We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COS is the best!”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“COS is the best!”
Reviewed September 23, 2006

We went to COS for our 10th anniversary. We had never been to Jamaica before, but let me tell you - we can't wait to go back! Literally, this was the best vacation EVER and we've been on a lot of vacations. If you want to relax and be pampered, this is the place to go. The service was IMPECCABLE! Everyone was very accomodating and resort was very clean. The restaraunts were delicious and very romantic. We took the day trip to Dunn's River Falls and had a blast. And the private island (if you are brave enough to go) was great fun. We would go back and repeat this exact vacation again. Actually, we plan to! Have fun!

  • Liked — All Inclusive and great service
  • Disliked — Not much in the way of nightlife
  • Tips/Secrets — Be brave - go to the island!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    736
    219
    98
    44
See reviews for
41
2,460
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

I could go on and on about how much we loved our vacation but everybody else has said it all already. I just don't understand how anybody couldn't enjoy themselves at this great resort.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LunchBox73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

We got moved from the horrible sunset janaica grande,let me tell you this place is leaps and bounds above the grande.i couldn;t fault it ,the food was out of this world and the booze original and strong, the service you recieve it top class from the bell boys to the room staff,all the trips are included inc the falls,horseriding glass boat,cacamaran trip,now this was not my cup of tea but it has its own au natural island 500 m from the shore, not creepy or anything, its got a piano bar that close's when tha last person leaves, us brits were the last as always 4.30 5.30 ish every night,top class.If you want a nice place to stay in Ocho Rios and dont have kids you wont go wrong here

Helpful?
14 Thank genosidalstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We would totally agree with Liz & Les who are very fortunate to stay at what we consider our second home in paradise. If only we could stay as often as this couple we would be content for the rest of our lives.

Couples Ocho Rios has everything and more for that special place in paradise. We have only been fortunate to stay twice so far, in Aug '02 for our honeymoon and in Aug '04 to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. If we could we would return again and again with no hesitation.

On our first visit, which was a total surprise for my new wife, we stayed in a garden view room (Room 123 as I recall) and the room was excellent. The greeting of the towels made into swans on the bed was the best first impression you could wish for when you first view your holiday room. After the long bus journey (which we enjoyed as you get to see the culture of Jamaica) and being greeted at the reception with cool towels and a glass of champagne, how could it get any better. Well let me tell you, it did !

We arrived at COR late in the afternoon and joined the orientation group to show us around and explain the activities and where everything was. We were informed of 'Da Island' and it's policy of bare all or return, which was explained very tactfully. Our first impressions were good and we liked the exclusive nature of COR as no other properties were able to use the beach area.

The days were spent mainly soaking up the sun and ambience around the pool area or our favourite place on some loungers on the top deck near the hot tub where the walk to the Bayside resteraunt is. We did not visit the island on our first trip but we did on our second and the experience was truly majical and breathes life into your sole. Our evenings were occupied with romantic dinners in the fabulous resteraunts, the Bayside being our favaourite, listening to the great entertainment and walking along the pier and sitting watching the carribean ocean till late, when we would walk back to our comfortable air conditioned room and look forward to another glorious day.

During our stay I took my PADI diving certificate and was introduced to the world of scuba by the best possible 'dive boys' you could wish for. Collin, Fruity and the rest of the boys became our friends along with many of the staff who were all so friendly and helpful, in fact they just could not do enough for you.

In summary there is no better place to vacation than Couples Ocho Rios, our paradise in the sun.

Peter & Norma - Suffolk, England

  • Liked — The housekeeping was excellent
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be afraid to ask for anything, everything is 'No problem mon'
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank peterweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

In response to one writer who wrote that Couples Ocho Rios "has seen better times", my wife and I having coming to COR for fifteen years, sometimes three times per year. We are currently staying at Couples Ocho Rios for five weeks, we have visited hotels all over the world and in our opinion COR offers value for money and the cleaniless is by far superior than anything we have visited during our travels.

We are most perturbed that negative comments were made about rooms and know this to be totally untrue. The cleanliness of the room and all standards of hygiene are second to none. The food, the friendliness of the staff and all aspects related to the hotel are of exceptional standard.

We have recommended this hotel to many of our friends who are also well travelled and they are all of the same opinion.

It is a pity we cant make our five weeks ten weeks instead, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone without any reservations.

Liz & Les Robinson - England

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
24 Thank crycry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

HI currently staying at the COR until next week, and I must say it has seen better times.

Yes I have been to other all inclusives in the Caribbean and in fact other part of the world so maybe I'm a little spoilt but the room we were given first was filthy. We complained and were given another room we said we'd put up with it and see how it went but decided just to leave it as it was as the other's weren't any better.

Don't get me wrong, the staff are excellent welcoming, food plentiful, weather couldn't be faulted, but we've come a long way for this holiday and it wasn't cheap I do think although I saw previously that the management have said it had an upgrade a lick of paint doesn't solve the problem. Having looked at the comments about the other Couples Hotels in Jamaica there wasn't another one to chose all had not to good ratings.

As I said Housekeeping should be taken to hand I don't feel our bedding has been changed the yellow eiderdown still has a drop of make up I accidently spilt on it over a week a go.

All in all, I feel that people have not been out and seen the big wide world if they feel that this place is "Out of this World" get out and see the rest of it.

Helpful?
84 Thank susanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamman, vice president of operations at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, August 8, 2006
If you are unhappy with the resort rooms please see the general manager who will offer alternatives rooms. If you are still unhappy we will offer a transfer to another Couples resort with out penalties.
Our valued guests are from all over the world and many have traveled extensively. Couples Ocho Rios one of the first all-inclusives in the world with a very high repeat clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed at COR from 7/23-7/31/06. Over the past 6 years we’ve stayed at numerous mid to high end hotels in Negril, Montego Bay and Ocho Rios. After reading every review I could get my hands on concerning Couples, we decided to book the Secret Rendezvous package which meant we didn’t know which resort we were going to until the week prior to departure. I thought all four resorts had their own characteristics that were appealing and didn’t really have a preference so I wasn’t disappointed by any means to get COR.

Rooms: I didn’t pay for the Ritz, so I didn’t expect the Ritz. We booked a garden room and were upgraded to an ocean view. The room was dated but nothing out of the ordinary for a resort that old. Pretty standard furniture, bedding and bathroom fixtures.

Beach: Definitely exceeded my expectations. Plenty of chaises and floats and was not nearly as small as some have described. The hotel provides beach service for drinks which is about the height of laziness since the bar is literally steps away but that’s what we paid for so we took full advantage.

Included Excursions/water sports: As this was our 7th trip to Jamaica, we’ve done just about everything on land and at sea and did not partake in any of the included excursions/water sports but heard from people who did that you can’t go wrong with any of them.

Tower Island: I wasn’t brave enough to try, much to my husband’s dismay.

Food: Again, you get what you pay for. It was pretty much what we expected. Breakfast and lunch are buffet only (which gets old real fast) but there really is a lot of variety and the continental breakfast room service is a must for those mornings of lounging in your pj’s on your balcony. The two reservation restaurants are good and we never had a problem with getting a reservation and ate at both twice. The Verandah Restaurant is the other al la carte option and does not require a reservation and has a very good menu selection. They do change the menus at each restaurant so if you see something you like one night you might not see it again by the time you leave.

Bar Service/drinks: It’s all-inclusive so if you like a stiff drink and don’t tell them to make it a double, it’s your own fault. “Premium brands” hold true for some liquor (Gin, Scotch) but not for your Vodka, Tequila and others. Not a big deal as they have a very extensive liquor cabinet and we always found something that would please the taste buds. For the most part, service is wonderful. You always get your hit and miss people.

Overall: It is probably heaven for novice travelers as I thought my initial visits to all-inclusives were and have since been exposed to how good it can be. You can’t compare the place to the higher end hotels and you’re also not paying those prices so if that’s what you’re looking for, don’t go. Otherwise, I would recommend the Secret Rendezvous package and take a chance for a very reasonable price.

Helpful?
45 Thank cshillingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,886 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,394 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing