We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous vacation & wedding”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Jordan, MN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation & wedding”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was a first visit to Jamaica and to Couples. Our son and his bride were married on Nov 24 and let me tell you the hotel, the staff, the food and everything in between was PERFECT! The on staff wedding coordinator did not miss a detail and treated us like royalty and we couldn't be more pleased. Our one week stay included enough activities that we could enjoy at no charge so we were very content to stay in one place for the week. As other reveiws state the food was amazing. I don't do buffets but the variety and flavor kept us coming back along with the other restaurants.Tower Isle was another new experience for us and it is a must - we will be happy to come back and do it all again. Don't let the 2 hour drive from Montego Bay discourage you to travel the distance because this place is a peaceful gem. THANK YOU CTI

Room Tip: The hotel was not full so we did a room upgrade from Garden view to an ocean view - so glad we did t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    734
    216
    98
    44
See reviews for
41
2,441
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morrilton, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our tenth year of marriage at Couples Tower Isle in Ocho Rios. It was a marvelous vacation with awesome weather and great surroundings.

First, I would recommend the Club Mobay service for arrival if you want to go quickly. We did not purchase and spent an hour and a half in line in a muggy room with 1000 of our dearest friends. It was a little stuffy. Every now and then a Club Mobay group would walk by all of us to get to the front of the line. Flights landed after ours too so they got to spend even more time in line. Club Mobay is definitely worth it.

Once out of immigration/customs, it was the quick walk to the Couples Lounge. We each had a drink and restroom break and were off to the resort within 20 minutes. The bus ride from Montego Bay to Ocho Rios is not a short one. Count on a ride of at least 1 hour, 45 minutes unless your fellow bus mates need a restroom break.

Upon arriving at CTI, we were greeted with a cold washcloth and drink. Check-in was a breeze, but before heading up to our room we made sure and made our initial restaurant and excursion reservations. I would recommend doing it at this time as they can fill up as more people arrive.

We stayed in a Junior Ocean Suite on the top floor of the main building. The room, 3043, was directly over the lobby (though there was never any noise issue). The view from the room was amazing, and probably couldn't be beat at the resort. The Junior Ocean Suite also has a tub and a shower which we learned not all rooms have, another plus. The bed though was the worst part of our stay. It had to be the hardest bed we've ever slept on during a vacation. The pillows also were uncomfortable too. You had either a really firm pillow that would prop your head up over the bed, or a very thin pillow that felt as though it wasn't there. We didn't want to change rooms though, as the benefits of the room far outweighed the negative of the bed. All expected amenities were present in the room with no other issues.

We pretty much followed the same routine for the rest of our trip. Breakfast at the Patio, beach, lunch at the patio, pool, and then dinner at any of the restaurants. The food was fantastic with no complaints at all. With all the variety, it's hard not to find something.

One of the best parts of the trip was the people. From the smiling faces from when you arrive, to the handshakes and fist bumps on the way off the resort, it's hard not to like the employees. Everything is greeted with a "no problem, mon" and a smile.

The entertainment is what you make of it. Each evening there was a band either at the Patio or at whatever nightly event was happening. You could watch them and dance or you can head back to your room. There's no pressure to join. There was also plenty of things to do throughout the day if you were so inclined. You can be as social or unsocial as you choose to be. We did enjoy the Catamaran Cruise and thought the cove they took us to was absolutely beautiful. Recommend doing that if you like clear blue ocean.

Other than that the worst part was having to leave this wonderful facility and going back to the real world. We look forward to visiting again real soon.

Room Tip: Can't beat the view from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our first time at a Couples resort and we were very pleased. Our travel agent suggested this particular resort for the food quality since I have some very strict dietary requirements for medical reasons. The food was excellent! I never went away hungry. We had a Premier Ocean View room on the second floor. The balcony was very spacious, the walk in closet was nice and the view was spectacular.The staff did a fabulous job in making each night enjoyable. Their attention to detail was refreshing. The entertainment was enjoyable. The only downfall to the resort is the rocky beach. You had to be careful when swimming because the rocks are sharp. Other than that, we always had things to do or not do. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseMarcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was a blast. 6 of us were vegetarians and has special needs for food.. Chefs went way out of their way on short notice to make us some very very delicious!!
Take the Catalan booze cruise, it's once in a lifetime experience!

Staff is amazing!!! A must go place!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerVir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great resort for a couples getaway. Intimate setting. Two swimming pools and private beach. Well maintained property. Excellent food with island flare. The only drawback was the 2 hour drive from the airport in Montego Bay, however the highway was a smooth ride and this would not deter me from visiting again. 15 minutes from Dunn's river falls which the hotel shuttles you there and back. Everything was included except tips for the shuttle drivers.

Room Tip: Rooms were a great size. Private balcony overlooking the ocean. Great way to wake up in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week in November. As other reviewers have said, it's a bit of a distance from the airport - about 2 hours at night time. Just a short wait in the hotel's lounge at the airport before getting on the courtesy bus.

We had a garden view room (although couldn't see much garden through the trees) which was a little bit noisy in the evening and at night with nature's chorus. However we got a lot of privacy sitting on the balcony.

The room itself was quite large and nice enough, but definitely a little bit dated. You have to dial out and order contents of the mini bar which was a bit annoying - but on the plus side they did bring full sized bottles.

The food in the hotel was excellent. Ate at the veranda restaurant twice and were very impressed by the food and service. Couldn't eat at the 8 rivers as we hadn't brought the correct attire and the Asian themed restaurant was fully booked.

There's not much to do at all in the hotel at night. There was some entertainment but we found it to be pretty awful - think Butlin's circa 1980 if you're from the UK. There also wasn't really an area to sit and socialise at night (except inside at the piano bar.)

It's worth noting that the hotel is a wedding factory. Which is nice enough, but can get quite annoying when they close parts of the hotel ./ restaurants to accommodate them.

All in all it was a nice hotel, with great staff, excellent food and drinks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbodotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at CTI for 6 nights the week before Thanksgiving. Overall we had a great stay.

We booked a Premier Ocean View. We were assigned an end unit in block 3 right next to outdoor stairs which was very convenient. Unfortunately we had an issue with ants getting in through the window which would not close properly/lock. After our first night we ended up moving right next door which did not have the ant issue. The room was not huge, but large enough for relaxing/sleeping. As many other have said our shower leaked into the rest of the bathroom every day, but not a huge deal to us. The balcony was large and we enjoyed relaxing on it, taking the view in. Even though we were right above the swim up bar, we had no issues with noise.

We received excellent service from the front desk staff, especially when changing rooms. Service at all of the restaurants was great. Flag service on the beach was hit or miss, but it was a quick walk to the bar.

Food was very good at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. Great variety and lots of tasty vegetarian options. We especially loved the veggie bar- chips and dip, roasted veggie sandwich, salads. We ate dinner at the Verandah and Eight Rivers, two nights each. Food was great at both. Bayside had great ambiance, but we didn’t love the food. The appetizers were delicious, but the rest of the dinner fell flat for us. The beach party had great food, but was very crowded.

Evening entertainment was good, great dancers and musicians. I am not the type who likes to stay up late and party, so it was sufficient. It might be a little dull for people who want more of a party scene.

I heard that the resort was at 60% capacity when we were there. We had no issue getting a lounge chair at the beach or the pool, plenty of shaded spots. The beach was not huge, but sufficient. Not large enough to do walks/runs. Tennis courts were kept nicely. We checked out the island for about an hour one morning, but decided it wasn’t for us.

We attempted to do the glass bottom boat tour and snorkeling, but conditions were not good the days we tried and the trips were canceled. We did do the catamaran cruise and Dunn’s River Falls and enjoyed both. We also kayaked and did the pedal boats.

I would definitely recommend this resort. Overall the food and service was great. We had a nice, relaxing week with fun activities and met lots of other friendly guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,857 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,327 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing