We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to an all-inclusive, and we are hooked! The resort was fabulous!! We never had a bad meal, every restaurant was delicious. The drinks were always flowing. I enjoyed the beach and the water was beautiful. Our only complaint was due to the water sports offered, the swimming area off the beach is limited. Hard to complain when you can take a boat or kayak instead. Still we had a great time. Have recommended CTI to everyone since we have been back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,626 - 1,632 of 3,167 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed March 22nd to March 29th.
Check in was seamless
Room was as expected and then some
Bar (s) good selection of drinks but found the staff a little slow,unorganized and the drinks were inconsistant from one bar to the next
Food was all very good and a great selection
Hotel Staff , if you wanted for something it wasn't long as they were there to please .
I would highly recomend this property to any of my friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mahuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013




Stayed at Couples Tower Isle from Jan 5 to 16/13. The weather wasn't good half the time. There were days of rain and strong wind. We brought our snorkel gear but unfortunately it didn't get wet. This may have had something to do with hurricane Sandy? Regardless of the weather, we had a great time! After years of travelling, you learn to have a plan B.

- The 1.45 hour drive from the airport was worthwhile. If you get there during the day, your eyes will be busy with the scenery.

- The resort is located on a nice & quiet area only a few kms away from Ocho Rios downtown. Grounds are always clean. Lots of plants and trees (that’s part of the daily nature walk).

- Room view. The higher the better! All buildings have elevators, but if you don’t mind taking stairs and getting some exercise, ask for a higher floor. We had an oceanfront view on the 3rd floor of building 4. Perfect spot for us!

- Resort employees were accommodating, friendly, courteous & happy. First employee we encountered was a front desk staff Andre aka GTK (Guy To Know). He 's got a great personality and made us feel welcome right away. From him to Byron the bellman, to Vilma in housekeeping, to Charmaine, to Maxime and many others Thank You for making us feel at home during our stay. What a wonderful staff you have Leonard (GM).

- Like any other resort, after 1week the food becomes repetitive. We are picky eaters but we found our way around during our stay and became creative! As long as we can find one or two items that we like, it's all good. Buffet is ok for breakfast and lunch but we always like A la' Carte for dinner. 3 A la' Carte restaurants for a small resort is excellent. Great service in 8 Rivers, Bayside and Veranda. It's lobster night on Fridays. Reservations are required at both 8 Rivers and Bayside but not the Veranda. Book ahead of time.
FYI we like the idea of using the refillable water bottle instead of getting bottled water.


- Disappointed about the short and narrow beach with rocks (big rocks) in the water. It would be smart to bring water shoes. The Beach is in our top 3 priorities and we prefer turquoise water on a white powdery sandy beach. We found out that Montego Bay and Ocho Rios have short & rocky beaches and if you want a perfect beach in Jamaica, Negril is the answer. Will we go back to Ocho Rios though - Ya Mon!

Tipping - Whenever we do all inclusive, the gratuity is already included in the package BUT of course we all know it's not true. In most cases, no tip means slow service. The Couples Resort is different...absolutely no tipping policy. However, if you feel the person deserves one, you can do it discreetly.

Tower Isle (nude island) - it's the highlight of the resort. Our room view is the island in the middle of coconut trees and what a view...especially at night. Yes, clothing is not optional on the island! Whether you go or not, enjoy it.

Tours & Activities:

The resort offers a lot of water and land activities like scuba/snorkel, golf, catamaran, cooking, hat making are just a few.

Dunn’s River Falls - free tour. Bring waterproof camera! Make sure to wear water shoes or non slip footwear. On the way back to the parking lot, you have to go through the craft market. The vendors can be a little aggressive. If you stop and touch the merchandise, be prepared to negotiate - which is the fun part.

Shopping to downtown Ocho Rios - free tour (Tue & Fri) Tuesday is better! On Tuesday, the first stop is at a Craft Market. Be prepared! They price their products too high. i.e. I bought a musical instrument. The vendor asked for $50, I offered $5 and we agreed on $8.00 The same instrument was priced $10 in downtown shops.

Catamaran - free tour. It is always fun! The water was very choppy on the day that we went...so if you have seasickness, take gravol.

Don’t forget to enjoy the garden and visit the macau’s by the spa. It took us a few visits, but they do really talk.

Prestige Tours is set up at the lobby - We chose Kingston full day tour because we wanted to go to the Bob Marley Museum. Cost is $70 pp plus $20 pp optional entrance fee to the museum. Kingston is about 95 km from the resort. The tour also consisted of sightseeing in the Red Hills & lunch and shopping at Devon House Mansion. The other couple on our tour asked if we could stop at Emancipation Park although it wasn't part of the tour. Our guide Rohan said "Ya Mon" no problem. We're glad that we decided to go to Kingston.







Two years ago we were at Couples Swept Away in Negril. It was our first time in Jamaica and enjoyed our stay. We don’t normally go back to the same destination or at least not too soon, but Couples Swept Away gave us everything we were looking for and some. So we thought let’s try Couples Tower Isle and we’re glad that we did!

CTI treats you like a VIP (Very Irie Person).

Room Tip: Getting a room on a higher floor benefits you for a better view, less noise, less bugs. Not too clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May_L_XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just return'd from a fabulous 8 days.... we were very spoilt the staff are friendly and carn't do enough for you.. the food is excellent..accomodation also good with a sea view room..there are activities listed on the board daily ..we went to the Jamaican cooking with a chef one afternoon which was good. also the catermaran afternoon trip also good fun.. only bad trip was visiting the handicraft market ... the hard sell was even to much for me ( Ive spent 20 years living in the gulf.. so use to souq barter and hard sell ). very uncomfortable i went back to the mini bus .. most people on the trip said the same thing.... we also went to Dolphin cove.. the dolphin swim was great but you also got hounded to buy in the shops there...there are several restaurants to eat in the hotel ..you need to book a couple of them.. we tried the Chinese ... good... the main restaurant is also good the vege. bar on the beach is good for snacks..the only problem we had was the snack bar ( open until 4ish am ) gets very loud with people drinking there very late at night.. we had several nights disturbed sleep because of the close proximety to the rooms....apart from that we couldnt fault them on anything else....

Room Tip: we were in room 2205 which was good except for the noise from the snack bar ..it might have been tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinaperry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great resort, would recommend the Couples to friends/family !

We traveled between March 13-20th, 2013. We selected CTI based on online reviews from Trip Advisor.

First impressions were great, they have a lounge at the airport with Redstrip and water available while you wait for the shuttle. We were the first in the lounge, it quickly filled up and within 20 min we were boarding a shuttle to CSS and CTI. Both are in Ocho Rios. Drive took just under 2 hrs. Its a nice drive, flies by and there is a stop at a bar on the way !!

Our check in was smooth and quick, we had to put a CC on file for any resort purchases/damages. Because we booked early, we got a $200 resort credit, which we did not even know about until we bought something from the gift store on day 2. They should have told us upon arrival, as if we didn't need something from the gift shop, we may not have found out until our last day. Oh well, nice surprise and we got couples massages and some coffee for free !! Nice spa too !

After you check in, go see the concierge and book your dinner and caterman resos.

Room - very nice, we had the standard garden view, it was very nice and had a balcony

Restaurants - not as many al la carte as i am used to on vacations, but the buffet was actually really good. Pretty much your only breakfast and lunch options. There was a pool bar/grill that was open for lunch and closed over dinner but was open until 5 am every night. The jerk chicken is awesome there, we got it a few nights as late night snacks. They also have nachos with jalapenos, salsa and melted cheese and a nice sized bar type menu.

Bayside - small menu, beautiful location, we didn't have the best experience there due to the small menu, but that's only due to a dietary restriction, the rest of the resort dining facilities had better options.

Buffet - really good, probably the best resort buffet i've ever had, and to be honest, i do prefer al la carte lunch/dinner options, but this buffet was good. Lots of selections and they changed daily. Had fresh seafood and carving stations, as well as pizza, comfort food etc. We really enjoyed the buffet !

Veranda - al la carte, but no reservations, so first come first serve. We ate there once was good. Seemed like reservations would be a good idea there, as there would be lineups for dinner a half hour before they started seating. We went on our last night around 7 and we were told it was an hour + wait. Reservations would be a better process.

Eight Rivers - a la carte, reservations required, nice environment, great food. They have a salad cart, which is a nice touch !!

Swim up bar - super fun, great staff, seems like they had games there every afternoon, was definitely a fun party atmosphere on some days.

Main bar - great, fun staff. Was near all the nightly entertainment.

Piano Bar - never went in, was always busy, seemed like fun !

Entertainment - great live bands, including the two steal pan bands we saw. Leonardo Carmichael was fantastic. So were all the bands...

Caterman Cruise - amazing time and its included with your stay !! Absolutely do it !!! Fun time, they have lots of rum drinks and they are a fun crew. They stop for a 30 min swim break in a beautiful cove. They do start a dance party on the return trip...

Dunn River Falls - free trip, do it once for sure !!!!

We did a day trip to Bob Marleys Mausoleum with Courtney Taylor Tours, i would 100% recommend CTTs for any excursions. There is a tour company onsite, not sure what they offer as i didn't check it out. Not sure if they offer private tours or not, but CTT does.

Nude Island - we didn't go, but you get a decent look on the caterman cruise. There looked to be a mix of young/old, and from what i heard/observed, seems like a nice community of nudists.

Golf - I played 9 holes one afternoon, the green fees are free, but you have to pay for a Caddy and clubs , if you did not bring them. Its a nice course and if you like to golf, regardless of your dedication or skill, go, it was fun. Clubs and Caddy cost under $50. With a tip and a few beers, i spent about $80 on the day. It was a a nice afternoon and i was back by 4.

Beach - not huge, but big enough. We did not have any issues finding beach chairs, if you want a nice spot on the beach, go earlier than later. Same with the swim up bar pool...

We are planning to go to the new resort in Barbados in 2014 !!

Overall - would recommend CTI and the Couples chain to anyone/everyone... It was a fantastic experience. The staff were professional and courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 1bsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Leading up to our trip I was on here daily looking for both the good and the bad and found it to be very useful. First off, your vacation is up to you on how you want to make it. I cannot possibly see how anyone could rate a place like this any lower than a 4 or 5 and the ones that do I question if they actually could ever be satisfied or just out looking for something to complain about. We are not these kind of folks. My wife and I are in our mid 30's from MN with two small children and haven't had the opportunity to travel like this in over 9 years when we honeymooned at Couples Negril. To say the least we were overdue and CTI provided just what the Dr. ordered, some much needed "US" time, relaxation, rest and sun! The food and drink are amazing and the options are endless. The staff are extraordinary and always eager to assist and help. The one down side that ended being a tremendous upside is they seemed to overbook the Ocean View rooms so they had to shuffle some things around and offered us to stay in the top floor suite....oh darn!!! The views and the room were unbelievable that we decided to pay the difference and just kept the suite for the entire duration. We would happily return if and when we have the opportunity in a heartbeat! Thanks Couples for helping make lifelong memories for a second time!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank acchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from our first Couples vacation at Tower Isle in Ocho Rios. The following is a summary of the areas of key interest:

SERVICE: First and foremost, the service is first class. No Jamaica Time at this resort! Everyone is always smiling, asking how you are and working their hardest to ensure that your needs and desires are being taken care of. The only really negative experiences we had was with spotty room service. Three times during the week we tried to replace glasses in our room, Red Stripe and bottle opener but we finally gave up trying. Continental breakfast would arrive with Frosted Flakes substituted for Granola which they were out of and the carafe of coffee was completely forgotten.

RESORT: the common areas and restaurants are the highlight with lots of attention paid to the areas that matter. Sea foam green as a colour scheme actually works when set off against black striped cushions. Check out the chrome window hardware in the Verandah restaurant and the cool lampshades in the various restaurants. However the rooms are looking a little tired. Perfectly comfortable and acceptable but nor quite at the same level as the common areas. I would give the rooms 7/10 and the restaurants/common areas 8/10.

FOOD: Everything you read before you go talks about the food and it is all true! They make a good effort to introduce local flavours and items into the menu at all meals. Where this resort really excels is at the non buffet restaurants. You will only get one reservation at Eight Rivers and one at Bayside (both memorable) but we tried to eat as many dinners at the Verandah restaurant as possible as the food and service here was every bit as good as the other restaurants. The Pool Grill was forgettable food - greasy and processed and we only went one time. However the Veggie Bar was fantastic with grilled smoked marlin sandwiches and vegetable paninis. The highlight was plaintain chips (I think) with smoked marlin dip.

BEACH: It is true that the beach is small but after everything we read before we left, the beach was actually bigger than we had imagined. For a real getaway take the shuttle over to the island. The only catch is that you have to sunbathe in the nude. Once you get past the first five minutes and you realize that nobody really cares what you look like, it is a very relaxed atmosphere. The swimming is better here as the water is very clear and there is enough space to spread out and feel that you don't have to be too close to your neighbour.

ACTIVITIES: This is one of the best dive shops I have ever experienced and I been diving for over 30 years and have been all over the Caribbean. Collin and Chris in the dive shop just can't do enough to make sure that your experience is safe and comfortable. They work very hard in taking care of your gear from set up to storage. If tennis is your thing then the other Colin, the tennis pro, will take care of you. As divemaster Collin puts it," my brother Colin but not from the same brother and not from the same father." Tennis Colin ran us through some vigorous drills in the morning to really help you improve your game. My husband, who is an advanced player, showed up at 5pm each day and had the pleasure of playing doubles with a mixture of other guests and the pro. The spa is also an amazing experience. We did a couples massage and it is in a very tranquil and lush setting behind the resort and you feel like you are in another world.

EXCURSIONS: If it is at all possible, try to see Dunn's River Falls on a Saturday or Sunday when there are no cruise ships and avoid the huge crowds. The Falls are worth seeing but it can be just one continuous conga line going up the 900 plus feet to the top of the attraction. Upon exit, be prepared for the labyrinth of tacky tourist stalls before you find your way back to the bus. The Catamaran cruise is ok. The boat has seen better days and the sail was "out of order" but not a bad way to spend a couple of hours, especially since the day we went the weather was bad and it was better than sitting on a beach chair on a windy overcast day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lastcallforboarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,969 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,387 reviews
85.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,319 reviews
8.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $339 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing