We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant in Ocho Rios Jamaica”

Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #18 of 114 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Mongoose Jamaica is more than a Restaurant, it's an experience.This Restaurant is "something different," We did something 'different' with the name as well, when we choose the "Mongoose" which has a rich history in Jamaica. Breakfast ranges from typical Jamaican fare of ackee and salt fish to pancakes and French toast. For dinner, there's chicken southern fried, curried, grilled lobster, grilled or curried, pork or steak. If you prefer, grab a sandwich, a pizza, some Jamaican jerk, or something from the grill, or maybe a cocktail from the bar. Black forest cakes and cheesecakes are our specialty desserts.
St. James USA
2 reviews
“great restaurant in Ocho Rios Jamaica”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant and were very happy we did. My fish and chips were the best! Service was excellent. Place is clean and the new owners are keen to do everything right. Our table was under cover but open to the breezes coming off the sea across the street.

Nice setting. Clean. Good food. Not cheap but reasonable.

We liked it so much that when we were driving back through Ocho Rios we stopped again. We were greeted like family by the chef.

Private fenced parking lot behind building.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    79
    44
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant and shop”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

great menu selections and a nice gift shop so you can nosh and shop at the same time! This spot is located right outside the gates of Sunset Jamaica Grande with parking in the rear. The mongoose motif was elegantly done with detailing on the entrance doors and wood carvings of mongoose in the venue.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“eating out”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

mongoose jamaica was just at the end of the drive from the hotel the food was very nice and the service was good too

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joanhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've visited most restaurants in Ochi through the years and found the pricing exorbitant......$13.50 for a hamburger plate. It was night, but the interior looked very nice and the staff were friendly; they're located in the old "Mamma Marley's' which has moved west, closer to the cruise ship terminal. I can't comment on the food as we had four beer, paid the $20.00 and left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful Meal”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We met friends for lunch on Friday. The restaurant had a nice vibe. The menu prices were reasonable. Our waitress was pleasant. A teenager was begging us for money over the sidewalk wall but the staff asked him to leave. He was persistent.

I ordered the curry chicken with vegetables and garlic potato mash. It was superb. Woo, my palate is longing for more. My friends enjoyed pizza and southern fried chicken. Overall it was a good dining experience. I'll have to go back when I'm in Jamaica again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazelcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Mongoose Jamaica Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing