We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Relaxation!”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Complete Relaxation!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved CTI !! From the shuttle ride with Clayton from the airport who was very informative to the beautiful views once we stepped out of the shuttle. Byron who became one of our everyday great persons to talk and laugh with to the drink of the day beverages, everything is irie!! Food simply put, no matter where we went to eat was fabulous!! I have a food allergy to seafood and the hotel did a great job to look after me, thanks everyone!! We started everyday with the drink of the day and a long swim in the ocean, which was so awesome as it was very hot when we were there in September. At CTI you can get involved in as much activity as you like or just sit back and relax, no pushy people here! We also took advantage of the off site tours included, great fun!
It was our Anniversary while we were at CTI, a bottle of champagne was sent to our room the day of, very nice touch. Views from our room were gorgeous, ocean as far as the eye could see. While staying at CTI, we met and made many friends with the employees, Tanisha, (great martini's girl!) Mark, always good conversation, the 4 Romaine's ( you guys were hilarious) Susan, thank-you for keeping our room clean and fresh :) There are several more to thank but I could be on here all day. So, if you are looking for a true "Couples" vacation I would not hesitate to spend time at CTI, they truly do look after your every need and want.
In closing I would like to give a thumbs up to management for making the resort and all the employees a wonderful experience in Jamaica. Sure hope to be back next September, for our 3rd trip to Jamaica.

Room Tip: We were in building #4, 4th floor. Awesome views, out of the way of evening entertainment, not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fiestygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    730
    213
    98
    44
See reviews for
40
2,426
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights at this resort and fell in love with it. We liked the more manageable size of the property and the high level of service we received from every employee we met during our stay. Really nice people, a comfortable room and we enjoyed the dining and water sports very much. We definitely recommend it and would like to return soon. It seems the resort has many repeat guests and I can see why!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The last time we had stayed at couples Sans Souci so Tower Island had a lot to live up to to come close!
On check in we were allocated a garden room,at time of booking couples were offering a free upgrade but the receptionist wasn't aware of the offer! She said that she had nothing else available but to come and see her tomorrow,true to her word we were then upgraded and were allocated a lovely room with sea view.
The staff were fantastic,everybody had a smile on there face and would always welcome you,even if they had just done a 12 hour shift!,
The food was excellent with plenty of variety between all the restaurants. The Bayside is located on a pier over the water and is a lovely setting for a romantic meal!
The beach is kept spotless with the staff starting at 5am to have it all slick and span for us!
The included tours are excellent as is the water sports.One free open water dive is included and I would urge everybody to do it if they are able! I enjoyed it that much I signed up and did the full course. Lynx my instructor was great. I'm now a fully certified open water scuba diver. Which means I will have to travel more often to warmer waters to continue diving as the waters off Scotland don't really appeal.
The evening entertainment is ok and one night a week they show a film on the beach!
We spent two weeks at Couples Tower Island and thoroughly enjoyed it!
I made many good friends there and will most definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Our first return to Tower Isle since the renovations, I have to say I missed some of the old traditional tables etc, the new models are showing signs of wear and discolouration already.
We were disappointed in the Bayside, disinterested staff and lack of management oversight. The Verandah and Eight Rivers were fantastic, as it was low season, we were able to dine there most nights.
Collin and the scuba team are simply the best, but could the Saturday dive go back to 9am please?
As repeaters we attended the special dinner, to find Chicken & Shrimp on the menu, not the expected Lobster & Steak, big disappointment. Pleased to say no such error at Couples Negril on our second week.
Overall, Tower Isle is the preferred choice if you want to visit the island, otherwise I would say Negril all the way.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you visited for the third time. We value your repeat business and apologize for the absence of some of the traditional items. We thank you for your positive comments and have noted your recommendations. We have been reopened since 2009 and we have been taking corrective action to repair broken items. The comment regarding the staff has been noted and will be included in our ongoing training program. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Verandah Restaurant, Eight Rivers Restaurant and Scuba experience and have passed on your positive feedback to the team. The menu for the repeaters dinner is changed weekly and we regret that lobster and steak were not included in the menu while you were here. We hope that when you return you will be able to enjoy some of these scrumptious offerings for which we are renowned. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We split our stay with San Souci. Tower Isle was more hotel like and I did not find the staff nearly as friendly. Simple things like you had to have a receipt for turning in your pool towel or you would be charged. We went on a catamaran trip the last night and left at 530 am next day. We were able to get a receipt from the pool guy without turning the towels in so that worked out but there was no such rule at San Souci to deal with. We were not even given a survey when we left to see how our stay was. San Souci gave me several and have a drawing each month from surveys turned in for free nights as they want to encourage feedback to get better. The nude beach at San Souci is not visible or noticeable but the nude island you can see right from the pool at Tower Isle. You cannot see details but if you are not into that sort of thing, it is something that you cannot get away from. The food in the buffet was good but not nearly as good as San Souci but the Asian on was fantastic! We enjoyed the catamaran tour and the free activities are great. Glad I went so I know about it but will not return to this Couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb47Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Couples Tower Isle. We appreciate your feedback. There is a towel voucher system at all the hotels in the group. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments regarding the Asian Restaurant and the free inclusions. It is disappointing to see that we were not able to meet your expectations in some aspects of our performance and we regret that this resort did not meet your expectations. We encourage you to visit our sister properties in Negril or Barbados and hope that you will return to a Couples Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The customer service at Couples Tower exceeded all expectations. These people just want to do a great job and it shows. The resort was kept spotless and the food to die for. Relaxing on the island is a must !!!!!! Couples is Great as well as Jamaica and its people

Room Tip: Stay in Bldg. 4 Ocean view Quiet and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Couples is a gorgeous resort located right on the beach in Ocho Rios. It takes about 90 minutes to get there from the airport, but the destination is worth the drive.
We were greeted with cold drinks, and a warm welcome. Our room was nicely appointed, and we had a lovely balcony which overlooked the ocean. The bar in the room was restocked every day at no charge. We received fresh towels 2-3 times each day and turn down service at night.
There are 4 restaurants and each one serves a different menu.Wish that there had been a few more to choose from.
All the water sports are included, even the diving, We went on the glass bottom boat and also went sailing. Great fun.
Our biggest disappointment was that the private island is only for nude sunbathing and swimming. We would have loved to spend some time on this pretty little island, but with clothes on! It might be better to have some days that the island can be used by everyone without having to surrender clothing.
The staff at the resort are just wonderful, and they go out of their way to accommodate their guests.
While we enjoyed our stay, we have decided that we will choose a different destination for our next trip. It is a big world out there and we want to see as much of it as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far end near the swim up bar are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are delighted to receive such a fantastic review of your recent stay at Couples Tower Isle. We are always happy to hear from our valued guests. It is indeed a pleasure to note that you enjoyed our service and offerings but we are disappointed that you were not able to visit our nude island. This island has been a nude island since the hotel became an adult all inclusive resort. We have recently extended the island experience to other guests at nights especially for guests who are not able to use the facilities during the day. The nude island is geared towards the protection of all our guests who prefer to experience 100% tanning. We now offer private island dinners from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. We do hope that despite this small disappointment you will return to visit with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,832 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,544 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing