We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best ever visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Best ever visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We returned to CTI on 31 May for a 12 day stay, our third visit in as many years. Traveling from Ottawa via Toronto with West Jet was uneventful and certainly more pleasant and reliable than my recent experiences with Air Canada.

There was little delay with Customs and Immigration as there were relatively few travelers and there seemed to be more agents than in the past. We presented ourselves at the Couples airport lounge, enjoyed two quick Red Stripes and were on our way about 15 minutes after getting to the lounge. A very pleasant and informative 2 hour ride with “Bud” our driver and we arrived at CTI to be welcomed “home” by Kirk and offered cold face cloths and drinks by other staff. A speedy check-in and we were in our room in minutes. What makes this Resort stand out is the staff. Regardless who you meet you are given a smile, asked if you need anything and welcomed “home”.

We find that one of the most appealing features of CTI is the wide variety of guests that frequent the resort. We mingled with 20 year olds marrying at the resort to 70 year olds renewing their vows. Everyone was friendly and having a good time. There were daily weddings and a number of couples reserved the Island for night time weddings and dinners.

We learned that you could request room servicing for a specific time period. Since we planned to scuba dive every morning we requested that the room be made up between 9 and 11 AM. Our housekeeper, Catherine, complied with this request and we were very pleased to return from our dives to find the room spotlessly made up and with a full supply of amenities.

Our dives were mostly lead by Collin, a conscientious, meticulous, safe and knowledgeable divemaster. On some occasions he was overworked by his tasks because there was no one else from the dive shop/watersports center to assist with the preparation, loading and operation of the boat. Douglas and Lionel were also wonderful members of the dive team.

Being a boater and mechanically inclined it distresses me when I see anything mechanical abused. The lack of proper dock facilities, specifically proper fenders or padded boards, is resulting in significant damage to both the pontoon boat and the dive boat. The pontoon boat, new last June is virtually destroyed. This shortcoming should be addressed immediately.

We spent most afternoons at the Island enjoying the facilities Au Naturel. The water taxi, usually operated by Dalan, was always available by simply standing on the dock. Lunches, consisting of at least 2 main dishes and 2 sides were brought over about 12:30. Various bartenders looked after the Island bar on rotation. Rohan and Terry stood out.

Evening entertainment was highlighted by the appearance of the Silverbirds Steel band and the Jamaican night beach dinner. The rooftop patio was used on three evenings for Martinis and games. Teneesha was the usual bartender and she did a great job. Katy, one of the entertainment staff usually hosted the games. She has an infectious laugh and is a delight to be around. We frequently went to the Piano Bar for cocktails prior to dinner. This bar was often tended by Ricardo who remembered our names and drink preference after the first night. Great service.

We had three meals at Bayside the Thai themed restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and meals prepared by Myuri the chef. We dined twice at Eight Rivers the elegant dining room, once for the repeaters dinner and another time by ourselves. Food presentation and preparation were outstanding. Expect to spend about 2 hours enjoying this sophisticated dining experience. We dined once at the Verandah restaurant. Menu selection and service were of a high order but we found the room on that occasion very noisy because of several large parties in attendance. The other evenings we ate in the patio restaurant. Because of the off season occupancy rate we were offered a partial table service rather than full buffet. You served yourself at the salad bar then chose from a menu for the main course which was served. Not to be missed is the Grill especially for lunch. We got our fix of Jerk Chicken which was always hot and spicyyyy. Outstanding. Do not miss the Saturday Grand Buffett. While we received great service from all the staff, servers to look out for in the bars and dining rooms are Rohan, Damian, Owen, Antoinette and Ricardo.

We noted that there were several new activities offered this year included a Jamaican cooking class on the front lawn. Try to take in the garden walk offered by Rohan the head gardener at 8:30 in the morning.

Most evenings we went to the hot tubs adjacent to the spa followed by time in the Budda pool under the stars. Often on these evenings we had the area to ourselves. Perhaps it was because be used the facilities before midnight while others were in the Piano Bar.

Our departure was scheduled for 9:15 for a departure at 2:05 PM. The hotel tries to have you arrive at the airport 3 hours before departure. On this occasion we were the only couple departing so we had a very comfortable van ride by ourselves with Rohan driving very safely. Because of the long terminal wait we decided to try the VIP Club Mobay departure lounge. The fee was $60 per couple and offered express service through security and immigration then a very comfortable lounge where WIFI and wired computer service was offered, sandwiches, snacks and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks are offered. In addition, a more elaborate menu is available for a fee.

Overall this was perhaps the best holiday experience we have had. Except for high daytime winds the weather was perfect. We had outstanding service lead by the Manager Mr. Henry. In our opinion this Resort sets the standard for an all inclusive holiday. We noted that there is a high standard of maintenance and that there were noticeable improvements to facilities since our last visit. We’re looking forward to our return next year at the same time.

Dennis & Louise

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    667
    199
    93
    43
See reviews for
33
2,205
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just returned from an anniversary trip. We were at the resort for 6 days and were slightly disappointed. We have been traveling to Punta Cana the past three years and decided to change this year and try something different. The scenery was beautiful and our view was spectacular. There is really no beach here. You can go out a couple feet and that is it. You will then be treading in deep seaweed and possible sea urchins. The pool with the swim up bar is fun during the day and really where the entertainment ended. There is literally nothing going on past dinner and we turned in early every night. Many other couples commented on the same thing. The rooms were recently updated and are nice, but not as lavish as we are used to. The shower literally floods the entire bathroom. No joke. Breakfast and lunch were on par with other all inclusives, but dinners were sub par. It took at times 2hrs to eat dinner due to poor food service. Steaks were only cooked to one temp and that is "hockey puck". After dinner, there is no nightly entertainment short of a small band that plays each night. The Veggie Bar during the day was good for a snack as was the Pool Restaurant. Housekeeping did a great job. The included excursions was a good added value which is the only saving grace for me. Two times at dinner we ended up running to the bar ourselves for drinks because the staff couldn't seem to understand how to run a dinner service. Breakfast our last morning, I was offered coffee and my wife was ignored and had to serve herself. Needless to say this will likely be our last trip to Jamaica and will be going back to the Majestic Elegance in Punta Cana next year for our third visit.

Room Tip: We were in 4511 and had a great view. There literally can't be much of a better view on the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PAJoebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We got married here and stayed 8 days 5/26/12-5/31/12. It went beyond anything we expected. I want to start off with it is a 2 hour bus ride from the airport, and the hotel is older. With that said just because it's older doesn't mean it isn't nice. It has more character than the new hotels. Take that into consideration.

When you arrive it is breath taking! You can see the island right when you step off the bus. Bring some cash to tip at the airport and the men who load the bus, because they will straight up ask for it. No need for tipping at CTI, which is a very nice feeling.

I read the reviews saying the food was AMAZING, but I am very picky so I didn't know what to expect. Bayside had the most amazing asian food i think i have EVER had. Every meal was great! We ate at eight rivers our wedding night and it was great. We mostly ate at the buffet every morning, and many dinners. It was great, and the variety changed at night. In the am, it is the same thing, but there are so many choices. I loved the omelets...curtis makes them the best. The drinks to me where kind of lacking. I wish they had someone who came around at the pool or beach bringing you drinks (like at other resorts) because the line at the bar can be long and slow. I did see this very rarely. You must try the "dirty banana" it is a blended banana drink tastes like a chocolate banana. SO good!

If you are considering getting married/ renewing your vows...you should do it here. It was so stress free and seriously magical. It was perfect. We did the free package if you stay 6 nights, only made one upgrade for my boquet. Used the resort photographer and videographer and could not be any happier.

The weather was PERFECT...it rained maybe once for 10 minutes and then back to sunny skies! We were worried because it said t-storms everyday before we left! The beach was beautiful... a lot of reviews said small...but i wouldn't even say that is a concern really. It was great for swimming. The two pools are large and nice. Loved the gardens, and we went to the hot tubs in the gardens almost every night and nobody was ever there, so that was nice.

Did the massages, they did great. Our excursions we did (all free...) Cat Cruise, Glassbottom boat, Dunn rivers, Margaritaville, Shopping. All great. The entertainment staff was great really watched over everyone at Margaritaville. Shopping was pretty sketchy, at the local market. Just be firm and stick to no, they are beyond pushy. We didn't buy much everything seemed the same to us.

Make your reservations right away, although I changed days and such and nothing was ever a problem with really being full.

I advise bring your own beach towels, they do provide but they are always out it seemed, but you can just bring one out of your room.

Some nights weren't very lively but if that's what your looking for do the margaritaville excursion. I thought the piano bar was boring. We got up so early there (sun rises @ like 5 and sets @6) so we were so tired anyways. The sun is so hot even at 8 am we would be laying out that early lol!

You will have a great time here, even a young couple ( we are 30 and 24) the food is probably what will stand out to you!!!

If I do return to Jamaica I would do another resort just because I don't like to ever return to the same, but it would def be a couples resort!!! Highly recommend this one.

PS Never did the naked island, and cat cruise and glassbottom bring you right by it so i saw much more of it than I really expected and didn't miss much lol!

Room Tip: We did ocean front... and the first room they gave us was a pool bar view. SO LOUD! I was pretty mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

As soon as we arrived we became family. The staff is awesome. We've been to multiple resorts from Montego Bay to Ocho Rios but this resort was the best. It is so comfortable. The staff wait on you hand and foot. The only time we heard the word "no" was when we tried to tip them. Otherwise, all of our needs and requests were met. The food was delicious. The evening entertainment was stunning. The bartenders were very experienced with mixing drinks. The garden housed three large parrots that greeted us in Jamaica patwah. They would say "Wha'
Gwan'?" The massages in the spa were also to die for! We could not find a complaint. Overall, it was a very quiet and romantic experience. Our exit was sad. We were personally visited during breakfast by the manager Maxine Williams before departure, who has since become our friend. She is the best. She and her loving staff made sure we were happy. Couples Tower Isle... You WILL! See Us Again. Guaranteed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnuldrusC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon. We are a very young couple and really wanted some excitement. We used a travel agent and booked an "island hop" trip. We stayed 2 nights a Negril’s boutique hotel Rock House. It was very peaceful but ZERO entertainment. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL, but we were ready for a friendlier staff and a livelier place.
The VERY SECOND we drove up to Couples Tower Isle we knew we were in love. The baggage man learned our names the moment we got out of the car and NEVER forgot it. We were welcomed by live music and 2 glasses of champagne. We were a bit early for check in, but the staff didn’t even blink. They brought our bags up to the room and started to show us around. Make sure to make reservations for the 2 reservation only restaurants the moment you check in. And make sure you go through orientation. If you don’t do the orientation you will miss out on everything that is going on. They explain everything and show you everything on the property!
Make sure to go to the veggie bar. They have the BEST sandwiches and chips with dips. All the food is made to impress. We loved EVERYTHING we ate. The drinks are great too. My favorite was the Hummingbird. Its light and creamy with a fruity kick-those are free!
There was always something going on and there was a ton of activities. Check the activity board and find the "hat making" day. They teach you how to make all of these neat kinds of hat and people wear them all week-oh, and it’s free too (here’s a hint everything is FREE). No need to go off the property to shop because the resort brings in 2 vendors every day and they don’t harass you nearly as much as the other shops off the resort. Ok now the night shows. If they have the steel drum band DO NOT PASS UP SEEING THEM!!!!!!!! They are amazing. They played the most amazing songs and they danced while playing 8 drums. I cannot even describe how amazing this was! Don’t forget about the newlywed game and the magician!!!
YOU HAVE TO DO THE WATERFALL TOUR!!!!!!!! It is completely free for this resort ( which is not the case at other resorts on the island) and it’s a blast. Do and eat everything!!!!!!!! This place is amazing. I couldn’t say enough about the staff and how great they are. They take so much pride in their hotel too. Every morning before everyone wakes up they have a crew that is polishing, painting, and cleaning the entire property.
We had ants in our room one night and when we called the front desk they sent someone over immediately! As an apology they sent us all these appetizers and a bottle of rum :)! This was on top of the bottle of sparkling wine we were given.
Needless to say we LOVED this place and will go back!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Eve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Another great time at Couples Tower Isle. It's a great place to get away and relax with some of the friendliest staff around. It's a little more laid back than some of the other resort chains like Sandals and Breezes, but the activities are there if you want them, they just don't go overboard to try and get you to join in. Just wanted to say that Katie, Ava and Garicia of the entertainment staff were fabulous. I told them my name once and they remembered for the entire 8 days I was there. And Bartenders Ronin and Terry are great too, they remeber what drinks you like and do a great job of recommending new ones. And Paul at the veggie bar was always pleasant to talk to. And if you need anything, Everald is always there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PalmettoGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I love CTI! We loved CTI. We stayed here May 28- June 1st. Made a last minute switch after reading bad reviews about GPLH in Lucea, Jamaica. No regrets for changing.
The people were great. Their customer service was on point! Check in and check out was smooth. We made several friends on the staff.
The private beach was smaller than expected, but intimate and proved to be just Perfect. We did every single included watersport except scuba. Dunn's River Falls is a must see excursion! Bring water shoes. Unless you want to rent from Lady on the side of the rode... Literally.

We ate all the restaurants and loved each one especially Eight Rivers! Our favorite snack was the snapper sandwich at the poolside grill. Bayside Asian restaurant is in the perfect location.
We loved it and would absolutely return. However, we would upgrade to a different room. Garden deluxe is clean nothing fancy though... But we spent very little time in the room.
One highlight was the performance by the Silver Birds Steel Orchestra ....superb!
We're so happy we changed to this resort at the last minute. I miss it already.
Oh yeah... Bring a waterproof camera.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CestLavie414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 3,445 reviews
85.2 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
85.5 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 88 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 4,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing