We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Plantation has become our primary vacation destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Royal Plantation has become our primary vacation destination!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our second trip to Royal Plantation (RP) in eight weeks. We went in April of this year and liked it so much we returned in June.

The food quality is outstanding and not just for an all inclusive. We had dinner with the general manager (Peter Frasier) and his passion for cuisine that we experienced during our stays was confirmed during our conversation. Buffets are rare (and of high quality) and always an option not mandatory. This is NOT an all inclusive where quantity of food substitutes for quality.

The service quality is impeccable. The butlers (ours were Richard and Rochester) are phenomenal! Our first rule for visiting RP is to call your butler first. Rochester and Richard really made our trip.

The high level of service shown by the butlers permeates the entire staff. From Adrian and Andre (the beach butlers); Gladstone the bartender; Altinea who runs the excursions; Ashley the food and beverage manager and throughout the resort the service level is amazing.

RP is far superior to other all inclusives and even the other Sandals properties nearby. It differentiates itself based on quality and service and if you leave the property and visit the other resorts you will notice the difference immediately. If you want a resort with swim-up bars, massive quantities of cheap food served in a large trough with "Hot Hot Hot" playing on a continuous loop, this is NOT the resort for you. If you want a true dining experience with the highest level of service in a small boutique setting you will love the Royal Plantation. This is a very rare and unique resort which is why we have chosen it as our primary vacation destination!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChiTownFamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,968
    322
    107
    34
    16
See reviews for
52
2,016
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Wow is all I can say when it comes to Royal Plantation!! Spending a week with my husband at this spectacular hotel was amazing. It was just so peaceful and relaxing. We loved going to the 5 Star Diamond European Spa everyday to get facials and massages done. If you are a lover of golf this is also a place for you. We would play golf at the Sandals Golf and Country Club every morning as there were complimentary green fees. The course was beautiful and the sunny days just made it perfect to be outside golfing. Our favorite place to eat was Le Papillion which is the French cuisine at the resort. The food was so scrumptious. We also had dinner a few times at the near by Sandals Ocho Rios resort which has 11 venues you can chose from to eat at. This was a week my husband and I needed just to relax and unwind from all the stress we have had in our lives the past couple of months. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ismartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Having read most of the reviews our travel agent kind of convinced us to stay here. Honestly, this was the best ever choice made when it comes to a relaxed, private beach holiday!

From the point of arrival and spending a few minutes in the Sandals lounge to the point of reaching the airport again everything was just PERFECT.
Upon arrival to the hacienda one of our Butlers, Derron greeted us and took care of the first night's in-room dinner. He has also made a quick tour of the property the following morning and made sure that we feel comfortable and relaxed. Together with the other butler Orayne they made our vacation memorable! From small things like a tube of aloe vera gel when my missus was burnt to decorating our room for our anniversary... they just gave us exceptional service.

The beach butlers, Adrian and Andre are doing their best to keep you relaxed and hydrated through the day. Great job guys, you made us smile a lot!

The restaurants on site are great, we preferred the Terrace Bar for its relaxed atmosphere over Le Papillion, which is more elegant. There was one thing great : you can order ANY restaurant's course irrelevant where you are sitting. Even in the pub we could order the Papillion's magnificent Chocolate Pudding and got served within 10 minutes. Pub Fare is usual British comfort food. Nothing fancy but honestly good fish & chips and a lovely bread & butter pudding.
You can always go to the next property (for 3 more restaurants) which is the Sandals Grande Ocho Rios but we turned our back on it after 20 minutes as it was noisy and without any charm. Nevertheless, it is worth a glimpse why you chose the Plantation over that :)

Peter Fraser, the General Manager always smiles, has a good word or two to say and helps out where he can. Seemingly the whole staff behaves like a big jolly family, making the atmosphere like nothing we have ever seen.

We hope to come back one day - hopefully soon - and spend more time here. If you opt for a bit of luxury, privacy with exceptional service and honest smiles, THIS IS the place to go for!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ka0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Not a bad word to be said about this wonderful piece of paradise.........

A full review will be posted later but I thought a few pictures may help.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was just what we needed for a most relaxing and enjoyable vacation! Our Son got married in Negril and after they left for the honeymoon. We went to Royal Plantation.

From the moment we got into the transport vehicle to the resort until the moment we had to say good-bye, we loved it and most definely will return!!!

Our Butlers - Kevin and Richard - were accommodating, thoughtful, and thorough.
Bartenders - Gladstone and Cydella - not only mixed the cocktails perfectly and kept them coming, but were the perfect mix in conversation!
Hostess of the gift shop - Lorna - Helpful in all ways and much appreciated - great sense of humor!
Captians and First Mates -Clayton, Jermaine, and Mikel - Awesome and fun to be around!!
Le Papillon waiter - Kenneth - very warm and friendly. Perfect!
Red Lane Spa therapist - Rhona - just wonderful!
Housekeeper - Shorna did a great job at keeping our room spotless!
The Mento Band - very very nice. We loved them!

High Tea was a special treat every afternoon at 4pm.

Staff had big smiles and kind words, towards us, and fellow employees. The Resort was spotless and very very well maintained.

Our needs and comfort was top priority.

With Respect, Irie, and Blessed up !!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms definietly have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crissycraft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

this is an amended review from a review i posted back in july 2010 after immediately coming back from our honeymoon. we actually had a great time at this resort, enjoyed our stay and immediately had great memories of our time there upon getting back home. then, we looked at my wife's credit card bill and realized that someone had stolen her credit card, made about $5k worth of charges and put the credit card back in her purse. we never left the resort and her purse was in our room the entire time so clearly it was a member of the hotel staff. upon complaining to the hotel and Sandals Corporate, they said that there was nothing that they could do and that we should have used the safe (which is absolutely true). even though they are legally not liable as you are told to use the safe, they gave absolutely zero effort to try to get to the bottom of the theft even though one of the charges was a direct transfer to someone's bank account.

in summary, this has certainly damaged our memories of this place as you think back on all the service staff that was nice was really looking to steal from you. pretty crappy.

if you do go here, definitely make sure that you lock your stuff up

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
33 Thank detchevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operabuffOchoRios, General Manager at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your vacation with us. We are however, disappointed to know that you feel our employees’ genuine interest to excel in the level of service provided was powered by ulterior motives. Our investigations on the matter of the alleged credit card fraud did not find the Hotel or its employees being involved in any way. We assure you that the Hotel maintains a 100% safety record.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotch plains
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at this resort a few years ago and have been wanting to go back. It is a bit of a ride from the airport (1.5 hours). We decided for our 30th anniversary we would make the trip. It is well worth the 1.5 hour ride from the airport.

We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a jacuzzi and a rain shower that overlooked the ocean and a large balcony.

Our private butler, Fiona, was exceptional! There was not a thing she wouldn't do for us. From unpacking, to filling up our jacuzzi, to making our reservations for dinner and tours, to getting our ipod from our room when we forgot to bring it to the beach to bringing us fresh fruit after we got back from the beach everyday.

The spa is great. We each went 2 times. The beach is a little small, but great service and there is always a butler or beach boy waiting to get you a chair. We also had a private dinner on the beach for our anniversary. It was perfet.

The restaurants for dinner are both fabulous. One restaurant sits overlooking the ocean with great entertainment every night. The other restaurant is a little more dressy ( no shorts or sandals for guys) and a bit more upscale menu. Service and food are great at both. When the entertainment outdoor ends, the piano at the pub starts. It is great having a little entertainment at night. We have been all over the caribbean, and not many places have anthing to do after dinner.

The day we were leaving, we booked again for next year. That should say enough right there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank morkScotchPlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
45.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
61.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Property: Sandals Royal Plantation
Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica
Sandals Royal Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing