We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Dolphin Cove

Dolphin Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Shuttle Service from Runaway Bay Hotels to Ocho Rios Attractions
Ranked #9 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent property has a natural cove which is surrounded by 5 acres of lush tropical rain forest. Visitors have the opportunity to interact and "Swim With" dolphins, enjoying the thrill and love of these amazing lovable animals. Visitors can also swim with, hold, feed and learn about the evolutionary secrets of the Caribbean sharks. Visitors can capture their dream of being a dolphin trainer by taking the challenge of being "Sea Keeper" for the day. Voted as Jamaica's Number One Attraction for a reason. Come for the day, for memories of a lifetime.
Seaford, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was so much fun! At first, had butterflies about getting in the deep water with 2 dolphins, but had such a great time interacting with Beta & Cometa that I was sorry to have to get out of the water.
You first learn some commands and safety info, the tour guide was hysterical. Then you get to give the dolphins commands to dance and sing. They swim right in front of you and you can pet them as they swim by. We were lucky to have the package with the 2 dolphins. For the more timid, you can do the package where you just stand in knee deep water and pet them and get a kiss. Then you can do the swim with 1 dolphin, where you get to do a belly to belly swim.
But....Wow! With 2 dolphins you get to swim between them, holding to the base of their dorsal fin and if that isn't enough, as long as you have pretty good balance and hit it just right: you lay in the water a certain way, they come up behind you and push you up with their noses and you are literally flying across the water! It was a rush.
I fell in love with these gentle, sweet creatures that day. This tour is definitely worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,542
    788
    325
    121
    87
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Swim with a dolphin... checked off bucket list at Dolphin Cove!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Pleasant surprise upon arrival at Dolphin Cove. Before our Swim package, my husband, daughter and I had time to enjoy the amusing Shark Show, checked out the beautiful Parrots, fed colorful Love Birds (sweet!), visited and fed the bunnies and guinea pigs, went kayaking, and finally... enjoyed a wonderful swimming encounter with a five year old dolphin named Alex. Swimming with a dolphin has been on my bucket list of things to do for a longtime and this experience exceeded my expectation! My fearless 10 year old daughter got to swim, dance and kiss the dolphin and our half hour encounter went way too fast. The trainers were wonderful and my husband (who was born in Jamaica) and I were both happy to see local Jamaicans employed as the Dolphin Trainers. Only downside was our DVD was damaged! Arriving back to the states, we couldn't wait to relive the experience only to experience a non-working DVD. UPSIDE...we emailed Dolphin Cove and they responded immediately and they are in the process of locating our file and sending a new DVD. Thankfully, my husband stayed on the sidelines to capture some of our encounter with our personal video camera.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The time we spent there was very enjoyable. I only wish we had paid the extra money to allow us to get into the water with the dolphins. Great photo opportunity for a photo enthusiast. Vendors were not as forceful as other places we visited. A simple polite no thank you worked well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoFrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

we had the ultimate swim package and had a great experience with two dolphins who looked well cared for and related well to the trainers well worth the upgrade. The shark show was funny and worth watching. mini boats good fun. you need at least 3 or 4 hours to do everything.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist friendly”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very costly and enclosed. This is an experience of a lifetime to always remember but expensive per person. I prefer to swim with the stingrays.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MizzisGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Cove also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dolphin Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing