We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Honeymoon!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited over Christmas for our honeymoon, and had a wonderful time! The transfer from the airport was a breeze- we had a great driver who told us all about the history of Jamaica and the landmarks we passed on the way to the resort. We got to our room (deluxe ocean view), and were stunned by the beautiful view! The view was definitely worth the upgrade to us. Our entire stay was fantastic- the beach was great, and the lifeguards were quick to help find good chairs/floats if it was crowded. The beach bar staff were great- Omar, especially! The food was fantastic at all of the restaurants. We aren't usually buffet fans, but the buffet here was very good, and offered a great variety. You can't beat the view from the Patio Restaurant. Our favorite thing to do before dinner was to go to the Piano Bar for a few drinks and chat with Ricardo, the bar tender there. He was so much fun to watch in action, and made some of the best drinks we've ever had. We made all of our restaurant and excursion reservations just after we checked in and didn't have any issues getting the dates/ times we wanted. You definitely can't miss out on the Catamaran and Dunn's River Falls trips! We didnt realize until the last day that we had vouchers for a couples massage, and the spa was very accommodating and went out of their way to fit us in before we left- they were great. Overall, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, and we would love to come back to this resort sometime soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lauriebrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    706
    210
    96
    43
See reviews for
36
2,357
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Anytime we travel to a foreign country, we try to be reasonable about our expectations. Maybe if we had been to Couples Tower Isle before we went to Couples Swept Away in Negril, we might have thought Tower Isle was pretty nice. That said, we did not go there first and found ourselves comparing Tower Isle to Swept Away every step of the way.

Biggest differences:
1) amazing natural white sandy beach at Swept Away. Farmed in playground sand at CTI.
2) better food quantity and quality at Swept Away. Odd restaurant hours at CTI. no lunch until 12:30 there.
3) minimal holiday music at CTI. It was Christmas after all.
4) incredible poolside buffet on Christmas Eve at Swept Away. A beach party at dinner time at CTI on that date. Conflicted with the repeat Couples dinner too.
5) CTI seemed to have major kitchen issues on the 26th and 27th. We were 1st in the door at the Verandah on the 27th but the last to get our dinners. After 2 hours, we got dinner but left before dessert. Went to the buffet to get that because we didn't want to wait any longer as did several other couples we'd met.
6) Swept Away stocked the frig everyday with whatever you put on your list. CTI never stocked. You have to order it or get your own. We had them switch out frig twice because it never got cold. Gave up on the 3rd one. Others complained too.
7) excursions requiring travel were on a small bus that had no air conditioning at CTI. They packed us in like sardines with these jump seats that filled the aisles. Besides hot, seating like this felt unsafe and claustrophobic.
8) beachside bar service at CTI required 20-30 minute waits if you got someone at all. Swept Away staff was great on the beach! Never more than 10 minutes with a Bloody Mary and Screwdriver self-service bar every morning.
9) CTI pool bar ran out of limes for drinks the last 4 days yet seemed to have them at the buffet. Never noticed anything out of stock at Swept Away.
10) CTI looked like big older hotel that had been added on to. Swept Away buildings were much more intimate and scenic. Swept Away rooms were larger and always had a view of the garden or beach that was pleasant.
11) housekeeping skipped us on the 27th at CTI. We had to call to get fresh towels which they brought to us. Never had that happen at Swept Away or anywhere for that matter until CTI.
12) photo taking was just strange at CTI. Photographer wandered the resort taking pics. You had to know what date and where they were taken to find them at the photo shop. Once at the photo shop, they wouldn't let you touch the computer to review. The staff held the computer mouse behind the counter and you had to point to your pictures and then she would click the mouse or scroll so you could view. Much, much more organized at Swept Away. I will note that photos cost a bit more at Swept Away though.

Although we will not go back to CTI, it is less expensive than Swept Away and perhaps that's why the difference in the food, level of service, beach, etc. My recommendation is that if you have been to Swept Away, you may be greatly disappointed in Tower Isle so choose someplace else.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a beachside room near the lobby. Otherwise, you will get a small room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IndyTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Couples Tower Isle. We are very disappointed that certain aspects of your stay were not in keeping with your expectations. The beach at Tower Isle is natural and is preferred over the beaches in Negril which are not as private. Our discerning guests usually rave about our food offerings at CTI and we are surprised that you did not find our offerings satisfactory. We have forwarded your comments to the Chefs. Dining times are the same at all our resorts. While we had minimal holiday music at Christmastime our Christmas program was enhanced to incorporate local acts as well as special performances. We regret that the service delivery in the Verandah was less than expected; which is very unusual however we have discussed the issues with the dining room team to prevent any future occurrence. The Mini Bar service is a new standard across the group and Swept Away will eventually be offering the same type of service. We have recently improved the beach service which is reflected in improved scores for this area. Limes are usually in short supply at this time of year due to the increased demand. CTI was built in 1947 and was extensively renovated in 2008 which we continue to maintain. CTI like all our other properties have roaming photographers. Making it easier to identify photographs is certainly a possibility that we will explore. We are grateful for your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to providing a fantastic vacation experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our trip was an Apple trip. We loved it. The all-inclusive feature made it easy. It's a smaller hotel, easily "walkable" but with all the usual amenities. Our room with a balcony was lovely.The view was fantastic-I still use that photo on my phone. Free sodas were added daily to our mini-bar. The food was wonderful and the people very friendly. We were welcomed with fruit rum punch and warm towels. We left with great memories. Do go on the catamaran trip! And, sign up for activities the day you arrive. And, purchase Blue Mountain coffee and Jamaican rum while you are there. We would go back, but want to see other places!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packerpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port st lucie, fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Couples, a short 1 hour and 18 minute flight from Fort Lauderdale on Caribbean air. Food was great as always and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Couples is a kind of laid back venue with not a lot of crazy night life, although they have entertainment nightly. There are 5 different dinning areas going from a 2 hour 5 course meal to burgers , dogs and fries. Two large pools one having a swim up bar. And for the nature lovers there is a small island for special meals or all natural sun bathing. Water activities are also available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Sometimes You just want to stray from Nouvelle & Tapas & small plates.. and without being "stuck" on a cruise ship..Just have the "option " to EAT.. Oh yea, Drink too. As an Island well suited NOT to rent a car..With Jamaica take your time choosing an all inclusive. Look @ reder reviews best "FoodRatings".. & trip advisors mot recent contributions.
Hotel OCEANFRONT Superb. Not many Islands can You feel so Much Energy from Your room. Accommadations are Clean, Updated, Bar was stocked with Liquor , Beer , & Wine Daily to your tastes; After the welcome Cocktail, Just 1 hour after Lunch Hour, We ordered Room Service & fresh Grouper Sandwiches < 30 minutes ! A la Carte Restaurants easy to reserve 3-4 days ahead/ Activivities & non motor Watersports were free. Airport TRANFERS Incl. $ 0 !!
Piano Bar @ night included even more Premium Brand Cocktails & Expresso Not being exposed to the Sun outside.
Entertainment was Light.. incl Beach themed eve ..But, Go to Cancun or Vegas or Aruba if You Need More !

Room Tip: pay upgrade Oceanfront... Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBRSTRNTCRTQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We loved Couples resort. We are divers and the diving was included, as well as snorkeling, sunfish sailing, catamaran and other excursions. This is a great place to relax, they take care of everything. The staff could not have been nicer. But a little secret, even though they say no tips, lots of people tip. We ended up tipping a few folks that provided extraordinary service. The food was good, the views were awesome. The place was clean. Some of the entertainment was cheesy, but some was good. For the price, and the quality we would recommend. Highly recommend the massages, but the salt scrub was painful, and I have had them before.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This property is an older resort which has been kept up very well with refurbished decorations/bedding/decor.
It is more quiet and laid back than other couples resorts.
The rooms are simple but nice and the beds are excellent. Minibar refreshed upon request at any time with whatever you desire.
The food is the best that I have had in Jamaica and would say that it is the highlight of this property.
Excursions fill up fast and should be booked as soon as you arrive.
The catamaran is a must do.
Nice gym and spa with professional instructors flown in to do spin and yoga classes.
Transfer time from airport is 1 1/2 hours -2 hours.
Beautiful settings for weddings.
All of the staff was kind and helpful and friendly.
Beach area kept very clean and plenty of chairs for everyone.

Room Tip: book an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelAgentFromWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
85.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing