We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concerns about Couples Ocho RIo”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
saint louis
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Concerns about Couples Ocho RIo”
Reviewed June 17, 2005

We just got back from Couples Resort in Ocho Rios. The hotel did have old world charm. It does need some updating we had an ocean view room the view was very nice, but the room was not. The food was very average. The only choice for breakfast was a buffet, and the only choice for lunch was a buffet or the beach grill which was very slow service. The service in general was slow and not very friendly. We did enjoy the nude island, that is were you got the best service. The biggest problem for us was the 2 hour bus ride from the airport. The ride was horrible, if you get car sick it will be a problem. The roads are very bumpy. They are building a new road but it looks like it will be a very long time before that is completed. This was our third all inclusive trip. We stayed at an adults only complexes in Puerto Vallarta and Cancun. I can tell you that the service, food and atmosphere is much better in Mexico. We did like that the beaches at Couples were private and you did not have vendors bothering you. All in all it was an average vacation, but for the money Crown Paradise Hotels in Mexico are a much better experience and less money.

Helpful?
63 Thank cardsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    736
    219
    98
    44
See reviews for
41
2,460
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 16, 2005

Upon arrival and throughout our stay we were treated like royalty!! The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly!! They were always singing and dancing and enjoying life! The views are amazing everywhere you look, from the gardens to the ocean. The food was excellent from the buffets to the five star restaurants! A different variety everyday. The bartenders are helpful and quick to serve you. The guest services and front desk staff will bend over backwards to accomadate you. The activities and entertainment are excellent and well organized. We met several wonderful couples and left with friends across the United States. Highly recommended, you will not regret a minute you spend at COR! We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2005

I have never written a review of this hotel before because I'm computer illiterate and realise that the internet can be a valuable source of information or a very dangerous source of bad information. There were two reviews of this hotel which just showed up on trip advisers which I believe are very misleading. We happen to be at the hotel this very minute in the second day of our 11 day vacation. This is our 46th visit to Couples Ocho Rios. We have been coming to this resort since 1982. So obviously we like the place. When people ask us why we keep coming back to the same hotel we always respond the same way. The staff couldn't be nicer, more friendly, or better trained. The all inclusive is really all inclusive. We just got back from attending a wedding of some young people we met at couples two years ago. It was in Las Vegas where if you don't gamble each drink was $10. That is quite a contrast with Couples.

The facility itself is situated on one of the prettiest pieces of beach you'll ever see. It's not big but it'd very special. We travel a lot and we are always comparing hotel setting with couples. the other places consistently come up as not quite as nice.

We came in on the bus trip with three other couples who were on there first trips here. They all indicated that they chose couples at least in part because they liked the comments and dialogue on the couples.com web site. this is typically guests who have been here responding to questions of people who might be interested in booking the hotel. We've seen them and they seem to be having a wonderful time. One of them is a travel agent and sells a lot of Couples but had never been here before. On the bus ride to the hotel my wife asked what kind of complaints they get about couples and she said "we don't get any". That tells you something.

Now in response to the comment Don't ever go to couples in Feb or Oct because you might run into the "Islanders". I can give you the whole story because it was my wife who thought that it would be fun on our 4th or 5th trip here back in 1987 that we should call the small group of friend we had met on the island (where you avoid tan lines) "The Islanders". End of story. We do make up T-shirts that have cute sayings on them like Couples our place in the sun. The group loosely described has gotten larger as more people ask when we are coming back and they end up coming back the next year. It's just a fun loving group who happen to like avoiding tan lines. By definition, we are all repeat guests. The special treatment is the same for all guests. In fact that's one of the best things we hear about the place when we are here. I can't tell you how many first time guests tell us "you've obviously been here before because you call the staff by name and they know your names but you know they treat us the same special way".

This is not to say that you can't have a bad time at couples. I guess it's possible but my wife tells everyone we meet that "If you have a bad time at couples it's your fault not theirs." The other thing we say is that"Coming back to couples for a couples vacation is a lot more fun and a lot cheaper that a marriage counseler" It seems to be working. We've been married for 37 years this Oct. when we will be back at couples!!!! "The Islanders" couples have on average been married for 20 years. They are all ages.

I'd recommend you give Couples a try. You'll love it and who knows you may meet other people that you get along well enough with that you'll want to meet them again at Couples. Like we did.......

Helpful?
24 Thank fhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2005

This past May my wife & I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary at Couple in Ocho Rios and here is my review:

Restaurants: Tough to pick a favorite of the three seated service ones(Bayside, Le Gourmet & Verandah) the food was excellent, service was excellent as well, only time we felt the service was a little slow was at Verandah, but we where with great company so it really didn’t matter. Calabash (Buffet) & Beach Grill where great as well, the Mrs like the breakfast buffet the best.

Excursions: We did Dunn’s River Falls, Catamaran cruise, Glass Bottom Boat. Dunn’s was great what an adventure, bring a water proof camera and water shoes. Catamaran cruise was very relaxing, got to meet some great people and see some different parts of Jamaica and the Glass Bottom Boat trip was very nice and educational.

Tower Island: What a great concept….on a Clothing Optional beach people have a choice on their state of undress and it may make some people un-comfortable if one person is naked and another is only topless but on Tower Island everyone is in their birthday suit. We met the greatest people out there and this was our 1st time in this state of undress, we spent a few hours out there each day and the people who joined us later that week kicked themselves they didn’t join us earlier in the week….So if you think you might want to head over to the Island DO IT!! And if you don’t like it the shuttle will get you in a few minutes.

One thing that is not on the activities list at Couples was me & Mrs where witness (best man & maid of honor) to the wedding of Shelby & James (I met via the Couples message board) who where married on the beach. It was an honor to be part of their special day and Couples staff did a great job in making it that way.

The Staff was great, they made sure you where having a good time and everything was in order. What a great group of hard working people they help make out vacation the best ever!!

If you are looking for a good time and a good bang for your hard earn buck Couples is the way to go.

I would highly recommend Couples for Honeymooners or any couple who is looking for that special place to share with that special someone.

Feel free to email me with any question.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2005

My wife and I visited COR during this past February and that was a MAJOR mistake.There was a group there that call themselves the ISLANDERS.They totally take over the island during the day and disrupt the resort at night.On the island they are very rude,LEWD and extremely loud.The alcohol has taken control of this wild pack.You would be arrested in the UK if you did these things out in public.

There is talk on the Couples message board about Couples investigating this group.For the sake of NICE guests this needs to be done.They need toning down.

We will visit COR again but not during their so called week.They visit each February and October..Trouble could happen unless this pack is broken up.

COR is really a wonderful resort that we highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
209 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2005

My husband and I were just at COR May 29-June 4,2005. First impression--WOW! Upon seeing our room--Stunning! We had been upgraded, for free, to an oceanview room. It was very quiet. We slept like a rock every night. The beauty of the hotel, the graciousness of the staff, the attention to every little detail that this place embodies...it is beyond anything we could have imagined beforehand. Of course, we had heard it all, particularly from the Couples MB where the diehards go to share experiences. All I can say is they are right on, and more! We were there celebrating our 20th anniversary and were treated like royalty. Champagne and snacks in the evening, turndown service every night. We were even treated to a free couples massage, due to a little snag with our reservation upon arrival. They did everything in their power to make us feel welcomed. If you've been saving for an extra special vacation with that someone special, you can't go wrong. We thoroughly enjoyed the horseback ride that comes with the hotel, the waterfall climb I wasn't so crazy about, but we came out of that having met some wonderful people that we continued to spend time with at the resort. We booked the blue mt. bicycle tour throught the excursions desk, and are so glad we did. What a real treat that was! The food was more than excellent. The piano bar, even before 11 p.m. can be great fun if you're with the right people in the same frame of mind. I could go on. Like I said, it's beyond imagination until you go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank momuv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, PA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2005

My wife and I planned this vacation later than we plan any of our other vacations in the past. We decided to go to Jamaica just as "lets try it out" kind of thing especially after hearing all of the various reports of the problems that they are having down there. Anyway, we decided to take a chance and we like what we had read in the brochure for Couples Resorts in Ocho Rios. When we got off the plane and after going through customs we were greeted at the Couples Resorts welcoming committee. They offered you something cold to drink (beer, soda, water). Then we were taken by a small van on a 2 hour drive through the country side to Ocho Rios. I have to admit it was a long 2 hours especially after being on the plan for 3 ½ hours. But all in all it was not bad. I felt like I was a kid asking “are we there yet”. Anyway after arriving at the resort we were greeted by another welcoming committee. We were given a choice of beverages including alcohol, which I was glad to take after the long ride. Anyway, they explained the important things such as giving us the key to the room, explaining about the safe, and what time to meet for the orientation that would explain all of the amenities of the resort. The resort is slightly older but kept very clean and neat. Our room was nice but basic, it was a large room with a balcony. The bathroom was standard, nothing special. But who ever stays long in the room anyway, besides sleeping and other things. The orientation was great. Our guide was knowledgeable about the resort and the island, and they were funny too. They had activities everyday and evening. The food was great. They had four restaurants and two of them you had to make reservations for in advance. They also had a beach grill that was open until 4 am. We mainly ate our meals at the buffet style restaurant. They had so many dishes from which to choose. They offered so many activities at this resort that were included in the price that you paid. The activities included: snorkeling, scuba diving, glass bottom boat ride, booze cruise, horse back riding, trip to Dun’s River Falls. That does not include all of the other daily activities that they have posted on a daily basis on their activities board. If you decide to do scuba diving I would suggest signing up early. And if you are interested in getting certified in scuba diving, there are a great bunch of guys who run the scuba classes. I had a great experience scuba diving and it was my first time. All of the staff at the resort go out of their way to help you and provide you with first class service. The resort has a policy of no tipping. The only time we tipped was for the guides on the horseback riding and Dun’s River Falls. It was great to tip when you wanted to and not feel pressured into it. We did tip a few of the employees just before we left to show our appreciation for making our stay so wonderful. Also, there is a nude island that one must try at least once. This is the first all-inclusive resort that my wife and I have stayed that had so many activities included in the price that you did not have to pay extra. Such activities as scuba diving, snorkeling, glass bottom boat ride, booze cruise, Dun’s River Falls and horseback riding. All I can say we had a great time and would go back again in a heart beat.

Helpful?
14 Thank Tazdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,887 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,393 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing