We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it~!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved it~!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2004

I just wanted to post a quick review...I was a little worried before heading on our honeymoon after reading a few bad reviews. We had an amazing time! Our room was amazing...everything was excellent! We spent a week (Julyl 11-18) at couple Ocho Rios for our honeymoon. We loved the "old hollywood" charm of the place...food, drinks, and accomadations! We will be going the again soon. I would recommend couples to everyone!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,987
    718
    210
    96
    44
See reviews for
38
2,388
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2004

This was our second trip to Couples Ocho Rios. This trip was better than the first. I can't see why anyone would rate this resort anything less than perfect. We started out to the resort about a week ago. We had a little trouble with our luggage and did not receive it until the next day but that was Air Jamaica's fault. When we arrived at the resort around 10:00 a.m. we were greeted with cool scented towels and champagne. I knew from that point that it would be the best vacation we had ever had. Since we were returning guest we took advantage of the free flight from Montego Bay to Ocho Rios. The flight was about 30 minutes and we were at the resort. This is the way to go because it beats a 2 hour bumpy bus ride anyday. We stayed at Couples for five nights and six days and had plenty to do. Our room was wonderful. We had room 204 in the main building and our balcony had a perfect view of Tower Island and the water. We had requested a room in the main building because we were told that they were the nicer ones. We could not have been happier with our room. We participated in all of the activities and water sports. I think one of the best features of this resort is the people who work there. When we first arrived our room was not ready yet so we went to the beach grill to eat. Right away one of the staff (Davis) approached us and introduced himself to us. He makes the omelets every morning and we saw him everyday after that. He would remember us by name and talk to us everyday. We also made friends with one of the bartenders (Diane) who would make us our favorite drink (Pale Face). This was her speciality and no one else knew how to make them. The entertainment staff (Trace and Terri-Ann) were great also. The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. I can not say enough about this resort. We have been back for two days now and I am so sad and want to go back. I would recommend this resort to anyone. If you have any questions or would like more detailed information about something, please email me.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2004

Well first of all I read for weeks all the reviews some good some bad. So I was skeptical at first.
My boyfriend 26 and I 25.
The bus ride isn't all that bad the roads are being improved besides all the sites to see take your mind off it. We got out of the airport and I saw GOATS sitting right outside the gate!! That's definatly not something you see everyday:)
So after two or so hours we arrived at COR WOW the grounds were beautiful. We were welcomed with rum punch (don't drink too much at first you will get plenty at the Catamaran cruise) or champagne.
Were not so picky but I do like nice things our room 336 was a balcony ocean view room nice but the doors are made out of wood so they swell and they stick. By the time we decided we want to try a different room the were booked. I highly recommend the main buiding there newer rooms.
I am very picky about food but I loved the food, Bayside was the best out on the water, if you can go at 6:30 to watch the sunset.
There is so much to do from exersice classes to water sports, the spa, to sitting on the beach all day. We recommend Dunn river falls and buy the video it's $25 and it's worth it.
We met a few couples that were going to keep in contact with and we all plan to come back together.
I hope this review was helpful remember it's your vacation relax and enjoy it!

Helpful?
4 Thank workoutnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2004

Dont let the title spoil any chance you get to go to this resort. We got back a week ago and had an absolutley fantastic time. Anyone on this website who writes a bad review needs to chill out!!
The beach isnt big but its private from locals and the pool is as relaxing as it could be. There are numerous daily activities to keep you busy (and amused) The food and service was superb especially liked the poolside party with steel band playing. We had a lovely room with aircon and satellite tv. The whole place is a relaxing, laid back atmosphere and it comes highly recommended. My only advice is that if you dont like people from USA be prepared as its 95% of them and dont they like you to know it!!!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank mp27uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2004

My husband and I (which our in our mid twenties) just returned from COR (June 13-18, 2004) for our honeymoon. After reading all the mixed reviews I was a little nervous about choicing COR but excited that it was our honeymoon and our first all-inclusive vacation.

Let me first say that everything was more than we expected. We loved COR!!!! Yes, like everyone has said the hotel is dated but we wanted something that was smaller and personally to our needs. We had a great room, (Room 206 in the main building) over-looking the ocean. The food was great, especially Bayside and Le Gourmet. Most of our time was spent at the beach and the pool. I would definitely recommend all the activities like snorking, Dunn's River Falls, Horseback riding, and Shopping execursions (be prepared to tip the tour guides at the outtings and when you go on the shopping outting be prepared to bargain)!!!

Over-all this was our first vacation together and it was well worth every penny. We definitely want to come back to COR or check out the other two Couples resort in Negril next year.

We definitely want to recommend this resort to any couple that wants an intimate vacation!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon, MO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2004

My husband and I went to COR the last of February. We had a wonderful time!! I don't know where all these negative reviews come from. The bus ride was interesting to say the least but upon arrival we were greeted with cold, rose scented towels and a glass of cold champagne. We enjoyed all types of wonderful food, and the service was wonderful. You would never get waited on like that here in the states. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The furniture was of a different era, but we liked that. It was more like old Hollywood, who wants brass and glass? We have never had a more relaxing vacation. The only negative experience was with the vendors at Dunn River Falls. I think some of the people who write the negative reviews are just picky and unhappy people. I would recommend COR to anyone!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Toothy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2004

This was my 4th time in Jamaica and second to Couples Ocho Rios. We were last at this hotel 3 years ago. We loved the place the first time and were eagerly looking forward to going back. What a disappointment!

The standard of the food and drink has dropped significantly. Previously I would have described the food as good or perhaps even excellent (especially Bayside - the Italian Restaurant). Now I'd say it's very average and bland. Even the Jerk doesn't taste of much!

The service was fine but everything was rehearsed rather than being the natural laid-back friendly Jamaican style that is used to be (and that we loved).

The building itself is fine, although it is an old building it has a certain (old colonial style) charm. We were initially given a ground floor mountain view room in the south wing. There's actually no such thing as a mountain view it just means you don't get a sea view! Our room was right in the corner and looked out onto a gravel path and some utility building. It was a reasonable size but we asked to move as we didn't like the view (or lack of). We asked for a room in the East Wing and they looked surprised by this. Not many people ask to move to those rooms as they're smaller than the other rooms and the least modernised but they have a great view over the sea (just make sure if you're in the East Wing that you're on the second floor). We actually managed to get room 26 which was the same one that we'd stayed at last time.

The hotel seems to be targeted as a slightly younger (and probably less fussy about the bland food and watered down drink) than it used to be.

The entertainment was the usual hotel rubbish but I don't choose my hotels by that.

Don't get me wrong this is not a bad hotel it's just nowhere near as good as it used to be and I feel it's no longer worth the money. Previously I would have rated Couples higher than Sandals/Beaches (based on having stayed at Beaches Grande Sport last year) but I'd now say they're about the same or perhaps slightly better at Sandals.

Next time I'll try Strawberry Hill I think!

Helpful?
16 Thank fordster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,216 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing