! Our other butler was Richard and I can honestly say we had the two best butlers at the Plantation. From drawing hearts in the sand at the beach, to special bubble baths and devising the menu and serving us dinner from Room Service, the whole experience was completely enhanced by Sheldon and Richard. All the staff were so friendly and made us feel like we were the only people there. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindie163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Expedia, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing