We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymooner Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymooner Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I ventured to the island of Jamaica for our honeymood. Upon arrival we were a little nervous as the resort is little right off the town. However, we never felt unsafe throughout the week and enjoyed our stay. Couple Tower Isle includes tons of extras in their all-inclusive package to make your stay more enjoyable. (i.e. snorkeling, wind surfing, diving, trip to Maragaretville, Dunn's River Falls, shopping in downtown Ocho Rios, and Catarmaran Curise...plus tons of activities throughout the day). Our package also included a 30 min couples massage and wine/cheese plate our first night, plus you can order extra wine/liquor for your room (full bottles!) Being all inclusive you can expect the drinks and buffet to be just okay. Nothing special. Be sure to bring Bubba Kegs so your drink doesn't melt in minutes and ask for extra rum to take the edge off! We took advantage of the sit down resturants all but one night so the food was excellent! Monday night is the "beach buffet" night and I was not happy with the selection. We did the free photo session at the resort...pictures are not cheap...but they are beautiful! I suggest that if you get them taken throughout your stay to venture into the photo shop and have them creat a folder. Then you can look at all of them the day you leave and pick out any you like. We didn't do this and finding them was super difficult since it was a period of an entire week. The service is sloooow...but that is the way of life in Jamaica. They are not overly friendly to help you like some of the other Carribbean Islands. However, we enjoyed our stay. I would reccommend the Catarmaran Cruise if you could only do one excursion...it was our favorite off site adventure that week!

Room Tip: Any ocean view room cannot be beat. They view is gorg to wake up and fall asleep to! (included a pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoLo2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    705
    210
    96
    43
See reviews for
36
2,355
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ripley wv
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned from a weeklong stay at CTI. We really can't think of a negative word. The room was so spacious and well kept. The pool was roomy, plenty of chairs at both the pool and the beach. Food was great in all restaurants. Out favorite restaurant was probably the Vernadah due to the relaxed atmosphere and the changing menu. Bayside was a great experience as well. Jamaican cooking lesson with Lenroy was fun. Timara was our housekeeper and she was friendly and informative. We really liked having access to the computer bank. The gym had plenty of equipment. Shopping trip wasn't our favorite but we were still glad we did it. Overall, we had a very relaxing week. Loved that we could order up food or drinks to the room, particularly getting a fresh pot of coffee delivered early. Definitely would return and would recommend if you are considering it. feel free to contact me with any questions or tips!! We had a premier ocean room which was well worth the small upgrade fee.

Room Tip: upgrade to premier ocean, possibly ask for a "corner room" but there are only 2 - 2110 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ripley304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had an amazing honeymoon at Couples Tower Isle! The food was excellent, beautiful views, fun activities, and great service. Booked through Nanda at Beach Bum Vacations-- took care of everything and the vacation went very smoothly. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon, and we loved it! It certainly wasn't the most luxurious of resorts, but the incredible value should make this a hard place to pass up.

To preface this review, my wife and I just graduated from college, and this was the first all-inclusive resort I have ever been to.

The food and drinks were absolutely wonderful and were my personal favorite. Every meal we had, from the really fancy restaurants, to the more casual restaurants were really high quality. We loved the breakfast buffet every morning. The drinks were spectacular and most of the bar tenders had a extensive knowledge of different drinks.

The staff was super friendly and went out of their way to ask us how we were enjoying our stay. Even the guy washing the windows stopped what he was doing to talk to us. The water sport staff was also really friendly and very patient when we were given personal wind surfing and sailing lessons.

While there were plenty of great things about CTI, there were also a few imperfections. First of all, we wanted to venture into town to visit Margaritaville, but there was only one resort sponsored trip per week and it was on Monday night at 10:30. Another issue that we encountered was the noise level in the evenings. We were in Building 2 and the noise from the Verandah nighttime activities was impossible to ignore, and it went on until at least 11pm most nights. If you're looking for a quiet stay, I would recommend buildings 4 or 5.

A few more issues we had were that we didn't have hot water on our first night (although as soon as we told them, the resort staff had the problem fixed within the next day), and on our last day we had to leave the resort at 6:15am even though our flight didn't leave until 11:45. Still not sure why they wanted us to leave so early... When we arrived to the airport in Montego Bay the American Airlines desk wasn't even open because we had arrived so far in advance.

All in all, we had a great time and would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you want a really spectacular view and want to stay on the top floor, make sure to ask for Buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just returned from couples tower isle and loved it. I would give it 4.5 out of 5. Beautiful views, great pools and bars. Food at any of the choices was excellent. Friendly staff and service. We especially want to thank Rohan the Man who served us often at the swim up bar. Also to Alisha with activities, and to Antoinette with her very delicious and addicting drink special.
We highly recommend this destination. We plan on visiting other Couples resorts to compare

Room Tip: Upper room to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucky1Sarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a 5 day/4 night stay at couples Tower Isle. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not it. If you are looking to be pampered, this is not it. If you are looking for an up to date hotel, this is not it. The hotels decore and apperance is outdated. The rooms are also outdated but the hotel is clean. Also, the mattress is very hard. Not comfortable. Some of the staff is really nice and others are not. The Enterntainment staff is great. On the beach and the pool areas you dont have any servers. If you want food or a drink you need to get up and get it yourself. The food is overall good. Drinks are terrible. The liquor is watered down big time.

We enjoyed our trip but Couples Tower Isle is not for us and we will not be returning. The hotel is just not up to our standards.

P.S. The hotel is almost a 2 hour car ride from Montego Bay airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review but we regret to hear that your vacation experience was disappointing and that we did not meet your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have very high ratings for our service and staff. We appreciate your feedback and recognize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just got back this weekend and we had a great time. We went with another couple; we've been friends and both married for 31 years. It was so much fun at the resort. The staff was great and the food good. The restaurants requiring reservations were great. We went out on the catamaran and also wind sailing. Dunn's river experience was great and the DVD worth the money to me just to have it at home and LOL at ourselves. Only bad point : the glass bottom boat and Dunn's river are included activities but we could never get on the glass bottom boat because it was full. Our room was an Ocean premier and the view is just as it is on the website...beautiful! It was just the right amount of peacefulness and activity. The younger couples(majority there) seemed to have a really good time also. Very friendly resort. I love Jamaica!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,706 reviews
85.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing