We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly week at Couples Tower Isle.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
sueq575
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A heavenly week at Couples Tower Isle.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you like small, intimate all-inclusives -- Couples Tower Isle is for you. We love the private beach -- no vendors harassing you. The food is great and the seafood is fresh and wonderful. I love the smoothie and juice bar on the beach. The employees are what make this resort so fantastic. They really try hard to be friendly and seem happy to be there. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and almost all have great ocean views. The scuba staff is great and so are the watersport staff. The spa is absolutely beautiful and we recommend the couples massage. We keep returning because we love it so much!

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueq575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    718
    210
    96
    44
See reviews for
38
2,389
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently spent our 20th Anniversary at CTI. After reading all the reviews, both on trip advisor and the couples message board, we did have expectations that this would be our best vacation ever but it wasn't. We have been to Mexico several times, as well as Cuba, Dominican Republic, Hawaii, etc. so have a little experience to draw from.

We found the servers in the buffet were more interested in talking amongst themselves then serving their guests. I know of a guest sitting beside us who requested tea at breakfast from 2 different servers, received the cup but never the tea. Often you waited for coffee far to long, it seemed everyone told someone else to serve you which meant no one did. Also guests in bare feet in the dining room, which for safety reasons should never be allowed.

Overall service and food was just not up to par for a five star resort.

We then moved for 5 days to Couple Negril and they met all our expectations and more.

Of course this was our impression and others will disagree and some will be shocked but we were first timers and maybe those that are repeaters and already know the staff find them a lot friendlier, we just found them so so.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe Room, beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Couples Tower Isle and reading all these wonderful reviews, then you need to read some of the other reviews also. We went to Tower Isle from June 20th through June 27th, based on a friend's recommendation.
When you arrive at the Jamaican airport and make it through immigration you are directed to the Couples lounge, where they have drinks and places to relax prior to your trip to Tower Isle.
Word of advice, don't drink too much as it is a 2 hour ride to Ochios Rios.
The driver will make a stop for you on your way to Couples, if you need to, but it won't be a modern rest stop, it will be some bar that you wouldn’t stop in if you had a choice. Jamaica is a poor country and the number 1 industry is Tourism. The road you travel on does not take you through the poor towns and you don't not see the shacks or the poverty. I kind of laugh when people stay this is a non tipping vacation. Once you get to the couples lounge at the airport, they have a "red Cap" or porter take your luggage to the van that will cost you a $1.00 a bag. After your long drive to the resort, the driver will be looking for a tip also.
When you arrive at Couples, they have a drink and a cold towel ready for you when you check in.
The staff will take your luggage to your room, give you a brief tour and also look for a tip. You don't have to tip, but the poor guy just carried your luggage up 2 flights of stairs.
Let me talk about Couples and the facility, we had an ocean view room, which I paid more for in the building that overlooks the pool area near the main buffet. The room was small, had a balcony,safe and refrigertor tv, not modern, but had as great view of the ocean and pool area. It was clean and the maid would turn down the bed every night and bring us fresh towels.
Anyone who tells you that you don't have to snag a chair early in the morning at the pool area, was misinformed. I don't like to sit in direct sun and I was up at 6:30 every morning reserving a chairs in the shaded area by the pool. They need to have umbrellas as there were only 8 chairs that were in the shaded area. The beach has plenty of chairs and getting up early was not required. They have another pool area with a swim up bar, but we did not sit there
The food areas are all centrally located, the main dining area is a buffet and they serve some good food. Personally, when I am on vacation, I don’t want to be eating at a buffet for dinner. They have a buffet for every meal in this restaurant near the pool. They also have a snack bar near the pool area where you can get lunch of burgers, chicken, etc. In addition, they have an ice cream machine and nachos and popcorn available.
Two of the dining restaurants you need to make reservations, one of the 2 require casual clothes, men need to wear pants and woman need to wear a dress. All of the other restaurants are resort casual.
I have to laugh again, when reviewers talk about this place has the best food. I hate to disagree, the Veranda restaurant is a waiter restaurant that does not require reservation, but the service was so slow, it took us 2 hours to get our entire meal.
The eight mile restaurant requires casual clothes and the food was ok, nothing really special.
I am not 25 years old and have eaten at better restaurants. The Bayside restaurant was my favorite, it is located on piers right in the ocean and the Asian food was very good. All of the restaurants serve drinks with your meal as it is included.
The bars are very good and they will mix any drink you want. The pool guy and girl walk around the pool area and will get your drink for you. You can start drinking at 10AM and keep going until they close. I put on 8 pounds while I was at Couples. Those mixed drinks are heavy with calories, but so good.
There is entertainment every night in the piano lounge and in the main buffet area.
Two of the nights we were there, they had a buffet at the beach with native entertainment and one night they had it on the main lawn. The problem I had with those nights were you were encoraged to eat at the outside buffett unless you made a reservation at the 2 restaurants which require it.
I should also mention there are some free excursions, glass bottom boat, Dunn's River falls, catamaran cruise and in addition, some paying excursions. If you like water sports, they have snorkeling, scuba, sailing, kayaking and you can let it all hang out at the natural beach on the island away from the main facility.
Finally, I had a nice time at Couples, the staff is very friendly and very accomodating, but I like to try new places, so I will not be a returning guest.

Room Tip: get an ocean room, it is worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDMANBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I travelled to Tower Isle with my boyfriend in mid-June, and overall we had a good time. It's great to be able to eat and drink whenever you like, and the food was pretty good (I'm vegetarian and they catered for me well). It's pretty hard to get drunk even whilst drinking all day, as the bar cocktails are mostly ice--I'd go for a few 'zombies' and order bottled spirits for the room if your tolerance is high! We were offered weed almost as soon as we got to our room which was nice, though we didn't purchase any.

The setting is lovely and it's nice to have the island to look at even if you don't travel over to it. From all the reviews here I was expecting it to be a bit shabbier than it was; there's a general mustiness but you expect that from the humidity, and our rooms were always cleaned discreetly and well. We didn't encounter anything that was broken or needed fixing.

One thing that struck me is that everyone on tripadvisor seemed to rave about how friendly the staff were. Don't get me wrong, some of the staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to help, but an almost equal number of staff seemed disingenuous and a bit 'fake'. I'd rather not be asked where I'm from or how I'm doing unless you genuinely want to know, it makes me feel awkward (this may well be a Brit v Yank difference, I know our customer service is a bit less full-on). This probably wouldn't have been an issue if I hadn't read so many reviews praising the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsunetsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We got married here back in 2001 and sill would go back to do it again. Old world feel with all the amenities. Great service. Wonderful employees. Easy wedding preparations. Great tours. Love that it is couples only. We love kids, but sometimes you want to get away. Loved the hot tubs tucked away, and the aviary and all the lush foliage. Highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canyonsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was not what I expected. The resort's in need of a makeover. Corners are crusty, bathroom is moldy and although it's clean, it looks old and gross. The pool is deceptive in the professional photographs, it's small and gets crowded. No umbrellas to protect guests from the sun (why not? such an easy fix). Food is -- meh. Average at best. But then it's all inclusive so I should've known. The smoothie bar was definitely the best feature, freshest food (although usually just one person working it, he was definitely overworked -- although really friendly). Reminded me of a huge cruise ship on land. Staff was friendly all-around. I'll return to Jamaica, but not through this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of Couples Tower Isle. We regret that your expectations were not met. There are four pools available for all our valued guests however the Swim up Pool is the favorite which becomes busy at times. We appreciate your comments regarding the Veggie Bar staff and service.

All of your comments are taken constructively and we will address the concerns raised. We hope you will return to a Couples Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

As CTI "virgins" we didn't know exactly what to expect... We couldn't have been more pleased! In a word, CTI = service! Phenomenal staff, always with a genuine smile, a "no problem mon", and prompt follow through.

Our garden view room, we believe, was the hidden gem of the property - while no ocean view, instead we were treated to a great south view of the grounds and spa.

The food - great options every meal at The Patio, good traditional fare at 8 Rivers, and an amazing asian experience at Bayside.

We will be back to CTI - absolutely NO doubt!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_C_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,217 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing