We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome visit and Excellent Service”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome visit and Excellent Service”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our first but definitely not last Couples Resort visit. The hotel has been renovated and is in great condition. It has all the amenities and comforts needed for an excellent vacation.
The common areas and garden are picturesque and inviting and the staffs service is amazing. We enjoyed the entertainment at the pool bar with the staff, especially Miguel and his side kicks.
The staff around the pool were always upbeat and happy, especially Maxine, Omar and Livernil. All so nice!
The dining was excellent at the restaurants. We enjoyed the Eight Rivers and the Bayside the most. Both require reservations, so I recommend setting up the reservations the first night you arrive!!
The evening entertainment in the Piano Bar was very enjoyable. You have a chance to listen or sing along in addition, find out what night the have the Saxophone, Blues band, it was incredible. The bartender Ricardo is not only the most professional, hard working bartender on property, he is such a nice man. I enjoyed the time getting to know him!
Our room was well appointed, well maintained by Erica, and the view of the Premier Ocean was WELL worth the money. Our view of the beach, pool and Tower Isle was amazing. Erica made our visit very special with the personal touch and interaction.

The best part of the trip was just spending quality time with my wife and the new friends we met while there. The time to reconnect and then make new friends was awesome. Shishir and Radhika, Josh and Chelsea (coconut) were 2 great couples that we met while there along with many other friendly folks.

The stay was awesome and we are already planning our next visit this coming year!! Well worth the money!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank robaconk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    736
    219
    98
    44
See reviews for
41
2,460
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our first time at a Couples Resot and we were not disappointed. Everything was very top-notch. I thought food was exceptional and the service couldn't be better. The staff was very helpful and courteous.
Our room was on the second floor and alittle way from the lobby and pool, but we enjoyed the quietness and enjoyed having breakfast on our balcony each morning. Always easy to find a place at the pool or beach.
My one negative (which they cannot change) is that the resort is so far from the airport. After traveling all day to get to Montego Bay it was another 2 hours to the resort. A bummer.
Was it worth it.....a definite YES!!

Room Tip: All oceanview rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SOCINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel was very small as were the beach area and pool areas, we were all living top of each other. The food was spicy, and not to my taste, lost 6lbs in weight even though I was on steroids and antibiotics for bronchitis which was rife in the resort. I left the resort due to my bronchitis and asthma I could not stay there was getting worse. The mould was everywhere, particularly in the piano bar which in my opinion needs to be ripped out or properly ventilated, stank of booze and mould. The mould spores are everywhere in corridors bedrooms bathrooms all my clothes stink of mould, took 24 hours to wash and refreshen them. The pool had cigarette butts in it, plastic tumblers used for ashtrays, ghetto blaster around the pool. People drunk, and lewd behaviour, pool was used as a drinking den. The matts to lie on in the pool where dirty never cleaned and mouldy. Very disappointed with the responses given by staff to problems, these were just not addressed by anyone, very laid back staff. Drugs easily attainable through staff just not our thing

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Couples Tower Isle is the smallest most compact resort in the Group and most of our guests choose this resort because of its size and intimacy. We have never had comments about people living on top of each other and regret that you shared this view. There are two large pools and two plunge pools in addition to our world renowned private island. We have noted your comments about mold; our Housekeeping and Engineering teams are doing a comprehensive investigation to assess this allegation. We have no record of bronchitis being rife in the resort. The pools, mats and equipment are cleaned periodically throughout the day. Smoking is not encouraged in public spaces and we are disappointed that guests used the plastic tumblers as ash trays. We do not encourage the playing of loud music around the resort and while we try to reduce noise pollution the resort’s management makes every effort to control noise produced by other guests. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding staff which we will use in our customer service training. The sale of drugs is illegal and we encourage guests to give us names of staff who approach them for corrective action to be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved this, I have been to 5 other all inclusives, and we loved everything about this reseort. The room was oceanfront so we went to bed with the sound of the waves and woke up to the waves. We had no problems making reservations to the various restaurants, they were all lovely and the food was great, even for picky eaters. We did any island dinner, also a wonderful plus. No one told us it came with a free picture, we found that out on our own. It was a little chilly, we went in May of 2013, but still a perfect anniversary suprise from my future husband.
The unique things to this facility were we were able to get a bottle of red wine sent to our room at night, without an additional charge, we enjoyed this!! We loved sitting on the private balcony at night just talking and enjoying the wine. We on the side slipped a bartender a tip, and i almost felt like we did something wrong, I would not tip here!! Which is nice, many places SAY no tipping, but staff still expect it, they didn't here. We also enjoyed the complimentary catamaran tour, the inclusions were very nice. The property was beautiful. We liked the smaller resort, it does have less dining options but we never wanted for anything.
Only two minor blemishes, one was when we put a request to clean our room in early and it wasn't done for 5 hours, and we had to call the desk to clean our room, and the second was during breakfast at other resorts, the waiter would always bring up our morning mimosa's, we always had to make our own here!?
We would come back in a heartbeat though, all in all, 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babytuxsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are delighted that you have provided this valuable feedback about your recent visit to Couples Tower Isle. It was a pleasure to have hosted you and thank you for your very positive feedback regarding the food and services. The Tower Isle Dinner Package includes a framed photograph and I apologize that the information was not shared when you made the booking. We will ensure that the Guest Services Agents include the information for all who book this very special package. Our Housekeeping Team works between the hours of 9:00 and 6:00 p.m. We try to honor all requests for early service however we regret that your request was not honored in a timely manner. We do look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a great resort. Service was above and beyond our expectations. Food was really good, much better than most all inclusives. The staff, was wonderful, waiting on us hand and foot even on the Beach!! Entertainment was so-so, except the night the silver bird drum band played- they were fantastic!! Our room was great, clean and impressive - and the room service was such a nice touch - made us feel like royalty. Can't say enough about this resort - worth every penny - I'm saving up for my return trip. We even had a great Super Bowl party on the roof (GO RAVENS!!) Jamaica is my new Love!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdeleM772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

12/9-12/16
Sign up for Couples Rewards before you go. And check out the couples Message Boards if you have specific questions. We booked our honeymoon through Lauren at VIP Vacations who got us a great deal and the room we wanted when we thought it was sold out.

Arrival:
It was about a 2 hour drive from MBJ airport. Not near as crazy of a drive as it is from MBJ to Negril. We were greeted in Lobby with Rum Punch. Got checked in and Byron helped with our bags to our room. (We had A LOT of stuff due to 12 days in Jamaica for our wedding and honeymoon) Every time we saw Byron during our stay, he called out "newlyweds". He was very friendly and fun.

Rooms: We had a Ocean Junior Suite room 3406. It was in the main building, top floor. From the balconies we had a GREAT view of the beach. We went online before our arrival and selected the liquor, beer, wine and mixers we wanted in the room. It was rail liquor. We did call to request Grey Goose or Stoli and were told there was a $56 charge for either bottle. We did have to call to have the fridge restocked.

The toilet was separate from the rest of the bathroom via a pocket door. Stand op shower with a window in it. Whirlpool tub was fantastic, I used it 3 times. Windows next to it too. Wish it was bigger to fit 2 people. Before using the tub, we did have some drainage issues in the shower with it backing up. Romeo/Maintenance came by one evening to look at it. We had no issues after that. We even bumped into Romeo a few days later and he remembered us and asked how things were.
There were several buildings in both directions of the building we were in. I really liked our central location. Elevator did go out once or twice, but we weren't in it.

Housekeeping was great but make sure take your sign off the door early enough. We were slow at that and had to call for service one day.

Our room was quiet and could hear the waves crashing even with the balcony doors closed. There were 2 balconies. One off the bedroom and one off the bathroom.

The closet was very large, however dimly lit.

Free secure wifi on resort - worked great! We were told the wifi could be spotty depending on your location within the resort, but we never had an issue.

Beach and Resort:

The Beach was ok. Having just left Negril, CTI's beach is so much smaller. It is a secluded resort closed off by rocky cliffs on both sides. So if longs walks on the beach are what you are into, go to Negril. Also, it is very very windy here. Big waves, not calm waters at all. The yellow activity flag was out everyday and the Red activity flag was out once because it was so windy. Keeps you cool, but not ideal for water sports or a leisurely stroll in the ocean. Can't see the bottom when walking out in water and it is rocky here and there. Also, there are lots of trees on the beach. Between the buildings and the trees, it is hard to get sunshine on the beach. The beach sides of the pools get sun and the pier and probably most of the island. The beach was a let down after Negril, which made us try to go back.


There are 2 people selling things. 1 woman on the sidewalk by beach, but not pushy at all, just available. And the "conch man" who paddles from somewhere on a surfboard and is available to sell you large shells. He doesn't pester you, just sits in the wavy ocean on his surfboard until you approach him. Bathrooms aren't too far from the beach or either pool.

The pools were very nice as well. Swim up bar in one pool. Waterfall in the other pool.


Buffet & Bar:
The Patio Restaurant buffet for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner wasn't as diverse as other All Inclusives we've been to. They had the typical eggs, made to order omelettes, fruit, smoked salmon, toast. Pizza, Pasta and themed food for the night. The Pool Grill was great! We had burgers, grilled cheese, fries. Nachos, Popcorn and soda available 24/7. We did eat at the Bayside restaurant one night. It was delicious and we had a great table right over the water. We also ate at Eight Rivers on Friday night. Fancier, had steak and lobster tail. Very good. We didn't try the Verandah Restaurant or the Veggie Bar. The piano bar was great! Ricardo in the piano bar knew what we drank after 1 visit.

We also did the Private dinner on the Island. Highly recommend this. We were the only couple that night, which was fun and romantic. Vincent was our server and he was fabulous! Scratch whipped together a phenomenal meal on the island too - thank you! Apps and champs on the pier. Menu printed with our name on it. It was the best. A photographer came over and took several pictures of us. The dinner came with 1 5x7 framed in the photo studio.

All of the bars were great! No Disco at this resort though. A little more on the low key side.

Entertainment: The entertainment in the Patio Restaurant was ok. Different that what we were used to from other resorts. It was a band singing. Some Reggae, some regular tunes too. Piano Bar was better in our opinion. A guest we met frequently played the piano which was fun too.

Activities:
Couples has a phenomenal activities department. They have games you can check out on the rainy days which we did do one day. They have fun trivia in the pool. We had a Jenga competition at the Patio Bar against another couple. You get activity points for participating in activities and then can redeem the points for prizes. They did play volleyball on the beach. We only went to the pool with pool bar a few times. Spent most days on the beach. They have a very organized daily schedule with something going on all the time. Basket weaving, tie-dye, games, trivia, volleyball, etc. Dunns River was included. It was pretty, wouldn't do it again, but glad I got to see it.
We did the shopping excursion. Got souveniers, but could have saved the time and bought most of the same stuff in the resort gift shop for about the same price, no negotiating. Gift shop at the resort was VERY nice.
The catamaran was booked for several days. The day we finally got reserved got rained out so we were to go the next day. Everyone is on the bus and it got cancelled again because an engine wasn't working. The next day was Sunday and it doesn't run Sundays and we left Monday. I was so sad. This was one of the primary reasons we picked Couples. Have to go back I guess.

Spa:
Our honeymoon stay came with a 30 min couples massage. We did upgrade the massage to a 55 min. I selected the Hot Stone and my husband selected the hot bamboo. Mine was great. He would have preferred a Swedish massage. It was very relaxing and professional.


Staff:
The staff were great! Terry the bartender we saw regularly and he was so nice and helpful. He makes a great "Superman" drink. Vincent was a great server for our Private dinner and Scratch for our chef that night. Byron the bellman was so friendly and up beat. And Ricardo in the Piano bar, 2 thumbs up for hooking us up for our Private Island Dinner! There is a photographer walking around during the day that will take your picture. You can then go to the studio to look and buy any prints you like. They had santa hats, reindeer antlers, giant leaves that made you look naked. It was fun. A nice touch so you don't always have to pester other people to take your picture as a couple.

Misc:
The end of the pier gets the best/most sun but is the "topless" area. I never saw anyone out there topless. The Island is au natural (no tops or bottoms). Have a few and go try it, you can always come right back to the mainland.

Overall:
Couples Tower Isle was very nice. If the beach were bigger with more sun and less waves, it might be perfect. I would highly recommend the Club Mobay. We did it for our departure, but wish we had done it for our arrival too. Straight to the front of the security line. Private club with drinks and finger foods included. There was a woman here with her 2 screaming teen-age daughters in the ocean one afternoon. This was somewhat annoying and we moved chairs on the beach to have some peace & quiet.

Room Tip: We had a Ocean Junior Suite room 3406. It was in the main building, top floor. From the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sdog1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our first time back since they refurbished the complex, I might say what great improvements, we were not disappointed. We stayed for 7 nights, 8 days. The staff were helpful & fun. The last time we were at this resort was in 2005, so to see the swim up pool, the new exercise room & many other features was awesome, we were a little disappointed that the Italian rest. is now Asian, but that was no set back. We enjoyed the relaxing on the beautiful beach & doing some of the crafts they offered. The food at the Patio was excellant. Looking forward to our 5 th. trip back there in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,886 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,393 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing